We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Underwater Post Office
Ranked #13 of 58 things to do in Port Vila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world’s only underwater post office lets you buy a waterproof postcard on land, fill it out and dive into the ocean to mail it, and you don't even need diving experience.
Wandin North, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would recommend is to anyone we made a day trip out of it! The underwater post office is on hideaway island it cost 1000v per person to get on to the island but its worth it its a coral beach so get some reef shoes :) you buy post cards there n they tell you we're the post office is n you get in the water and swim there the under water views are amazing so make sure you take snorkelling stuff :) there is a bar and food available cant tell you how it is we didn't try any ....
it only took 2weeks for the post card to arrive in Australia very happy we did this

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    137
    102
    29
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Underwater Post Office”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fantastic snorkelling experience - one of the highlights of our trip.
Beautiful clear, calm waters with the fish straight out of Finding Nemo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If your there have a look.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Not much to it. If your snorkeling at Hideaway Island have a look. Otherwise it's not that exciting. Kids will enjoy sending a water proof post card which you can get in Port Vila and at the island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“At Hideaway Island”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great idea! We posted our postcard and it arrived a week after we got back to Australia.

This is a must do. And the snorkelling was great too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Novel idea”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Been awhile since the post office received some TLC. Great snorkelling around there though so worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater Post Office also viewed

 

Been to Underwater Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing