We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ah Tong Motel(Port Vila)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quest Apartments(Port Vila)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
186
154
44
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
154
44
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland nightsteep drivewayfamily poolbeachfront spabanana pancakesgarden view bungalowdogs barkingno air conlarge balconyserviced dailytwo bedroom apartmentspa bathfriendly resortbeach frontfull kitchenclose to townstaff were wonderful
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 406 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I and our youngest son (15) recently spent 8 nights at Poppys (Jan 2014), travelling direct from Sydney we arrived late (approx 1:30 am) & we were met and shown to our 2 bedroom villa immediately. In the morning we enjoyed breakfast overlooking the lagoon, then Roland gave us a quick tour & welcome drink and informed us of available ammenities, tours etc. as well as the most cost effective way to get around i.e. buses vs taxi's vs tours. Poppys provides for self catering with cooking facilities in the villa plus a large gas BBQ available near the main pool, this is great for families trying to keep costs down. Roland informed us of where th nearest supermarket was and how to get there. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our 2 bedroom villa was clean and neat and well sized for our needs. There is a TV and DVD available, which was great to be able to watch the Aussie cricket. WiFi is available for $39.95 AUD for a week, which is great to use to keep in touch with loved ones back home. Kayaks are available when ever you want to use them and we took full advantage of these each day, venturing further and further in the lagoon, passing many villages where the kids wave farntically. Vanuatu is supposed to have the happiest people in the World and it does seem to be true (yes I have travelled a lot) The resort is a great place to just chill and do nothing, but is close enough to Port Vila to pick up tours or visit restaurants, which I would recommend. About the only negative with Poppy's is the selection and quality of the menu, which I would rate as average at best, it also depends on who is in the kitchen as to the quality and presentation of the food, but Mangoes is a an 8 minute walk up the road and has an excellent selection and food and Chills and other great resaturants are just a bus ride away (150 vt pp) plus you can always self cater. The service for food at poppy's is a little too slow too, so don't be in a hurry, just chill. Oh, if you are a light sleeper, you may wish to look elsewhere as there is a dog that barks all night every night in the white house adjacent to the resort, ear plugs and having the ceiling fan flat out helps. Whilst staying here I would recommend visiting Hide Away island for snorkelling, the cascades for natural beauty and swimming, The blue lagoon for natural beauty , swimming and a Great tarzan Rope plus I would recommend a buggy tour, we did the one that takes you past Hideaway Island with the buggys you then sea kayak to a small island then snorkel then return back for lunch and then buggy back to Port Vila, it was a great adventure which my 15 yr old son is still talking about. If I was to give any suggestion to Poppy's to improve their resort I would suggest improve the menu and get a proper chef in, plus remove the two plastic cubby houses between the dining area and the lagoon, whilst it is considerate to cater for the littlies, in the 8 nights we were there they were never used and really distracted from what was a great outlook, maybe management could look at relocating them somewhere else. Note the rooms do not have A/C which would have been appreciated on the hotter days but the pools, showers and ceiling fans suffice to recover when it gets real hot and humid. You may read about the steep driveway, this is actually a shared public road used by the adjacent village and is the responsibilty of the local council to maintain, they don't so it is very pot-holed and bumpy, but don't complain to Poppy's as its not their responsibility. Would I recommend Poppy's? Yes. Would I return, probably not, I'm 53 and next time I think a resort with A/C will tilt my decison that direction. You can't beat Poppy's for location, chilled atmosphere and friendly staff though, when you take into account the value for money, it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Don't exchange any cash before you leave, for instance SYD Airport gave 67vt for $1AUD, at the resort at Poppy's they gave 81 and at Goodies in town you get 87. We stayed in Room one which is upstairs, so overlooks the pool, Room 2 is below room 1. I would recommend upstairs for privacy but maybe downstairs could be cooler. The stairs to the upper villas are tiled and can get quite slippery (dangerous) when wet, so take this into account if you have young kids or aged family members, when securing a room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank From_a_LandDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Poppy's in late December to early January. It was an absolute pleasure. We arrived at around midnight on Christmas Day, but our airport transfer driver had our keys and let us into our room. We checked in officially in the morning and were greeted with a delicious lime juice as a welcome gesture.

Poppy's is set on the lagoon, about a 10 to 15 minute walk into town (buses are readily available but we enjoyed the walk). There are small supermarkets and stores on the way to town, which is great if you want to buy and prepare your own food. There is also a larger supermarket in town and a fruit and vegetable market.

We stayed in one of the lagoon view studios. It was a very clean, neat room with a large balcony, kitchen facilities and a good-sized bathroom. We didn't use the TV or DVD player but we saw that there were DVDs for hire at reception. Wifi is available, but at an extra cost. You can also find wifi at selected cafes and restaurants in town.

The resort has a very relaxing atmosphere and would be suitable for just about any traveller. We are in our mid to late 20s but other guests included families and older couples. There are three pools (a family pool, an adults only pool and an infinity pool that overlooks the lagoon from the hill). Kayaking in the lagoon is highly recommended, with single, double and traditional-style kayaks to choose from. You can also borrow snorkelling equipment and reef shoes at no cost.

The food menu at the resort isn't huge, but there's a good selection of burgers, pastas, sandwiches, steaks and fish dishes. For breakfast, we loved the pancakes (the banana pancakes with ice cream and maple syrup are incredible). Breakfast service begins at 7.30am and last orders for dinner are taken at around 7.30pm, although drinks and desserts can be ordered until reception shuts between 8.30 and 9pm. It would have been great to see more local dishes, although there's a potato and coconut soup on offer and delicious hand-cut chips made using local 'sweet' potatoes. We didn't use room service as we enjoyed eating in the communal area but it is available.

We also fell in love with Leo, the resort's resident cat. He's an absolute sweetheart and loves nothing more than snuggling up on your lap after dinner.

You can pick up brochures for tours and activities at reception. We took an 'Around the Island' tour with Holiday Makers and couldn't recommend it more. The tour is owned and operated by Letty Noel, a local woman, and she is not only incredibly friendly but also very knowledgable about Vanuatu and its history and culture. Letty is fluent in English and very well-spoken. Her driver Chris is also very friendly. The biggest selling point of this tour for us is that it is locally owned, whereas others aren't. Our favourite stops on the tour were the Blue Lagoon, the traditional village (which has the most beautiful beach we saw in Vanuatu) and the volcanic hot springs. We also enjoyed local food at a traditional lunch - we loved the coconut potatoes and banana desserts. You can call Letty directly to book.

We also really loved our day at Hideaway Island. You can take a bus from the resort to the jetty, then take a short boat ride to the island. There's an entrance fee of around 1500 vatu and it's a great place for snorkelling. You can also take diving tours and visit the underwater post office. We found that it was much better to travel to Hideaway on our own, as the tours were expensive and ended after lunch (we stayed on the island for the full day).

We would highly recommend Poppy's to anyone thinking about staying in Port Vila.

Room Tip: The lagoon view studios are situated on the upper part of the resort, overlooking the lagoon and bungalows, which means you need to walk up and down a long set of stairs to get to reception and the dining area. This was okay for us but could be an issue for some, including older travellers.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

What's not to love about Poppys. Its a boutique resort which means not many people. Our two room villa was perfectly sized for our family of four and was right by the pool - fabulous! The atmosphere was such you couldn't help but relax. The service was the best we received anywhere. It was a short walk from Poppys to town, the supermarket or other resorts (to try their restaurants) and there was plenty to do if you decided to not go anywhere for the day such as swim, kayak or snorkel. Could ask for more.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Silver-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Owner at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you to all the lovely people who have taken time recently to write such positive comments about Poppy's on the Lagoon. On behalf of all the team, it is greatly appreciated, and we do read all the reviews, all of the time, and we always feel encouraged to try even harder to please our guests. Tankyu tumas...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A truly great spot to visit. Very relaxing and secluded. Do your own thing at your own pace- no need to rush. The staff are absolutely gorgeous and so friendly and accommodating. Nothing is too much for them. The Cafe has an ample menu to suit all tastes. We had a lagoon view the only problem was you had to ascend a large number of steps to access it. Try and get there on the Tuesday night as that is their Melanesian night. You are not far from the town. We traveled firstly on the buses but then resorted to a taxi as this cut out walking up and down the steep hill that services the resort. Thoroughly recommend it and it is great for children

Room Tip: Try and get a room from which you can actually walk out into the lagoon
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very nice spotlessly clean, neat studio rooms, the lagoon view ones were nice with the view & the balcony. The reception staff were helpful & the food was fine - the island night was interesting. The main pool area okay, but I did not like the position on the lagoon. I also stayed at Hideaway Island & although the resort was not as nice, the Hideaway's position was much better being right on the reef - but slightly more difficult to get to, so more like an island feel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews