We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in one of the older rooms for 4 nights. It's not flashy but has your basics, and is clean and comfortable. It's a handy 5 min walk to one of the supermarkets and is good value for money. The beauty salon downstairs is also good value for money and the owner there is always up for a good chat :) Room service portions HUGE and the food was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear DancingWave.
Thank you for your positive comments, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Vanuatu and to the Melanesian hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    147
    57
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
105
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect in Vanuatu, but we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms were recently renovated and very clean. Housekeeping was excellent and laundry service impeccable. One of our suitcases disappeared (it went to Brisbane, of all places), and the front desk staff were persistent in calling the airport for us and eventually (3 days later) our suitcase arrived. Staff responded quickly to any request and confirmed out flight reservations for us. Several families stayed at the hotel, and the children and parents seemed to be enjoying themselves. My husband is vegetarian; while breakfast included several options for him, including these delightful little pancake fishes, dinner was more limited. We attended the Bar-B-Que night, mostly for me because there was little for him to eat, and the entertainment was fun, vibrant, and even beautiful--what I would call a string band performing dances and kava ceremonies. The hotel is also located close to a market (where my husband's food needs were met) and an easy walk into town.

Our only problem was on checkout. We had an early flight, but when we asked the night before to prepare our hotel bill, the staff said it would be easy to take care of in the morning. Only it wasn't. The person on duty didn't seem to know what to do. While we were trying to pay, someone else took the taxi we had ordered. So, leaving Vanuatu was stressful, but being there was totally relaxing! If you have an early owning departure, just insist on settling your bill the night before. Oh--we had another early morning when we flew to Santo, and the staff offered to bring us breakfast the night before so that we would be able to eat before we left. Cold cereal, fresh fruit, and juice arrived for both of us, and the refrigerator kept the milk and juice cold for the morning. I thought this attention to detail was extraordinary!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ekaterina,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and the positive feedback on your check-out. We acknowledge it as our failure but will ensure that it doesn't happen again during early departures. The best option when departing early is to pay the night before is an advantage for our guest as well as the staff. Once again we look forward to your next visit to the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in villa. We stayed 3 nights at the Melanesian Resort. We booked an orchid room. When we arrived we were allocated an un-renovated orchid room. Upon request we were upgraded to a superior orchid room free of charge. The renovated rooms are beautiful, clean and well equipped. We had a nice view of the pool and the harbour from the room. breakfast was satisfactory, however we did not eat any other meals on site so I am unable to comment on the food. The tour desk was very helpful and assisted us to book into a few day tours. The Melanesian is very close to town making shopping, exploring and restaurants very accessible. Overall we were both pleasantly surprised with the Melanesian resort and it is very affordable. It was also good that most nights the resort has some sort of entertainment.
Tip: make sure you ask if your room is a renovated room. Also ask for a room that is on the wing closest to Asco motors, this wing outlooks the pool and a road, as opposed to the pool and local houses.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Magoo76,

Thank you for your wonderful comments received.

We take pride in welcoming customers to the Melanesian and making their stay enjoyable.

All our Orchid rooms should be renovated by January 2013, however please do request renovated orchid rooms when making booking reservations.

We hope to received you at the Melanesian Hotel as our guest on your next visit to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lovely staff, good location, great booking office for tours. The wing we stayed in was clean and comfortable, but needed some work - tiles coming off in shower, no smoke alarm, etc. Some wings meant to be great - perhaps only this one (was booked on a flight/accom deal). Likewise with main pool - tiles coming off etc. With a facelift and minor fix up, could would be great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem11742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Gem11742,

Thank you for your positive comments received.

We have done major renovation to almost all our Orchid rooms, expected to be completed this month January 13 and planning is on the way to start refurbishing all Hibiscus rooms early this years. We hope that this will give the hotel a new face lift.

Please allow us to book you into one of our newly renovated room overlooking the pool area on your next visit to the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well my first impression about the hotel was not a good one. They had my arrival information and after I arrived it took them about 40 minutes to prepare and give me the room. Great room though. The service at the Oasis restaurant was very slow but then again good food. I went down to the reception for a power adapter and that took 6-8 minutes. The service was just too slow , very laid back. But then I realised may be that the way things are on the island , very laid back and chilled out. Nothing like the fast paced madhouse the world has become. As I said the room, was clean, bed comfortable, food was tasty, staff very very courteous. Nice live entertainment around the poolside, BBQ dinner, bar on the other side. Perfect setting for a great evening with friends or family.

All in all , highly recommended, covers all the basic requirement of travellers in a great way and leave all renewed.

Room Tip: Pool facing pools are good but to avoid the rooms on the ground floor surrounding the pool as it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ramzz,

Thank you for your positive comments on reception check-in and providing the request services in a timely manner, also your wonderful comments on the food outlets.

Your comments is forwarded to department concern to ensure that we provide an efficient service to all customers. We apologies for the delay to our check-in process and in our food outlets.

Please allow us to provide you with an better & efficient service on your next visit to the Melanesian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

we must say the staff & service was excellent -they upgraded us to an orchid room overlooking the pool as it was my birthday & anniversary --we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel it was in a top position & being on the hill we always had a cool breeze --only about 5 min walk to town or $3.oo in a bus or taxi -thank you to all the staff who made our holiday great -- also once they have finished re-furbishing the hibiscus rooms will be a plus - the bbq nights were excellent value -thank you les & nancy hell

Room Tip: all rooms overlooking pool are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 540nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Less & Nancy,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and a warm greeting from the staff of the Melanesian.

The refurbishment of the Hibiscus is plan for early this year 2013, hopefully, this will be an uplift to our hibiscus room to allow comfort to our valued customers.

We hope to see you both again on your next visit to Vanuatu and especially to the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in September. I really recommend this hotel, it's walking distance to the centre of town but not too close. It's got a couple of supermarkets close by also if you want to get some of your own food. I chose this hotel based on other reviews about atmosphere and entertainment and it didn't disappoint. To have the local entertainment outside round the pool whilst having your dinner was excellent, you would normally have to pay for a seperate tour to see this but you get it here for free. They also had a few dining special nights and we went to the sushi night which I loved, the food was great. The room we had was also lovely it was one of the renovated rooms and I couldn't fault it, very spacious modern, clean with a pool view. The staff were also very friendly, informative and welcoming. Particularly Tony who was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, although they were in the process of doing all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear LondonRomey,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. Your remarks on Tony will be forwarded to him with pride.

It is always our pleasure in welcoming our guest into the friendly environment that the Melanesian Port Vila is know for and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#40 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
6.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Property: The Melanesian Port Vila
Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing