We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful week at Poppys. stayed in the garden bungalow by the pool. It was well kept and the cleaners changed and made our bed every day without being asked.
Loved the setting and even the walk up the drive..good way to keep fit for the Volcano trip.
Food was great and staff very friendly. Thanks Poppys will recomend you to friends

Room Tip: Choose the Garden Bungalows..not too close and not too far.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pukeko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Poppy's on the Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a lovely hotel a really nice change from the large 200 room resort we stayed at the week before. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment that was self contained and overlooked the lagoon. The apartment wa well furnished and very clean. I found the staff friendly and the owners were more than happy to accomodate any requests. the restaurant in the hotel has great food and is open all day as is the bar.

It is a great family resort as is small and has plenty of facilitys. It is a short 5 minute /150 Vatu $1.00 bus ride to Port Villa.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SealWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in a unit with our best friends ,for our wives 50th birthdays. Staff were very helpful , the manager Pete was very informative with everything we needed. Place was very clean , staff were polite and the taxi driver that Poppy's organised for us was brilliant . All the sightseeing was organised by Poppy's at the right price.
Well worth the stay .

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travelled with my fiance and two teenage girls. We stayed at Poppy's for 8 nights and couldn't have been happier. The 2 bedroom, self contained apartment was very spacious and well equipped and serviced daily. There was no washing machine but at 1000 Vatu (approx $10) a basket to have your washing done and folded and returned to your room - l am not complaining. The breakfast that was included was excellent - service was friendly but at times a little slow - so just leave yourself time if going out afterwards (it is definately worth the wait and the banana pancakes are a must!!!). All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was fresh, tasty and simple (excellent for lunch) - but for something a little more A-la-carte, Mangoes Resort restaurant (a short 5 min walk up the road) is a must. The waiters are friendly, cute and witty and the food is great. The only negative l have with Poppy's is that the fridge was not at all cold and with the humid weather in Vanuatu it would be nice to have some icy cold drinks in the room. When looking for something different and exilerating to do - l suggust Vanuatu Jungle Zipline - ziplining through the jungle is amazing and the views are magnificant - thanks Mike for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner & I along with 4 family members travelled to Vanuatu in early August as my partner & I had chosen to get married there. The deciding factor for staying at Poppy's was that we were able to have all 6 of us stay in the one Villa (few resorts/hotels in Vanuatu accomodate 6 people in the one room/villa). We booked for 6 nights in a 3 bedroom beachfront villa, 3 nights staying at Friendly's on Tanna Island, then returning to Poppy's for 5 nights in a beachfront spa bungalow through the Poppy's website ( Hayley was an amazing help!!). We were collected at the airport, and the drive to the resort was fantastic, cold bottled water handed to you as you boarded the bus, being advised of the best places to eat, exchange money, shop etc as you drive through town was very informative. Once we arrived and settled into our villa we had an induction, which was awesome as it made us aware of lots of things in Vanuatu that we wouldn't have even thought twice about. The location is great, few minutes drive from town, or 20 minute walk if you choose. The rooms were excellent, serviced everyday, every staff member we encountered was always smiling, hanging out with Leo (the resort cat) was fun, the food we had there was good too. We did have an issue in regards to our flight and stay at Tanna Island, but when we returned to Poppy's and spoke to the owners in regards to it, it was rectified swiftly for us. All in all, we had a fantastic stay with Poppy's and Vanuatu in general, yes there is a thing as 'Island Time', but isn't that the whole idea of an Island getaway?? We will certainly return to Poppy's for our next holiday to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jewels99Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we have just returned from spending seven nights at poppys. we had a three bedroom lagoon front villa, which was fully self contained, except for washing machine. we had the kayaks tied up right in front of our villa, so it was so easy to wake up early, jump on a kayak and go for a paddle. there are lots of starfish in the lagoon and the water is crystal clear. the food is basic but fresh, there is mangos restaurant just up the road for something different, which is really nice. our villa was spacious and clean, it was serviced every day, the lovely ladies even did our dishes. the back section of poppys have a lot of steps to get to them, so if you have mobility problems i would suggest a unit near the lagoon.
all the staff were lovely, with big smiles for us all the time and of course i can't forget sam, sam was our tour guide, he was one of the nicest people i have ever met, nothing was too much trouble for him. one day we wanted to do our own thng at our leisure, within5 minutes sam had a van and driver organised for us for the day, another time he stopped at the market and picked up fresh fruit for us before we went on our tour, a truly lovely guy.we really enjoyed our stay at poppys and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank qldmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from Vanuatu where we stayed for 6 nights at Poppy's on the Lagoon. We travelled with our two chiildren (aged 4 and 9 months) as well as my husband's mother. We stayed in a 2 bedroom lagoon view apartment which was amazing!!!! It had everything we needed to self cater and the tv and dvd player were an added bonus (the Chinese cheap shops sell 3 pirated dvds for about $10 so you don't need to bring any) The cot was a porta cot (I was a bit worried about the safety of what would be provided after stories from friends travelling to Bali) but it was up to Aussie safety standards. Was a bit concerned about no air con also but this was not an issue, we hardly even used the fans as the place does catch the breeze. Yes you will hear the roosters and the dogs during the night - if you are awake!

At Poppy's we met a couple of other familes with small children which was great to pass on activity and restaurant suggestions as well as it gave the little ones someone to build sandcastles on the beach with in the afternoons. There are sond toys and a swimming ring available to borrow from reception so you don't need to pack those. The 2 bedroom apartments are set around the pool and in the heart of the place which meant that we could put the kids to bed and still be able to see our place while in the pool or having tea at the cafe.

The whole place was spotlessly clean (our place cleaned every morning, dishes washed, kids toys packed up and clothes folded that were left on the floor) and I reccomend you take up option of having your washing done for you by the wonderful housekeeping ladies (about $10 a load for same day service).

We ate several meals at the cafe and found everything to be very yummy and you can buy tubs of icecream from reception which is very yummy and even better with a bit of Tanna coffee poured over it!

Poppy's is literally a short walk to town although it is up a pretty steep driveway if pushing a pram!! And everyone stops to admire your baby which can make it a little longer trip!! If you want to self cater would go to the number two supermarket rather than downtown which is a little limited.

We did a couple of day trips organised through Sam with a guide by the name of Silus who was wonderful with our 4 year old (he even carried him up Mele Cascades). This was more suited to us than organised tours as we were able to do as much or as little as we wanted to and were even able to stop off and do some shopping or buy an ice cream on the way home.

In short, we LOVED Poppy's and will definately be back at some stage (hopefully soon!) and will be reccomending it to everyone heading to Vanuatu!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,505 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangoes Resort
Mangoes Resort
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#8 of 47 in Port Vila
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $136 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing