We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just spent a week at Mangoes Resort Vanuatu. Decided to stay at Mangoes because of all the positive reviews on trip advisor. Was a little disappointed, the resort was right in the middle of suburbia, surrounded by local houses (but so were a lot of the resorts). The room looked very tired and in need of a facelift, lounge very uncomfortable and white quilt cover was quite dirty. Probably should have said something about it the day we arrived but didn't want to rock the boat on day 1. Continental breakfast extremely poor, toast, muesli or fruit. Food average, the place lacked some atmosphere. On the positive side our apartment was very spacious with our own plunge pool. Melanesian tours arranged some wonderful tours for us while we were there. Lelepe Island tour and Circle Vanuatu tour excellent. Would I go back to Vanuatu Yes, Would I stay at Mangoes again - No

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortgirlAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 468 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Away from the Main Street. A short bus ride to town. Lovely staff, lovely environment and accommodation. Yummy food so very fresh. Nice spacious villas. Very private resort. Don't pay for staff to braid hair as they can't. Staff was extremely helpful when needing help with transfers etc.

Room Tip: Would not change a thing except don't get hair braided by staff as it was terrible. The manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had 1 night here in transit from Santo before heading home. Hotel is great and the hosts are awesome. They couldnt do enough for us when we arrived. Arranged a reservation for dinner at the restaurant we wanted to go to, arranged taxi's. They even suggested we use the new pool at the hotel next door as they knew all the guests were out that day and we would have the place to ourselves. Nice and clean, lovely views over the inlet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Staying at mangoes was fantastic. My Villa was very spacious, quiet and had a wonderful view of the lagoon. A private little pool outside at the varanda was just the perfect spot for me to spend a few hours relaxing and enjoying the view. A taxi to the city was $300vat(around A$3). Great place to stay.
Would strongly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Mangoes and very much enjoyed the experience. The cabins are very comfortable and a very good size. The food was excellent, highly recommended. The one thing that prevents the fifth star is the island time approach where service was not necessarily as speedy as one might expect elsewhere, and the level of staff training was inconsistent, with some being excellent, (Richard and Carl, take a bow), others appeared to be unfamiliar with a corkscrew.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 5 nights at Mangoes in July and had a great stay. The gardens are lush and lovely, the bungalows comfortable and roomy. We were very impressed with the restaurant food and service and really enjoyed winding down there most evenings. The staff are very helpful and we got some great suggestions from the tour desk on both places to go and also basic information on how to get around, how much to expect for a bus fare etc. It's about a 15 minute walk to town but we very much enjoyed doing that as it gave us a bit of a feel for the area and how the locals live. There was only a minor hiccup in that replacement of the bathroom towels was a bit inconsistent by the housekeeping but we were never without and it's a really small thing. Additionally a mix up over our final bill was resolved via email with absolutely no hassle. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wholeheartedly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This resort was the main reason that we booked our trip. Mangoes has everything you could want with luxury at an affordable rate - pools, bar, restaurant, reception with basic goods, laundry service, private plunge pools for some, views, self contained options, no children (so not for families), peaceful surroundings, easy walk into town, access to all attractions. Our room was the garden view pool room - 80 sq m.

We booked a room with a plunge pool, fully self contained kitchen allowing self catering by choice, a lounge, king size bed and a fairly modern ensuite. Sadly the weather was not hot enough to make use of our private pool - in the low 20's during July. However it was warm and of course hotter after we left.

We were greeted by reception and all our questions were answered along with advice on how to catch the local buses (and rates); advice about he tour bookings each morning and where to shop for meat and food. That was our first requirement after we arrived and settled. We quickly got into our room then set off into town for some food shopping and caught the local bus 150 Vatu each... Carry the right change! We got to buy some fresh meat just before 4:30pm local time, then off to the Au Bon Marche. We got back to our room and cooked our own food as we did most days.... Much cheaper than dining our and safer on your stomach when in new environments.

The dining room provided extensive menus and specials at restaurant prices. Breakfast was included each day to the value of 600 Vatu. Cooked breakfast was more. The staff were excellent and very timely with service.

Glenda from Melanesian Tours was very helpful too with our bookings and helped to choose our activities. Pays to check the final bill as an error did arise even though she fixed it without troubles.... All gets paid at reception on check out.

Our trip included transfers to the airport. Essential and convenient especially as we arrived not knowing anything about our destination, and invaluable on the day we left at 4:50am for an early flight home. Just settle the bill on the night before leaving and ensure you are booked on the bus!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aussie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $140 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing