We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family of four, boys aged 9 and 12, stayed at Hideaway twice in September. The first time we stayed in the 1 bedroom bungalow which was great. The boys had good beds in the living area and we had a separate bedroom. It was very spacious and had a great deck looking out to sea. It was not fancy but was fine for us. The second time, we stayed in two of the twin share rooms. They were very small and close together and the shared bathroom facilities for the 6 rooms were grotty and unsatisfactory. I would come back to Hideaway as the snorkelling and location is good but would stay in the higher level accomodation. Food was good but the staff were not very friendly. The pool is great and my boys enjoyed playing billiards on the deck.

Room Tip: Unless you are a 20 year old backpacker traveling on the cheap, choose a one bedroom bungalow over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 634 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the resort after a week in Espiritu. The reviews were quite mixed so we were prepared for the worst...but we had a great time overall thanks to the staff (especially Paulina!!). We originally booked a twin share rooms which was basically a very clean concrete box about 3m x 3m with a shared verandah overlooking the water.....we were happy with that except that we didn't know it was shared outside toilet and shower (I know, we should have researched better)....and only two for 6 rooms !! We would have adapted to this except it was always swimming in urine-smelling water and constantly in use and usually no hot water.

We upgraded for the second and third night to a bungalow.....and it is MAGICAL. I cannot imagine a more perfect tropical accomodation....spacious private bungalow amongst the tropical trees with ur own private beach and coral ocean.......hammock and deck chairs, couches, large beautiful interiors, big bed. We could have stayed there for a month. A white pebble-stone path links the bungalows through the beautiful tall trees to the front of the island where all the facilities are.....restaurant, dive shop, reception with long lovely couches and a pool table, gift shop, ferry wharf and of course the endless line of deck chairs next to the blue water.

The dive shop......amazing setup and the best I've seen as a Dive Instructor of 8 years. Brand new scubapro BCDs, mares regulators, "volo" type white fins and mares wide-vision mask and snorkel. They have diver-propulsion vehicles, a nitrox membrane, underwater digital cameras and a nice big bench for setup. The Divemasters are mostly very friendly and above-all EXTREMELY safe and by-the-book....was so refreshing to see an actual onshore dive-briefing with maps because I see it so rarely. The boat-ride is at most 10 MINUTES and is dead-flat. Drop down, see the mostly-dead coral with thousands of tropical fish and then deco-stop and ascent and go home.....how diving should be !! (except for the dead coral). Thankyou so much to Nedge and Kevin for being so great.

Restaurant food was top-notch but we often saw people waiting over an hour for food, and its expensive (Sydney restaurant prices). The beach and water CANNOT BE BEATEN !! Sand that is raked all day by patient ni-Vanuatu to keep flat, the waters-edge is coral which is great because you avoid sand-covered wet thongs and feet, and there's live coral and fish within a few meters of the shore....just the best. I cannot recommend it enough.

Thankyou so much to the staff for making it so magical for my wife and myself. They even sang a song just for us two on Malenesian night ....thankyou so much to Veronique and the girls!! It was 10/10 and we will be back.

Room Tip: Warning !! Twin-share is shared outdoor toilet backpacker style !! If you cant handle that then Bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlyweds2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Hideaway Island Resort for the first two nights of our honeymoon.

Whilst the fare was quite pleasant (albeit on the windy side of the island), there was a definite lack of customer service.
When we arrived off the boat no one greeted us. I thought our suitcases would have been a giveaway that we were guests and not day trippers.

The restaurant is virtually impossible around lunchtime. You can't order from your table but instead have to queue along with the hoards of day trippers to order and pay at the counter. We found it was quicker to get on the boat and go across the channel to the beachside cafe for a meal.

I'd strongly urge management to allow table orders and if you can't provide proof (eg your key) that you're staying on the island, then you can head on up to the counter to pay.

The snorkelling was ok, but not quite as good as we thought it would be. The paths and beach are all ground up coral which is a little sharp underfoot so be sure to take wet shoes.

The highlight of our stay was the only staff member who introduced herself to us (and I'm sorry I can no longer recall her name). We asked about local cuisine and she brought a tuluk from her village for us to try. It was delicious!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LittleKiwiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hideaway was almost the perfect place to relax for a short time. The fish curry was excellent and the continental breakfast hit the spot. Happy hours made the drinks a reasonable price although you have to ask that the cocktails be properly mixed or they serve something that looks and tastes like a slushy. The room was kept as clean as the sand and coral would allow.
The only negative comments I would make are that the towels in the rooms were too small and there was one hotel size soap in the communal bathroom.

Room Tip: I did not see any rooms other than the Dorms and I had one of those to myself.It would be extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hideaway was recommended by friends.We initially had a couple of reservations,parts of the main building are in need of some TLC,the pool table suface was ripped badly,our shower head was a little random and Management need to put another sign at bottom of the Bungalo 13 path,as we were getting day trippers wandering up and into our private area.
The staff were very friendly,room nice and clean,bed comfy,etc.Enjoyed our pet Gecko who lived in our ceiling.
Wouldnt recommend Melanesian Feast,but snorkling out to Bouy fantastic,Beach Bar nice diversion and lovely swimming in Mele Bay.
Great place to be based for a week

Room Tip: Bungalos on west side got no prevailing winds for the week we were there which was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been to Hideaway before and enjoyed everything about the resort. We were trandported by boat for the short trip to the island. We received a welcome drink and were shown to our rooms where our bags were waiting for us. Our bungalow was clean and spacious with a view back to the mainland. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing as you can snorkel right out the front f the island. The coral is a little damaged in places but the resort offers a daily snorkel trip to the coral gardens for some better viewing. The diving is great and all sites are only a short boat ride away. It is a great place to learn to dive as resort is PADI accredited. The food was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced (the fish curry was delicious).The continental breakfast was perfect for the climate but hot breakfast can be ordered at an additional charge (850vt for bacon and eggs). There was daily happy hour with cocktails for half price (600vt). A cocktail next to the water was a great way to finish a day.
Transport in to Vila is not necessarily quick but easy to find. A bus for 300vt per person each way can take you to Vila for a day trip.
If your looking for a resort with a pillow menu and day spa Hideaway isn't for you but if you want a relaxed holiday in a perfect location it may be.
If you have the choice fly with Air Vanuatu as Virgin cancelled our returning flight twice due to weather. Air Vanuatu was still flying in and out of Vila on both days. We wont be flying Virgin to Vila again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermit-truck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed on Hideaway Island Resort for two days and had an excellent time snorkeling in the sea with hardly any dangerous corals in our way (that's not to say there is no colourful coral to see). We even saw a giant turtle while snorkeling. The resort also runs daily snorkel safaris further away from the shore and glass bottom boat tours.

If you get bored of the island you can always catch the free ferry to the main land and the bus to town only costs 300 vatu. Or you can save the bus trip and spend the evening at the Beach Bar where they have an amazing fire show every Friday night. The island is also in a close proximity to the Mele Cascades or the Summit Gardens.

Our only regret is that we did not pay for a better room - our twin share room was a very ugly shoe box with a bunk bed, which got quite stuffy inside during the night. At least it was much cheaper compared to other places we stayed at in Vanuatu.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the twin share rooms, they're not nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hudbakanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,542 reviews
4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
154 reviews
4.8 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $64 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing