We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangoes Resort”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mangoes Resort”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

How sad I was to leave such beautiful people and a wonderful resort. I'm planning to return next September. The Secret Garden was a heartwarming, funny and informative experience. Stevie Awesome, who conducted the events was indeed AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    152
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
348
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had high expectations of mangoes resort before we stayed there and having stayed there for 5 nights in July 14 we would say that it was disappointing. We stayed at 2 other resorts in Vanuatu and at both places we were greeted warmly with a drink, a chat and had our bags taken to our room. Not at mangoes. The woman at reception didnt even smile and pretty much just took us to our room and left us like it was nearly her knock off time and she just wanted to go home. We were in a lagoon view room with a pool. Unfortunately for us they gave us number 26 which was the one right at the very end. What they dont tell you is there is a pathway that runs along the side and back of the resort that the locals use to get down the hill to the lagoon. That wouldnt be such a problem if the wall was higher. Which it is not. We had no privacy sitting out the back next to the pool because people were constantly walking past having a look at us. One night some locals even parked a car along the path and were sitting there playing music and talking. We didnt call for security but the people in the room next to us did. The room itself was fine , clean , spacious. The whole stay our pool wasnt cleaned once. Leaves and flowers blew into it and they were still there day after day. Lucky we didnt use the pool because of the slightly cold weather. We had a problem with the restaurant too. The food was ok but the service left alot to be desired and time it took for food to come out sometimes was ridiculous. On the 2 occasions at lunch we had to wait well over an hour for a simple burger and chips and there was only like 3 other people in the restaurant at the time. I'm sorry but this island time is no excuse for having to wait so long for food. On one day I ordered a BLT and chips and after waiting an hour AGAIN , the waiter brings it out and says sorry they had no sliced bread so they had to put it in a burger bun but he didnt even mention that it had no tomato in it because they didnt have any!! I overheard him telling that to another diner. All that is not even the tip of the iceberg. We got extremely ill after eating either the pollo chicken or the spicy prawn and lemon spaghetti. The morning after we were vomitting and extremely sick. Talking to some other guests on the last day they were struck down with sickness at exactly the same time as, it was definitely something that came out of the resort kitchen. We told a woman at the reception and all she said was she hoped we had the right medicine , no apology nothing.
What mangoes need to realise its the little things that make an enjoyable stay. The staff need to be friendlier , a better system needs to be implemented in the kitchen and please get rid of those stupid plastic sauce holders

Room Tip: if they give you 26 ask for another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UnchartedGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mangoes Resort was our first stop in Vanuatu. The room was spacious and clean with everything we needed. We had a little verandah with a view over the Lagoon and being near the back of the property, it was quiet and serene.
The restaurant was great for breakfast daily and we enjoyed sitting on the verandah late afternoon for happy hour and a bit of wifi catch up on line. To get into town was a little bit of a hike up and over a hill via small track then through the cricket field. The bus system is very good for a 150vatu ride back up to the top.
The people are very friendly and the lifestyle is simple and uncomplicated - a refreshing break from the busy world we live in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The title says much. The staff were fantastic; helpful, genuinely friendly and really, really nice folk. The gardens were well maintained, the food good though a little pricey and quite small portions on some dishes. I would definitely recommend the mezzene seafood platter for two at lunch and the prawn and pork wanton soup at dinner.

The rooms were clean with good views but a little dated. The sheets were old, the pillows a bit musty, the towels had seen better days and the bathroom had some serious façade problems with some mould, some cracks in tiles, enamel worn and generally quite tired looking.

The swimming pool area was well kept, our view was good. No aircon and just a ceiling fan in 28c heat with 100% humidity was a bit challenging, and that is winter.

If the resort did not have such fantastic staff it would definitely be average in this review...would I stay there again? Only after some refurbishment, before that happens, if I visit Vanuatu, which I am likely to, I will stay at a newer venue. That is a shame really as it is a friendly, well run place.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Travelling with my daughter we booked 6 days at Mangoes in a lagoon view pool bungalow in this adult only resort. The bungalow was good, it has a view of the lagoon and it had a plunge pool, it was clean, had twin beds as requested and a good sized bathroom.
Unfortunately, there was a lot of maintenance work going on around the property and particularly roof work of the two bungalows either side of us. We were woken up with the noise of them setting up each weekday morning and the power tools started at 8.30am. I complained as the dust was blowing onto us and the work did stop for two hours but started up again on the other side.
The gardeners also spent a lot of time outside our bungalow - they cut the hedge on the first day, they cleared up the clippings on the second day, they cut the grass on the third day… we went to the beach on the fourth day. Each activity taking hours to achieve and more than one person hanging around all the time. We had no privacy at all. We wanted to lie in the sun, plunge in our pool but we always had an audience. They were friendly enough, but walked down the side of the bungalow right next to the windows, across the deck (even when we were on the sun beds on the deck) and hung around on the lawn. We couldn't decide if they were just inefficient, hiding or being a bit creepy.
The food was OK (bread was awful). A light breakfast was included and consisted of fruit or croissants, juice and tea/coffee. The rest of the menu was passable but nothing exciting. I liked that there was no extra charge for room service and this arrived promptly. The staff aren't aware of the offers made by the hotel though. When we ordered two items for lunch (to have by our pool) they should have had free beers with them, but the staff were unaware of the offer, so no beer.
There is a bar but its located within the restaurant and is very brightly lit, so doesn't feel like the sort of place you'd want to hang out. The cocktails were reasonably priced but so inconsistent. I had an Island Tempter three times and each time it was like a different drink. The first time it was amazing, looked great and tasted better. The next one, ordered just after I'd finished the first, still looked good but was a different colour and tasted much sweeter. On our last evening I ordered it again and this one was just mango juice and vodka in a boring glass with a straw. Some bar training and consistency would be good - when things get better, its also much nicer than when they get worse towards the end of your holiday!
Little things could make this average hotel into something special.
A porter to deliver and collect the bags would have been nice, particularly as the paths are uneven and on a gradient with strip drains to get the wheels of the suitcase stuck in.
Good quality bathroom products and towels that were white rather than grey would have been appreciated too (the shampoo was impossible to get out of the tiny hole of the rigid plastic bottle and there was no shower gel only tiny cakes of soap). I would also have liked a safe in our room rather than just a lockable wardrobe (which was OK but a safe would have been better). The ceiling fans were really efficient and kept the room at just the right temperature, so I'm not sure why air con units had been fitted. Having had to ask for the air con remote and pay extra for its use just seems mean!
Dressing gowns would also have been nice for those bungalows with pools. I did pay an extra $120AUS per day for the privilege of a pool that was in the shade after 1pm, so a dressing gown might have softened the blow.
One of the things that drew us to Mangoes was its 'child free' nature. However, they are allowed in the restaurant - which means it isn't child free at all. I don't hate kids but if I choose to stay someone that advertises itself as child free that should mean all of it - not just that they can't stay in the bungalows. If I were to choose, I'd rather they did stay in the bungalows and not be allowed in the restaurant anyway - if they're going to be horrible, it tends to be at mealtimes! I think it shows the policy to be one of convenience in the bungalows rather than one for the convenience of the paying guests. They don't have to offer cots or make the pool areas safe but they will take the parents money for dinner.
There was quite a lot of noise from the Holiday Inns feast night - so it is advisable to do something on those nights.
Its close enough to walk into Port Vila but the road outside Mangoes is very steep. Once you've walked up it though, the rest of the walk is pretty easy.
So, not quite the relaxing quiet holiday we'd planned. If you value your privacy, then this isn't the place for you. A few tweaks though and it could be amazing!

Room Tip: The plunge pools aren't really worth the extra money as most of them are in the shade by luncht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joyful_holidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently had a 7 night stay at Mangoes one of the best resorts that we have stayed in.
The unit no 5 was excellent very spacious and clean with a great out look and just 5 meters from the pool
Our light breakfasts were large and all the meals were at least as good as any in Villa
The staff were friendly ,very helpful and happy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happypair2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had booked this directly with Mangoes. The first night we couldn't leave the ceiling fan as it was so loud. We had a room change the next morning as the hot water in the bathroom sink didn't work. The resort its self is not far from Port Villa and we walked in most days and bused home. About $3.00 AUD. We had a pool villa, but only used it twice as the sun doesn't hit it after about 1000 in the morning. Shame really. We used the resort pool a few times which was warmer. The rooms are large and airy, but the girls cleaning them are a bit hit and miss. We had a dead cock roach in the bathroom for the week, which seem to get pushed back each day. The restaurant has some pretty nice meals, not cheap, but nothing is in Vila. I feel we payed too much for the week, but we all learn. Great dinning room staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popeyetheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing