We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great spot and with the right mix of all that works.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a great spot and with the right mix of all that works.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hideaway is a fantastic place.
For one it is well kept and two not pretentious.
If you live in Vila you can go visit the place for free and enjoy a good and inexpensive lunch in a great setting. Tourists must pay an access fee, but it is well worth it.
The staff is brilliant, beers are cold and cheap, food is good and simple, and unlike many places in Vila very well priced. For less than 10 $ you can enjoy a good meal in a superb location. No need to say more. To the managers i would say, well done guys, keep it up.
The snorkeling is by far the best i came across in Efate, highly recomanded.
I will definitely come back to that spot when i have the chance.

In a nut shell, when in Efate Go enjoy this heaven of peace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zeflyingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    215
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
240
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

There was 4 of us in our party so we booked one of the 2bedroom villas for a week .WOW.Although these villas are pretty old (they did need some TLC) it didn't matter they both still have the wow factor.Perched on the side of the island they both have spectacular views and are very spacious and comfy.We had the luxury of having our own pool which was great.The staff were friendly...Stella,louisa,Anna,Brian,Antwan,James,are only some of the crew we met and we look forward to meeting them again.They do a good job.

Room Tip: Anyone who comes here has to do the round the island tour..We went with a private driver named Chris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janescreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We only stayed one night here but wished it was longer. The rooms are great, fitted our family with 3 children easily. Sensational view from the bungalows. So serene, you really feel like its your own little island paradise! The staff were so friendly & welcoming, we felt like they were waiting for only us when we arrived. Brian & the crazy hair dude who work on the island are so fun - they really made the visit so much better. The kids laughed & laughed with them. What an asset they are! We ate lunch & dinner there & I'm glad I listened to other trip advisors & got the coconut curry because it was YUM! Actually all the meals & drinks we got were great. About au $16 for the curry & $12 for a chicken wrap/salad/fruit. The snorkelling is amazing! It's well worth staying here, even for a night or two.

Room Tip: Every bungalow on the island has spectacular views! 12/13/14 are closer to the main area & bar w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It was our fourth holiday on Hideaway and we are glad it kept its relaxing and casual atmosphere.
It does not pretend to be a 5 star resort, but is very comfortable and the staff could not be friendlier. The bungalows are very spacious and clean. We stayed in bangalow 13, with direct beach access, what is fantastic. The snorkelling is even better then 3 years ago; more undamaged corals and more colourful fish. It definitely is the best snorkelling around P.V. Also the food has improved since our last visit and the breakfast buffet is a welcome addition. However the menu could have a few more option, or may be some more daily specials.
Hideaway ticks so many boxes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Bangalow 11 - 13 are the pick, with direct beach access and out of the wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If snorkeling is on your list for the S. Pacific islands, I highly recommend this small island. The island is gorgeous, picture perfect really. We arrived at low tide, so we could walk across to it. On our return, though, we used their free water taxi. The cost to use the island in mid-October was 1250 VT or $15AU (no US dollars). We charged it in VT, and the conversion ended up being $27 US for two people.

They run a smooth operation here. They have a bar, a restaurant, bungalows to rent for longer stays, nice restrooms, a 650 VT/pp hamburger BBQ (burger only, no sides), snorkel and scuba gear for rent, scuba diving without certification, free lounges, a coral beach (walk around the whole island - it won't take long, and you can scrutinize the tidal pools for critters), and beautiful water. We did not order drinks or food, so I can't speak to the prices or variety, although the menu seemed sufficient enough. I was impressed the bar attendant filled my water bottle with fresh water without making me feel I should have ordered something.

We were there to snorkel, and the water wasn't warm, but it wasn't too hard to get used to either. We saw lots of fish, a bit of live coral (they are actively regrowing the reef), one huge school of fish (the type you see on nature shows, where the entire school moves as one, like a cloud - it was amazing to watch), as well as the underwater post office! We did not pay for a postcard, but we saw people posting theirs. What a clever idea.

Here is the negative about visiting Hideaway Island. You will need a taxi or local bus to get there, and if you are on a cruise ship, you will be literally running a gauntlet amidst aggressive, rude, loud, and ultimately, lying and scheming taxi drivers before you can ever get out of the terminal area and even hope to find a local taxi. Try not to give up, for the island is worth it. One driver shouted at us $10 (American dollars readily accepted) for all 4 of us to the island. Sold!! I had read on TA this was the going rate for a van load. But the closer we got to his cab, the higher the price became until we tried to get a policeman involved (he was no help), we tried to get another driver (same scam: one price, but then more once you're in the taxi). We got out of that van, too, and finally took a local bus. So, my suggestion: walk straight though all of the drivers when you get off the ship (use your tough skin) and find a van whose license plate has a red "B" on it. Those are local buses. That driver wanted more money,too, but finally relented and took us to town for $5US each. Once there, we refused to let him take us further, and we waited just moments at a bus stop for another bus to H.Island, $3US each. You might pay $1 or $2. Drivers were not consistent in the prices the charged, according to the people we spoke with. The key is to get into town, somehow!!, and get a local bus to HI. Or you might be luckier than we were. We paid the local bus driver $5 to take us to the ship from HI.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flannery52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We travelled as a family of seven with ages ranging from 12 to 67. Each of us felt very strongly that we had found a piece of tropical paradise on our ten day stay at Hideaway Island. We booked with the understanding that Hideaway was not a luxurious resort and so weren't disappointed that the accommodation wasn't 5 star. However, we were very pleased with the size of the oceanfront bungalows as they afforded the space needed by such a large and diverse group of people. The bungalows did have a few issues with water but these were addressed as soon as practical by the very hardworking staff at Hideaway. The view from the verandah was wonderful to wake up to, especially as the sun was rising over the water. The gardens surrounding the bungalow provided privacy for our family.
The staff at Hideaway are exceptional. The longer we stayed, the more endearing we found the staff. We were treated in such a way by the bar/ restaurant staff, especially Louisa, that our trip was more special than it would have been elsewhere. As a large group, Louisa ensured that a table was reserved at all meal times for us. This was especially important through the day when the visitors to the island joined the guests for lunch.
The whole family enjoyed the snorkelling. Again, we were aware prior to visiting, that the coral had been damaged so were not expecting more than was there. The fish life however, was spectacular. Schools of fish were visible from the waters edge. Having been to the barrier reef twice, I felt that the fish here were much more accessible and contained within a relatively small area so it wasn't hard to see a very wide variety of fish. One criticism is that the snorkel gear is ageing and could be replaced to improve the snorkelers experience. Some of the our group tried scuba diving for the first time including all of the children. They had two instructors for the four diving, providing excellent attention and instruction. I was very impressed with how well my family was looked after by Brian and Joka. The glass bottom boat trip was also an excellent experience.
The food in the restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The standard was very high with the coconut curry being a family favourite. The restaurant could benefit from providing greater variety in the menu. The Melanesian feast night was a lot of fun and the food provided at the beach BBQ was delicious.
We participated in the walk through Mele village with Alice. It was a wonderful experience for all of us and we would certainly recommend this.
Hideaway island is located in a great part of vanuatu- Mele Bay. It is very close the Mele Cascades, The Summit Gardens and Zipline and The Secret Gardens. Across the bay and next to the ferry wharf, is the Beach Bar which has an amazing fire show each Friday evening.

The highlight of Hideaway for us as the People that we met. We left feeling that we had said goodbye to a community of people who had welcomed us into their world. We felt that our return would be looked for. Staying at Hideaway was a genuine life experience for us and we will certainly be returning one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic week on Hideaway Island! Everything was perfect for us. The main reason I chose Hideaway Island was the ease of scuba diving (it has its own dive school) and snorkelling, and we were not disappointed. There were also plenty of other things to do on and near the island and access to the main island was simple and included in the cost of the accommodation. Our bungalow was huge for two people, very clean and quiet with a lovely veranda looking across Mele Bay - just beautiful. Although the menu appeared to be a bit limited, there were specials as well and we never had the same thing twice. We could have stayed longer, but we had booked to go to Tanna and that was fantadtic too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
354 reviews
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing