We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melanesian Does Not Fail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Melanesian Does Not Fail”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is my second stay here. The first time a few years ago, they were still renovating and stayed in an 'old' room. This time, I get to use a renovated room on the same level as the pool. The new room makes use of wood and especially liked the bathroom counter made of wood. I find the pool level room convenient as you can easily get out and use the cafe tables where the free internet signal is quite strong. Staff quite great. Breakfast is the same day in day out so having stayed there for a week, it became monotonous. Location is great - you can walk to some good restaurants. Request airport transfers from the hotel as it is more convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear JPBKK,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the newly renovated room and breakfast. The renovation have give more comfort to our valued guest which has allowed the management to plan on improving the food outlets of the hotel including the breakfast. We hope to see you on your next visit to Vanuatu and especially to the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    156
    60
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
110
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Melanesian has very nice staff who are attentive to the guests. The hotel offers a variety of entertainment including traditional dances and kava ceremony. The location is not far from town and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickHobgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Nickhobgood,

Thank you for your wonderful comment on the staff and property. We hope to see you again at the Melanesian on your next visit to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is not a review for the accommodation, but the Wednesday Night 'Melanesian Feast.'
This was by far the worst 'activity' we had while staying in Vanuatu. We were staying at another hotel but paid our 5000VT for a 'cultural night.'
The night includes a buffet style traditional meal, with cultural dances, kava ceremony, then string band.
The meal was average after having tried other 'authentic' Vanuatan meals on other tours. We didn't realise drinks weren't included and didn't bring any other money with us, so we just ordered waters. 15 minutes later, our water arrived.
When the cultural display came out with the dances etc, the Taylor Swift soundtrack was still playing over our heads so ruined the whole atmosphere and we couldn't hear anything. When the staff finally turned it off, we could still barely hear a thing from the main dancer. They seemed to be performing more to one side of the courtyard so we couldn't hear what he was talking about.
Then when the string band came, they came with a few token authentic instruments, but also a couple of guitars, bongo drum and plastic tambourine. Hmmmmm. Musically they were ok, but the whole thing felt very contrived, fake and put on for the tourists. We left after 3 songs.
Lowlight of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Abby,

Thank you for your positive comment on the Wednesday cultural event on the BBQ nights. Your comments will be forwarded to the person concern. We sincerely regret the poor performance of the cultural group, however the management has been inform to improve the performance and the menus. We hope to offer a better cultural night with the many changes that are currently done for each BBQ nights of the week. Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Melanesian after a diving holiday to Espiritu Santo (stopped off in Vila for a few days R & R). We have tried several hotels/guest houses in Vila over the years and keep coming back to the Melanesian, mainly because it is pretty conveniently located within walking distance of the town centre and the best supermarket on the island. Over the years, it had got a bit tired - but the (relatively) new owners are doing a great job of renovating and the rooms are pleasant,clean and well appointed. The only downside was that we had a top floor room - climbing up several flights of stairs with dive bags was not a happy experience! (however, that was our travel agent's fault, not the hotel's!). The buffet breakfast is very good and eating it on the patio area by the pool is a nice way to start the day. The staff are friendly, helpful and plentiful and room service/housekeeping is excellent. They put on a local culture night every week, with traditional singers and dancers, kava tasting (yuk!) and a BBQ - which is good fun and the children in our group loved it. The staff at the bar also make an excellent capuccino - which for coffee addicts like us is a definite bonus!! If you're not looking for tropical gardens and luxury, but for somewhere convenient, clean and comfortable to stay while enjoying the many attractions of Port Vila, I can recomment the Melanesian. I would rate the renovated rooms as 4-star accommodation.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ground or first floor if you have fitness problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Steph,

Thank you for your positive comments and feedback, we will pass on comments to the management team for staff appraisals. Please do not hesitate to ask our friendly reception desk staff to re-allocate you to a ground floor next time your travel with a group or by yourself if required, as we take pride in providing a friendly and comfortable hospitality to our valued guests. We hope to see you again at the Melanesian hotel on your next visit to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very friendly staff, warm welcome, we arrived quite late on a Friday evening restaurant disappointing for the price we paid. Poor choice and badly cooked. Breakfast was OK, good for a short stay. The mattress on the bed was a little too firm and the air conditioning didn't function properly so we were cold during the night. We were prepared to forgive all these minor inconveniences because the staff really try and make your stay a happy one and offer all the help they can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valerie L,

We thank you and acknowledge your positive comment on the breakfast, bedding and restaurant. Currently under renovation of the property and upgrading of our food outlet, we expect to improve in the restaurant in the coming months. Your comments will be forwarded to appropriate department to ensure service is provided for and please allow us to offer you our hospitality on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having stayed here 6 years ago I knew it was good.
Some things have changed such as where breakfast was served and for the better.
Service is great, our washing came back immaculately done and folded.
Room service was good too.
Had a room with a fan which was adequate.
Free wi-fi in the lobby (it's a bit slow).
Staff always happy and obliging.
Would return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room where the balcony does not overlook the main entrance. It can be noisy early in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the hotel. We have Orchid rooms that are air condition which you would like to book on your next visit. The Hibiscus room will be on renovation to upgrade all rooms. We hope to welcome you to the Melanesian on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being staying at this hotel on & off since 2001 and out of 30+ stays of different durations I can vouch that the owners (Japanese) do care very much about their guests. Hiro the GM is a delight to meet with his very loyal long standing staff (and there is an abundance of staff!).
Great location, well renovated rooms interiors with everything you need. I especially appreciate the spontaneous friendly staff. Very nice pool close to rooms with well priced pool bar.
Overall very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be less private as you need to close the curtains. The higher the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanuatulocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Vanuatulocal,
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and we warmly welcome return guests to the hotel as a friend to us. Mr Hiro Osuka is informed of comment. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Property: The Melanesian Port Vila
Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing