We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at Vila Chaumiers a few weeks back for a total of 7 nights and was not disappointed with what I had heard about/read in other reviews prior to booking my stay. There were 4 of us and we stayed in 2 bungalows at the resort. The place only has 5 rooms for 10 people I think, but this did not effect our stay at all.

It was a small resort, but this made things much better in terms of the atmosphere, getting to know the staff, some of the locals; all of whom we found very friendly and helpful.

The location was great as we had a 15 minute taxi from the airport for the equivalent of 5 dollars each. Getting to and from town was even less at about 10 minutes and the resort seemed to know enough people through their staff to find a ride in a matter of minutes.

Food was fantastic, fresh and I highly recommend the Fishermans Feast. Its main feature is the Coconut Crab which as far as I know only comes from Vanuatu, so definitely worth sharing for a couple as it was a huge portion for even two people.

Organising tours was easy as well. Many of our trips came from friends of the resort and this made our trip much easier to plan and we would recommend any and all of them. The bushwalk being the highlight.

All around a great place to stay. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff and if ever I head back to Vanuatu definitely a sure stop again.

Room Tip: 3 bungalows good for 3-4 people and 2 rooms with balconies overlooking the lagoon with porches for a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Vila Chaumieres
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were enjoying our stay in Pt Vila and in the lovely garden room at Vila Chaumieres when my wife had the misfortune to slip while walking in town and to break her arm. Medical advice was to get back to Oz asap as the arm needed to be pinned. Richard and Ursula could not have been more helpful in assisting with the arrangements, and made the whole process much easier, facilitating phone calls and keeping us up to date with emails etc. When a last minute opportunity came up for an early flight back to Adelaide, Richard kindly drove us to the airport himself to ensure we caught the plane. Many thanks!

A&G

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandGfromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed in a room with a delightful balcony overlooking the lagoon. We went for complete rest and relaxation so armed with a few books we were more than happy to sit and look out at the water. Threre was always something to watch - either the small children over the other side, canoes and kayaks travelling up and down. The fact that it rained most of the time we were thre did not detract from the enjoyment.The resort is a tad rustic and wouldn't suit everyone. No t.v. but we did have a couple of resident gecko's that were probably more interesting anyway.
A small charming restaurant right on the edge of the lagoon was good for a couple of dinners.
The owners and staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 with the beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toone463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent three nights at Vila Chaumieres and loved it. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a great view from the enormous balcony over the water. The owners and staff were charming and warm yet highly professional.

The restaurant is very good with a varied menu, good wine list and great service. The seafood platter is particularly good and, although meant for one, presented two of us with a delicious challenge.

The hotel is a little outside the town but you can just flag down one of the many, frequent buses and be in the town centre in about ten minutes.

The hotel and restaurant are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I needed to get away from a year of hard work - what a great location away from Port Vila nestled on the water very peaceful and tranquil. A small resort with the best restaurant food to die for. Ursula and Richard always willing to help and organise anything you need. They organised a van (bus) and driver for the 2 of us to drive around the Efate island stopping at the hot spots or where we wanted to stop

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayLover0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Richard and Ursula were the perfect hosts, being our first time to Vanuatu we we're extremely happy to have come across such a lovely place. They were more than happy to recommend and organise the best attractions Vanuatu had to offer.
The staff were very friendly nothing was a problem for any of them ( especially a young lady Pauline ).
The food was delicious and was always presented lovely, ( the crab is as tasty as they say) the complimentry breakfast was an added bonus.
Our room was spacious and very private, and our bed very comfortable.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, gorgeous food, hassle free accommodation then look no further Vila Chaumieres is the place to stay.
Thanks once again Richard and Ursula we wish you all the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It's a very nice, small, quiet hotel not too far away from town. The room we stayed in overlooked the lagoon and was cosy. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. The best part was their food! The seafood platter is a must-try!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mereia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
1.9 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
303 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $94 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing