We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“melanesian in port villa - great stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melanesian Port Vila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
new zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“melanesian in port villa - great stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

we stayed in April and we couldn't have asked for a better holiday, we had days we stayed around the hotel and others we went off and did sightseeing things, if you take into account the location of where you are then the hotel is ok
our room Hibiscus was room 17 and we had a great spot. all day sun on private balcony, no air con but a fan and in hindsight i think that was the better option, easier to acclimatise outside. kitchen had all we needed, staff absolutely fantastic, friendly, and obliging, our room was serviced every day, yes the place is a little tired but some of the rooms around the pool side have been updated, but they lacked in full kitchen fascities, and had no private spot on outside like we did, morning breakfast was fantastic, all meals we had at the hotel were very good, entertainment shows we had 2 of them were excellent. so would i recommend ? yes will we are heading back next year .

Room Tip: rooms around the 16,17,18 hibiscus have kitchens, fans and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles20nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Bubbles,
Thanks very much for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    145
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
104
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Our last night of our holiday was a transit night in Port Vila and our agent booked us into the Melanesian. We have advised her not to recommend this hotel in the future. It needs a refurb. We were booked into a Hibiscus Room which was meant to be a double not two singles. The mattresses were unsafe, sliding door wouldn't lock properly, toilet didn't flush fully, shall I keep going? We didn't ask for a different room as by the time we realized the beds were crap it was late and we wanted dinner etc. Let me say avoid Room 8 like the plague.
We had a much better stay at The Moorings the previous week.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Erica
My apologies for your unpleasant stay. Our Orchid and Superior Orchid rooms have been just renovated but not Hibiscus rooms which you did stay.

However, thank you for your comment and we are planning some refurbishment for Hibiscus rooms in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

A mixture!. Did not pick us up at the airport as requested and gave us the wrong room .This was
a supposed upgrade but when changed to our original room type found this much nicer.Also we were told we don't have to book for the island night but on arrival all tables were reserved. Attended the next one but hardly worth the effort. The room was comfortable but only average and the buffet breakfast did not have much choice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Tour desk booked us on 2 wonderful trips.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floor for privacy and security
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Barry,

Thank you for your positive comments on rooms, we are doing major renovation to the orchid rooms, expected to be completed by November and hopeful begin renovation to the hibiscus room early 2013.

We apologies for full table on the BBQ night however, staff will be briefed on pre-booking for all BBQ nights.

We look forward to your next visit to the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at The Melanesian for one night. The room we had was a double with two single beds.
The beds were terrible, when you lay on one of the beds you continually felt that you where going to fall out the bed, if lay to one side you would fall out of the bed. The room stank of mould. The kitchen bench particle board was rotting. The toilet would not flush properly. The balcony sliding door would not lock.

On summary a tent on the footpath would have been better. Find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Ian
Thank you so much for your honest comment. We have almost completed the renovation of our Orchid Room and Superior Orchid room. Deeply appreciate if you can check out our renovated room photos on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but went for the BBQ feast. All you can eat BBQ (chicken, beef, sausages, veggies, fruit salad) with string band and cultural dance performance for 2300vt was great value. Food was good and plentiful and performers were quite good, with cultural performance lasting almost an hour.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank WigglyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Wiggly world for your feedback on BBQ night.

Looking forward to your next visit to Vanuatu and hope to see you at the Melanesian Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent one night here and were impressed by what we saw in that time. Clean rooms, good entertainment (their cultural BBQs are worth a visit!) and great staff. It was a shame that the pool was being refurbished, but as we were only there the one night it wasn't a problem and they seemed to have an alternative option for guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisTeacherTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you ThisTeacherTravel for your positive comments.

We are doing major renovation to the Orchid room including the swimming pool, however the swimming pool has now being refurbished and operational.

We hope to see again on your next visit, hopeful more than a day to experience the BBQ and what the Melanesian has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Hotel is well located on the south end of Port Vila about a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Nice location and well presented.
The swimming pool was closed for renovations whilst I was there - end of June 2012. Reception staff were good and the room was spacious. One fault was the bathroom had considerable mould in the shower/bath area.
Food was available only in the Oasis Bar as the restaurant was being used for a conference. Food and beverage prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Level 1 is convenient as the balcony opens onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Philk049,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are under major renovation to the property and the swimming pool was then when you visit, however it has been renovated and operational now. The Oasis Bar & Grill is also under refurbishments which should be completed by end of October 2012. Please check it out on your next visit to the Melanesian Port Vila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#33 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Property: The Melanesian Port Vila
Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing