We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but out of the way” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tradewinds Villas
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value but out of the way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for two separate nights enroute to different islands. Cheap and comfortable but about a 15 minute walk uphill from town. Any local bus will drop you there for only 150 vatu.

Room Tip: Room 19 was comfoetsble and a bit away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
30
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a studio unit based solely on good reviews from tripadvisor members, and we weren't disappointed. The resort is in a beautifully maintained garden setting with each studio well sited for privacy. The same attention to detail continues inside - everything you need to prepare a meal is at hand, the king size beds are very comfortable, and there's even decent pressure in the shower (this proved to be a bit of a problem elsewhere on Efate!)
There are several decent restaurants withing walking distance, but we found them to be somewhat overpriced and preferred buying beautiful steaks from the supermarket (a 5 minute, 150vt bus ride away) and cooking them on the guest BBQ back at Tradewinds. The staff are friendly and helpful, and Val the owner goes out of her way to make sure you're comfortable.
All in all, one of the best value places we have stayed in the Pacific. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights, the bungalows are very nice, spacious clean with kitchen and cooking equipment, they are located among palms, there is swimming pool, table tennis, they have kayaks, the French owner and other staff is very helpful, the resort is located directly in Port Villa in Erakor bay, the only pity is it is not located directly by the sea, but you have to carry the kayaks some way downhill. We were surprised that in Port Villa the resorts are located in the same streets where the locals live in much poorer conditions, but the people there so nice, that it doesn't cause problems.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanule007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We had originally planned to stay here as we passed through on our way to other islands, but stayed for longer as we were stuck because of a cyclone. Unfortunately because of the cyclone we didn't really get to see everything the resort had to offer.

The accommodation was made up of good sized bungalows, and self contained so you could do all your own catering. They also had air conditioning for those hot muggy nights. There was a pool and free kayaks to take down to the lagoon.

The resort is on the far side of town, but it's right near the lagoon and it's very quiet. Tradewinds doesn't have a restaurant but Mangoes is close by and makes good food.

With the cyclone messing up our travel plans we were very grateful to the owner Valerie who kept us up to date on whether or not the airport was open and kept us informed on the cyclone's movements so we could rearrange our plans. She also came by before the cyclone hit to let us know what to do and make sure we were ok. A very big thank you for your help!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mannnnndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have stayed a few times at tradewinds and its always great. This time we stayed 4 nights in total split up by 1 night and then 3 nights at the end of our trip. The studio apartments have a king size bed and a futon. Small dining table, mini kitchen and a nice bathroom. We had a swim in the pool and it was refreshing. The studio's are air conditioned.

The management rights to tradewinds has recently changed hands and is now looked after by Valerie. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Lovely lady finding her feet in vanuatu.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Mitch could have not been more helpful. He and Lyn picked us up from the airport and even took us shopping to get us started in our new country.
The house is very comfortable and the best part is it is spotlessly clean. Vanuatu itself gives you a shock, if its the first time, because the whole place needs a coat of paint and the pot holes in the road repaired. Once you get used to it, the people themselves are just wonderful, walking along the roads with a matche in their hands, to cut down the abundant food that grows everywhere, they are all just waiting for a smile and a wave and their whole face lights up, living up to the title they have earned, THE FRIENDLIEST PEOPLE ON EARTH.
The best value on the Island are the quad bikes, just $50 for a full 24 hours. Next time we go, will hire them straight away!
Hideaway Island is just a long walk away or a $1.50 bus fare per person where you can snorkel to your hearts content. The best restaurant we found was Chill, overlooking the water.
I would stay at the house again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheTaylorTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I found Tradewinds clean and comfortable, staff and owners were extremely friendly and helpful in arranging and recommending local tours and activities.

I liked the following:
Rooms fully detached and private, set in tropical gardens.
Bed very comfortable.
On site security overnight.
Pool well maintained and clean.
Staff and owners at reception friendly, and provided useful information about Port Vila, on two occasions the resort owners even drove me into town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJ_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
#48 of 48 in Port Vila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#33 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Villas

Property: Tradewinds Villas
Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Air-conditioned Studio Bungalows Serviced 3 Bedroom Townhouse Serviced 2 Bedroom Apartment Experience the relaxed comfort of home while exploring the unique culture and beautiful lifestyle of Vanuatu. Overlooking the serene waters of Erakor Lagoon, Tradewinds Resort offers self-contained bungalows in the peace and quiet of the 'suburbs'. A 10 min walk will take you to the fresh fruit and vegetable markets in town, or a short stroll to the local restaurants when you feel like dining out. The air-conditioned bungalows also have ceiling fans and can be configured as twin share or double. The kitchenette is equipped with microwave, jug, toaster, and full-size refrigerator and includes crockery and cutlery and cooking utensils. For the family or small groups, the 3 bedroom Townhouse or 2 bedroom apartment overlooking Erakor Lagoon would be a great base for your Vanuatu adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tradewinds Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Port Vila
Tradewinds Villas Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing