We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe its not four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I can't believe its not four star”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hideaway is founded on a social and environmental eco agreement with the local Mele people. It is situated within a marine reserve with people generally directed to a small area at the beachfront where the one can snorkel, dive or just paddle around without effecting the greater reef area, which is preserved in beautiful condition for divers/snorkelers who understand the need to protect the reef. This way they manage the resort nature which attracts great crowds on Cruise ship days providing good access to children and casual snorkelers to view many fish without harming the greater reef.

The resort is staffed by local people who go to amazing efforts to provide for comfort and add the wow factor to coming back to your bungalow (see photo).

The bungalows are large and as near to the water as could be. We were so comfortable (with no mozzies) and although the resort is aging, we felt as if in luxury. the beds are comfortable and the sheets clean and fresh.

Nearby is the astonishing Mele Cascades waterfall and Secret Gardens Cultural Centre.

There are a few issues, such as the ferry, which can be improved but overall it is a great resort style holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    214
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
238
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is my fourth visit to Hideaway Island and it never disappoints me. My previous visits have been to scuba dive, which is always a must to appreciate the marine life in Vanuatu. This time I took my young daughter and she thought the snorkelling experience including the underwater post office, which are so close to the beach to be 'awesome!'.
The island is peaceful and everyone is so cheerful, friendly and helpful.
Accommodation is comfortable with the private bungalows looking out to sea. Waking up to these views is just perfect and restful! The restaurant offers a variety of healthy options and the fresh fruit (which really tastes like fruit!) for breakfast is to die for!
Port Vila is only a short distance away and easily accessible, but if you are looking for a restful experience where you can easily enjoy the marine life in Vanuatu, you can't go wrong with Hideaway Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hideaway Island Resort is a tiny piece of paradise and none of the photos/websites online do it justice. The island is so small yet each bungalow is private with a delicious ocean view. We (Husband and two children) found the bungalow to be perfect, however if your usual accommodation/room standard is 4 or 5 star then you will probably be disappointed. The bungalow is really only for sleeping; the rest of the island is what it is all about. Snorkelling was better than the Great Barrier Reef, especially on our last day when we went out straight after breakfast. The village tour is an eye-opening must. We liked that the island was quiet in the morning, busier during that day (day-trippers) and quiet again in the evening. The restaurant is good with a menu to satisfy most and they even accommodated specific requests.
The staff are so welcoming, friendly, helpful and accommodating. My husband and I miss all of them dearly. It was also nice that the manager is always out and about and up for a chat.
We cannot wait to go back and say hello and stay again at Hideaway Island.

Room Tip: Our bungalow had a better view than those that were positioned more towards the jetty part of the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are thinking about getting your scuba licence then Hideaway Dive has to be at the top of your list. The dive staff are excellent, helpful, fun and very good at their jobs. The water is warm and clear with almost no current. The equipment is quality new gear and the water is just a short walk or short boat ride from the shop.

Staying at the Hideaway resort means you will not have to spend much of your day "commuting" to do the lessons and chances are, the friendly atmosphere will make for a very relaxing holiday.
Thanks you to Phil and the rest of the staff at Hideaway. See you again,

John

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hideaway Resort was exactly what we were looking for. The staff was very helpful, nice and professional. The Resort need a little bit of work but, I know how is difficult the run a place like that on a such small island with all technical problems that entails. Thanks again to the staff and see you next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My hubby and I recently spent a holiday at Hideaway Island. And what a holiday! It was fantastic!! We have never been so relaxed, so well looked after, and meet so many nice people. Jess who has recently left a review was one of our table buddies at night along with her dad and some other very keen divers. We have finished our first dive course and poor Phil now will have to put up with me when we return. Amy our house keeper is wonderful, nothing was a problem, and the flowers that adorned our room every night where wonderful. The restaurant staff are always smiling and again are so obliging. Phil our diver instructor is the most patient and understanding person on the planet. He helped us through our PADI dive course and always kept smiling. If you wish to learn to dive, this is the place and the gentleman to teach you. We will be back as soon as possible. How could anyone resist the people, the weather and the atmosphere of Hideaway Island!

Room Tip: Ask for the Bungalows with a sea breeze and not near the generator. Any where from R10 onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My Dad and I have just returned from a week long holiday on Hideaway Island. We had a fantastic time. The island has a superb location being a short drive (15mins) and then very short ferry ride from the airport. The island itself was absolutely beautiful. Dad and I shared one of the twin share rooms which are small, but given that you hardly spend any time in the room (why would you when you're on a tropical island with beach chairs everywhere) the room was always fantastically cleaned - my pjs were folded everyday :) The staff were all fantastic and friendly and Phil the dive master who went above and beyond to ensure that we had amazing diving experiences. The relaxed feel of the island leaves you making friends with all the other guests, meaning that most nights for dinner as opposed to Dad and I telling each other the same stories over and over we had a table of 8 or so to keep us entertained. The diving and the snorkeling where everything we had been lead to believe - simply amazing to have such fantastic snorkeling so close to the shore and the dive sites were wonderful and absolutely teaming with coral and fish and water at 28 degrees was beautiful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
353 reviews
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing