We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangoes - Hosts with the most!”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mangoes - Hosts with the most!”
Reviewed June 25, 2006

The hosts at Mangoes were outstanding - absolutely everything was organised for us, and they gave us loads of 'insider' information about touristy things in Vanuatu, so that we got the most out of our stay. The bungalows were spacious and clean, and the ham and cheese toasted sandwiches were the best I've ever had!!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    151
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
343
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2006

I have just returned from a week at Mangoes Resort in Vanuatu. The resort was picture-perfect, the service was above excellent, and the information offered regarding tours and activities was overwhelmingly helpful.

The friendliness of the staff at the Resort was an absolute pleasure. The restaurant staff took the time to learn your name (and remembered it), they appeared to genuinely love your company.

The bungalows are always clean and tidy, serviced by really friendly people. Beds are comfy, showers are great, view is awesome....what else do you need?

Breakfast was always the highlight of my day, although this was closely followed by the dessert menu...divine. For those who enjoy seafood, the menu looks to provide more-than-enough choice in that department.

The tours and activities organised by the management team for guests deserves a huge "thank you". It was never a problem for them to offer advice and help, and to organise trips. They were well worth the investment, and offered highlights of the trip.

Would I go back? In a heartbeat. Loved the place, loved the staff and the management team. I've heard of some planned improvements that sound really exciting.....I'll be back to check them out, and maybe I'll even try and find my way into a job there? I loved the place that much............. To all the staff and management: thanks for a fantastic week, and thanks for the advice on the best pubs in town, we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

We stayed at Mangoes Resort for 3 nights in May 2006. We booked on Wotif and paid $145 AUD for a Lagoon View Room. We also stayed at Paradise Cove Resort for 6 days.

Mangoes was very clean, had pleasant rooms and a great view. It is managed by a New Zealand family and they are very friendly, helpful and reliable and obviously keep a keen eye on managing the place. Although it was not warm at night when we visited, one of the advantages of Mangoes over Paradise Cove was that Mangoes had flyscreens over the windows so you could leave them open at night (Don't forget that Malaria is still a problem in Vanuatu). Given there was no air-conditioning at either resort, I suspect this might be a useful thing to consider in the warmer months. We really enjoyed our time at Paradise Cove, but because it was quite a distance from town and really very isolated (although it was a little more exclusive and had heaps more to do - eg snorkling, bike-riding and kayaking), it was good to have a little variety and spend some time closer to town.

Our room rate included a light breakfast, this was fine, except it didn't include a hot drink! You have to pay 500vt for the strongest plunger coffee I've ever tasted; now, being a Melbourne girl, I'm all for a strong brew, but this sort of resembled aviation fuel. The next day we were a bit cheeky and had breakfast sent down to our room and had coffee I'd brought from home!! We had one meal at the resort, it was a quite disappointing, the beef was very tough and fairly pricey. (This was fairly atypical of our stay in Vanuatu - I'd definetly try and stay somewhere that is self-contained. Particularly if you hail from a big foodie city, Vanuatu dining is a fairly disappointing and expensive experience, particularly at the resorts).

We had a very nice time in Vanuatu, it is a great place to visit if you are young and adventurous, and its not too far from Australia for a short break. We loved getting out from the resorts and doing tours (don't miss Lelepa Island tour - fantastic!!), horse-riding, scuba diving (Big Blue will pick you up from beach!!), and plenty of snorkling and walking. The locals are extremely warm, friendly and trustworthy; you always feel safe, and their are no touts or bargaining. My hints are; pack lots of books, book tours with the hotel when you arrive, plan (and budget) to do stuff other than sit around (this is boring after 2 days), avoid Hideway Island (the snorkling is just as good at other places, the facilities are old and average, and it appears lacking in ecological sustainability, for example they feed the fish chicken pellets which dissolve into the water and ruin the visability) and flying Air Vanuatu (pack your own snacks and enjoy 21st century aviation technology on Virgin Blue instead), and if you are uncomfortable with the lack of tipping, remember that is is ok to give little gifts - I wish I'd brought Australia caps or toy koalas or something!

In some ways, however, Vanuatu is a difficult place to visit if you are at all politically aware - its hard to enjoy a meal when you are paying $30 for a main course and you know that the waiter is taking home $1.80 per hour (and won't accept tips), or accidently walking through a shanty town, or seeing Vila hospital with its open drains, or little children playing in rubbish. Despite the glossy brochures, Vanuatu is definetly a 3rd world country. For this reason, I am not sure that I would choose Vanuatu for a special occasion holiday, like a honeymoon, unless you planned to spend the whole time in a big resort.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Paula123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We spent a week holidaying at Mangoes and had a fabulous time, all the staff and owners were incredibly friendly. Spacious individual bunglows nestled in tropical gardens made our stay private as well as picturesque. Must also mention that the daily breakfast and meals were amazing.
Will travel and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing