We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet peaceful getaway”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, NSW
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet peaceful getaway”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The best room is number 5 which is the lagoon view room on top of reception. We stayed in number 6 which is the room next door with view of lagoon but not as panoramic as room 5 but still a good view. The owners were away and unfortunately the wifi played up during our stay despite the site manager doing her best to fix it. Made it a bit inconvenient as we were relying on trip advisor to plan our days. The breakfast was great and the fruit varied everyday. The hot breakfasts were great especially the omelette. The pool was a great refresher after being out for the day. The restaurant is picturesque and we enjoyed one meal there. We like to try somewhere different every night. The only problem I had with the room was the pillow, it was hard and flat. I missed my soft latex pillow. Could probably write more but have to go. If something else comes to mind will write another review.

Room Tip: Room 5 for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    49
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely property outside Port Vila with just a few bungalows and an excellent restaurant. The hosts Richard and Ursula are really helpful and will give you all kinds of suggestions to get the most from your stay in the island. The bungalows are located amid a lush tropical garden and are quiet and private. Do not expect luxury here, there is no tv or phone but the room is comfortable, clean and peaceful. We took the garden bungalow because we liked the privacy that they offer. The food at the restaurant was delicious so do not leave without having a romantic dinner by the lagoon, reservations may be required depending on the night.
The hotel is located a few kilometers away from town but within a short ride with one of the frequent minibuses that you will see in all the roads of the island. Just stop one of them anywhere you want and let the driver know where you are going, that´s all you need. Taxis are expensive and not worthy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
280 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights in a garden bungalow. This is a small place with only 4 of these bungalows and a couple over looking the lagoon. The bungalows are set in a lovely floral and tropical garden, and the fabulous restaurant (will write a separate review on that) sits out overlooking the lagoon. The rooms are very clean, tidy, and adequate. Comfortable bed and a very quiet location make for great sleeping. No mod cons such as TV or any Internet in your room (a very slow one in reception only). So if you are looking for a modern hotel room, this is NOT it.

It's is a quiet peaceful location away for it all, with helpful friendly hosts who will look after you. Would suit a couple who want a quiet get away. Be aware though it is ~5kmts from town, so if you don't have a vehicle you are relying on the frequent and inexpensive public mini-buses.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VinceDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Vila Chaumieres. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Ursula and Richard are lovely and happy to have a chat and make suggestions about what to do.

We had a welcome drink and a fruit platter greeting us upon arrival (the lime juice welcome drink is delicious!). They also arranged a breakfast in our room for our early morning flight.

There are only 5 rooms, so it is a nice size (although the restaurant is open to the public).
It is a little out of town but for 150Vatu (about $1.60AUD) you can catch a bus into town. Which we found really convenient. They are local buses (sort of a cross between a taxi and a bus) and their route is based on where customers want to go. They go past about every 2min.

Also the restaurant is great. Definitely recommend eating there.

Overall, Vila Chaumieres is great value and makes a great base to explore Port Vila.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a lagoon view room. They are above the restaurant (which I knew from readi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This property is very small, quiet, well maintained and established in a delightful garden setting with an excellent restaurant overlooking a tidal lagoon. The owners, Ursula and Richard, are helpful and obliging. WiFi is available free but does not reach all garden rooms. We enjoyed our six-night stay. Would recommend the cooked breakfast rather than the continental breakfast that is included in the tariff. Staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner menu does not change.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows 2 and 3 receive WiFi as do the two Lagoon View rooms. The lagoon view rooms are ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Vila Chaumieres where our lovely hosts, Richard and Ursula, took care of our every need. We stayed for about a week at the beginning of our Vanuatu adventure of diving and exploring the islands. Vila Chaumieres was always a great place to return to at the end of the day to unwind and relax. The rooms were spotless, light and airy; we especially liked the Garden room. The restaurant was fabulous, in the location over the sublime lagoon, and for food quality/variety and service. We loved the landscaping and the garden art and then there is the new pool!

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden room (really a cottage)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemBozeman_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Port Vila was our first stop on a three-week trip to Vanuatu and we spent several nights at Vila Chaumieres. We stayed in both the Lagoon and Garden rooms and enjoyed our stay at this lovely place located outside of the city on a picturesque lagoon. We appreciated the amenities the vila had to offer including the clean and comfortable rooms, the cozy chairs and deck at the bar where we used the Wi-Fi and downloaded our pictures, the refreshing new pool and landscape, the beautiful gardens that included Ursula’s mosaics and other works of art, and the outstanding restaurant. Owners and managers Ursula and Richard were gracious and welcoming, extremely helpful and attentive, and attended to all of our requests for assistance. The staff was also very helpful and friendly and we appreciated everyone’s efforts to make our stay a memorable one.

We love being active and adventurous so during our time on Efate we went scuba diving for four days with Big Blue where we found the diving to be average and took three guided trips with Eco-Tours that included a village walk, a longer hike to an absolutely beautiful waterfall, and an easy kayak trip through a shady and cool mangrove forest. Spending time with the owner of the tour company Pascal and his guide Henri and learning about the people, culture, villages, land, and the ecology were the highlight of our days spent on the island.

Getting to town from the vila was quite easy as buses were everywhere. We simply walked to the road and one would stop and take us to wherever we requested. We spent a bit of time walking downtown and along the waterfront and went to the open market. Port Vila is a busy place and has plenty of amenities but we preferred the country-side and the under-water world and being able to return to the vila for a quiet evening, a really nice meal and a chance to relax. We certainly recommend Vila Chaumieres for its charm, lovely setting, wonderful meals, quiet location, and fabulous owners.

Room Tip: We enjoyed both the upstairs room (#5) with a deck overlooking the lagoon as well as the garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
7.2 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ripples on the Bay
Ripples on the Bay
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Property: Vila Chaumieres
Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing