We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sereneniy”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sereneniy”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I got to our destination to check in. The owners are lovely people and the hotel staff very friendly and polite. Were upgraded to a unit overlooking the lagoon below with it's own little splash pool. The views were spectacular from every angle of the facilities, through the manicured gardens and various spools to choose from to laze in the sun.
The food in the restaurant was so delightful and averagely priced in comparrison to other resorts and restaurants in town. The menu may look a bit pricey, but in comparrison to the 3 other hotels/restaurants we had dinner at while staying here at "Mangoes", they had the best tasting food, service and value for money. The staff made you feel very special all the time and had conversations with us. They did not shy away from talking about their country, culture politics etc. They were a great wealth of knowledge and made the stay very rewarding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    151
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
343
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I chose well for our latest holiday - 7 days in paradise. The peace and quiet is what we ordered. Just 10 minutes walk into town but far away from the crowds that descend by cruise ships!!

The staff and owners all friendly and helpful. The food second to none and value for money. We dined out on their seafood options several times (also lots of variety if you are not a seafood lover). Fresh food. The local tour operator, Glenda is a gem and steered us right the whole time. Will come back one day.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast included in our room cost, but for another 200 vatu you can have cooked breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just arrived home from our trip to Vanuatu. We stayed at Mangoes, which was highly recommended by our travel agent. She wasn't wrong! The resort was lovely, our lagoon view bungalow with private plunge pool (worth the extra $$$) was brilliant. Ros and David were great hosts, so friendly and so helpful. Sarah runs the restaurant and, along with the crazy team, provide really good food, great nightly specials and fab cocktails. The service is first rate and so much fun - Thomas, Freddy, Karl, Willy and so many others make the whole experience very special. They all treated us as friends - thank you too much. Glenda is the local activity organiser and her mix of tours and DIY's was much appreciated. Hints on what to do and what not to do were priceless.The resort staff were really friendly and Lucy's massage was wonderful. Funny how, with all the hints, we were able to help cruise ship visitors in the main street - how quickly we had learned!! As Frank the tour guide said "the Vanuatu people have very little but they choose to be happy". They surely succeed and it is infectious. Brilliant trip and made so easy for us. THANK YOU ALL.

Room Tip: We stayed in 16, lagoon view and private plunge pool - used daily!! Great views of the lagoon and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our recent stay at Mangoes was in a Lagoon View room, which I'd highly recommend for having a bit more outdoor privacy. The resort in general is just lovely, beautiful rooms, excellent restaurant, friendly & helpful staff, well located, there's really only good things I can say about it. But I'm really glad we had a lagoon view because we had two days of solid rain during our stay in Port Vila, & if we hadn't been able to sit outside in the privacy of our own covered balcony, it would have driven us nuts. The rooms were 'romantically' lit, i.e. not overly bright, so it was much nicer to be outside reading & enjoying the view.

I great appreciated Roz's information about malaria risk in Vila, which saved us an expensive visit to the travel doctor. Having the daily access to the tour organiser was really helpful, even though we only did one tour, she was more than happy to help with general advice & information.

We never noticed any roosters, so slept very well on their very large & comfortable beds. The swimming pools aren't huge, but given we always had them to ourselves, there was plenty of room, & they were cleaned & 'flowered' daily. The restaurant was excellent, lots of options for breakfast & the two nights we ate there the dinners were delicious. Whilst a room safe would have been nice, the lockable cupboard did the job, we never had any security concerns anyway, in Mangoes or in Vila in general. We'll definitely stay at Mangoes again if we return to Vila.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asinvari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mangoes for our 25th anniversary. We stayed in a garden view bungalow which was just perfect for the two of us. The staff here are amazing. They never stop smiling, are courteous and very helpful. The food in the resturant was varied and excellant and the drink prices were more than reasonable (especially at happy hour). It is a great location from which to access all the various tours and attractions in and around Port Vila. A 15 minute walk (mostly down hill) sees you in the middle of Port Villa and you can walk back or get a taxi back up the hill for about $3.50 (Aus). Port Vila was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience and Mangoes certainly enhanced the experiance for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 fabulous nights at the Mangoes resort from the 11th to the 18th November in a garden view apartment which was just superb. We chose Mangoes firstly because it was a children free resort and close to Port Villa with great reviews on trip adviser which allowed us to walk to town when we wanted to, certainly a 20 minute walk not 10 as previously stated by some reviews (we walk everyday at home) Everything about this resort is just so amazing, quiet, lovely surroundings, great pools and beautiful gardens and meticulously clean. Now for the fantastic food, what can I say it was out of this world, from breakfast, lunch and dinner it was mouth watering and delicious with a special every night at dinner. The service was excellent, very friendly staff thanks to Nick, Willy in the dining room and Joanna in the front office, all the staff greeted you with a smile and a hello when ever you passed them. My wife and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Mangoes again as we has a very very relaxing stay and holiday, it was one of our most enjoyable breaks. So thank you to the management and to all the staff that made our time at Mangoes a very memorable one.

Room Tip: Garden view apartment outstanding accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BendigoVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelwood North, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights at Mangoes in a Garden room and we loved it. The gardens were gorgeous and our room was lovely - a good size, clean and modern. Yes there are the roosters early in the morning but you get used to them and otherwise we found it quiet and peaceful. Our room had air con but we never used it. The windows and fans cooled the room well. I want to know where they got there ceiling fans as they were the quietest I've ever come across. The view from the lagoon view rooms would be lovely but I wouldn't bother with a private pool room as there are three to choose from anyway and we never had to share. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the restaurant everyday and found the light breakfast included was tasty and more than sufficient. We also used the restaurant for lunch and dinner several times too and found it very good (separate review). The walk to town is only 10mins or so and is quite interesting though I didn't find it as rugged as some other reviews had suggested. There are always plenty of buses and taxis going past the resort too. We also took advantage of the in house massage which was excellent, prompt and very reasonable priced. You can walk down to the Holiday Inn on the Lagoon on quite a good track and use their pool and facilities for a fee. We went down and checked it out but didn't think much of the beach there though so went to Erakor Island instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing