We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Bliss!”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tropical Bliss!”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We were delighted with our stay at Mangoes. Staff all very professional and friendly, rooms well appointed and very clean, beautiful fresh native flowers put out each day....where do you stop!! Enjoyed cocktails and local beer at happy hour each evening and stayed on to try the great menu on several occasions. Owners/managers were very helpful with their recommendations for places to see and things to do as was Glenda from Melanesian Tours. We hope to be back for another relaxing break sometime.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagpakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    153
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
349
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

In need of a bit of relaxation in a hectic year we chose Mangoes from the information posted on their website and TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were extremely well looked after. The location was great, easy walking distance to Port Vila but in a lovely quiet spot, even more peaceful being adults only. Our Lagoon View room with private pool was perfect, as was the delightful restaurant with superb food. The staff throughout the resort were so friendly and helpful and we were greeted wherever we went. Glenda was in each day to assist with tours and when she couldn't take us she contacted another company and arranged it. Great service. I was unsure if 4 nights would be enough time to relax but from the moment we got there we began to unwind and came home totally refreshed. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenebull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights for my first Vanuatu holiday. The service was great and restaurant served some very tasty food. We splurged on a seafood platter which we struggled to finish but the coconut crab was delicious. We stayed in a garden view pool apartment that was spacious, clean and had a great outdoor area with private pool to get stuck into book. Glenda, their tour liaison booked us some great tours. For a thrill seek thoroughly recommend the buggy tour and also the day trip to Pele Island. It was just a 10 minute stroll to Port Vila Centre with plenty of other restaurants and bars to try out. If you're looking for a quiet holiday to unwind (and cut yourself from email and work) for a reasonable price, thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momentarydivision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We booked mangoes on the back of the reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. Very quiet, staff absolutely brilliant (exc. Mgmt) and very modern facilities in comparison to some of the other hotels we visited input villa. The two Richards, carlos, Roy and nick in the bar/restaurant are an asset to the facility. The only comments I would make is if you are flying ex syd book two extra nights as you effectively lose the day when traveling due to the flight schedule. The rooms were well appointed, always clean and so peaceful during the day. Glenda from the tour company was so helpful and made our stay a balance of relaxation and sightseeing even better. A few minor issues but nothing that impeded our stay. Definitely recommended. Ps the food in the restaurant was top notch.

Room Tip: Garden views with plunge are bigger and more secure.. Some don't have 100privacy outside but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalibustaceyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I were looking for that weeks break from it all that everyone seems to want. We were lucky enough to pick and stay at Mangoes for that week.
From the great and friendly staff to food and cocktails, nothing was an issue or a problem.
The location allowed us to be able to walk to town without having to then rest and recover. The bus was also a cheap and easy option to and from Mangoes.
The local market has a treasure chest of food to select from with at the back a great selection of local run food stalls.

If we can get another week off, we will return and get Glenda to book the trips that we missed this time.
Tony & Anne

Room Tip: Look to grab a room not near a pool if cost is a factor as the distance is very short from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We booked our holiday for 9 nights and thought a "kid-free" resort would be good for our first trip there. We arrived in Port Villa very late at night after a massive delay at Sydney airport to find a lovely bunch of people playing local music and dancing. Our transfer to our hotel offered a cool refreshment as it drove us to our hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by two lovely men who were nothing but smiles and taken to our room.
The rooms were very nice. Ours was directly near one of the pools and was basically empty every time we wanted to swim. Cocktails were a plenty by the pool. Plus there was room service (or pool service!) at no extra charge!

The restaurant was lovely. We ate there a few times and each time was better than the last. The waiter/cocktail king, Richard, was always ready for a laugh. My other half, Matt and him we talking like old mates. We tried almost every cocktail! Service second to none and the food, although not the cheapest I saw, was beautifully cooked.

Traveling to town wasn't an issue. We walked most days but if it got too hot we quickly jumped into a bus for about 150vat each. We choose the buses more than the taxi as they were a set price and some of the taxis would try and charge you a lot more. (Although if they asked you to jump in and you said you'll wait for a bus instead they would usually drop to price to 150vat)

We ended up booking a few tours from Glenda (She was there every morning at breakfast just in case!) for the same price as anywhere else. Hideaway Island was lovely, we did a bit of snorkeling and the view was just amazing. Plus you can send your loved ones a postcard via the underwater postbox!

Would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of Port Vila main town. Reasonable rates and quality service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ron and I stayed at Mangoes in August 2011 and loved every minute! The resort is everything we wanted and more.
The two (2) Richards, a Mangoes Restaurant are a real asset to the Resort. They were so welcoming and so friendly from day 1 !

Glenda, from Melanesian Tours was simply lovely. She was very helpful and gave us some wonderful advise.
We announced our engagement while in Vanuatu and Glenda kindly gave us a congratulations card upon our departure.

What a lovely holiday! We will be back for sure!

Thank you especially to Richard 1 - we will be back one day Richard !

Such fond memories that will be treasured always.
Regards, Joanne & Ron

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing