We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day trip destination” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great day trip destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a day trip to Erakor Island and we thought it was just wonderful!

A small ferry located next to Le Lagon Resort, took us across to the island where we were very warmly welcomed. We were delighted to find that there was no entrance fee to the island for our visit.

We had a very enjoyable day at Erakor. We waded through the shallows admiring the starfish and marine life and then we progressed to walk around the perimeter of the island. It is rather rocky in places, but easy to negotiate just the same. We also walked through the gardens, admiring the wonderful array of vegetation. You can also snorkel at Erakor, although we didn't, we chose to relax in wonderful wicker lounge chairs on the beach instead!

We dined at Roxy’s for lunch on a great timber deck overlooking the water in the bay. The service and food were both very good, with the cocktails being rather divine too!

All in all, this is a great destination for a day visit; relax, unwind, have a wander, a dip and a great bite to eat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DormouseTidings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    178
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
240
246
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Same for me! : after reading some bad reviews about erakor resort, i didn't want to go there.
But my partner still booked it there anyways.
And We loved every bit of it!
- The bungalows are clean, comfortable, and we had the last one at the far end. It's a very nice walk through the island and a bit of exercise never killed anyone! We ended up extending our stay and didn't want to leave on the last day.. ='(
- We had the lovely company of Dribbles the female cat during the whole stay. At worse, she will claim you a little bit of milk. we spoiled her with some cat cookies =)
- Snorkeling straight from the bungalows was great! dont forget reef booties!
- Free ferry bringing you when ever you wish from and to the island!
- The staff is so friendly, big thanks to Tony, lindon, Kevin, Cliff, Peter, Lita, Mondine and everybody!
- It's quiet and relaxing, just what we needed for hard earned holidays!
- If you want to be close to nature and do not mind few ants walking around (yes, during the day, you leave doors open while in your bungalow and little insects invite themselves in) then, you will simply fall in love with the place!! It was true paradise for us! We wanted a place where we could enjoy doing activities (games, volley ball, kayaking, biking, sailing with equipement very well maintained) but also a place where we could get away from busy city, relax and eat good food.
- You do not need a pool, you have a full ocean to swim in!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrawonga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We started off our holiday being promised a beach front adults only bungalow at poppy s on the lagoon what a joke!!!! It was horrible a rubbish tip down side of drive way no beach! Thank goodness for Tony and his staff at Erakor we moved over there he told us not to worry about anything and enjoy our holiday! I cant say enough to describe how fantastic our stay was or how great everyone was there! If you want a great relaxing fun friendly romantic or even family holiday i give my 100% guarentee you will get it! Our room doors opened up to our own beach front beautiful!!! The cleaning staff even folded clothes that were laying on bed everyone went above and behond to make our holiday truely memerable! 24hr ferry takes you to an fro for free also they are great guys took us all hours of night with a smile on there face! Le lagon across the lagoon has nothing on this place we had friends staying there and they were so dissapointed dying to come stay at erakor! 5 stars is not enough i give 100!!!! The restaurant is great as well and the best cocktails so get your dancing shoes ready, cocktails in hand because all the staff there love a dance even the chefs!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

I was also sceptical after reading previous reviews of Erakor Island Resort, however found that my experience was completely different.
I travelled to Vanuatu and the resort for my sisters wedding which was being held on the island. We stayed a few weeks after the new owners had taken over. The progress made on the island facelift during the week I stayed was amazing. I can't wait to see what it looks like when all the plans wrap up (apparently in September).
I was very happy with the spacious rooms leading out to a deck with amazing views of the waterfront just a few metres in front. It was so nice waking up and hearing the water lapping. It proved to be quite a relaxing week without the external interruption of TV. I did have a few issues with hot water in my shower but this didn't phase me greatly.
The food available at Roxy's was tasty and fresh. The cocktails and coffee were also great. I charged a lot of the purchases to my room and had no issues when it came to settling the bill.
I found the staff incredibly helpful and friendly. In fact, one staff member took us to her local Kava Bar outside her work hours! Everyone working on the island was genuinely happy for my sister and her husband leading up to and on their wedding day.
I'd happily stay at Erakor Island Resort again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astro_Girl_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was a bit sceptical about staying at the resort, after reading some not-so-great reviews. Turns out I worried over nothing, because we had a wonderful time. We were there last week (its dry season at the moment, so I didn’t get bitten by any mozzies) and the temperature was perfect (about 28 deg everyday). Four of us shared a room (upstairs and downstairs) and it worked out to be very affordable (we are all students and don’t often pay much for accommodation!). Our room backed on to the lagoon, so we just had to walk out, put of flippers on and go snorkelling!

We were part of a large wedding group and I’d say the general consensus was that our stay was perfect. The island is paradise. The staff continuously go out of their way to help out; they organised extra activities like weaving classes, trips to the mainland and the beautiful wedding.

I could not have wished for a better stay, and will definitely be going back (when I can save up for the flight!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen_Kelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Our trip to Vanuatu staying at Erakor Island Resort & Spa was one of the best travelling experiences I've ever had.
Crystal clear, calm waters, perfect for snorkelling at anytime of the day, providing complimentary flippers, snorkels, clear bottom kayaks as well as regular ones, view boards for people unable to snorkel and sail boats are all at your disposal, with friendly and helpful staff to get you going.
There is access to the water and spectacular views from every bungalow, and there are a number of other beaches that are more secluded at the south end of the island.
The bungalows are roomy, consisting of king size beds as well as amazingly comfortable day beds. Each has a balcony and outdoor setting from which to have a few refreshments and watch the sunset.
The day spa offer a wide variety of treatments, well priced and of a high quality. My Mum and Dad recommend the Coconut Couple Massage.
The staff are simply the most friendly, happy, helpful and genuine bunch of people I have encountered anywhere in a long time. We were on a first name basis with about 15 of them, as well as many of the workers who were in the midst of completing renevations about the resort. The manager Tony was impeccable, as were his guest relations staff, who always had a smile and made you feel at home.
The value for money was incredible. We stayed 8 nights and having lunch, drinks and dinner at Roxys restaurant on the island near everyday ended up costing around $40AUD a day - and we had our fair share of Erakor Island Dream cocktails! We tabbed everything to our room and encountered no problems in this area.
The food was also delicious and of wide variety, however you are situated a free ferry ride and a 5 minute bus trip to town if you are looking to experience a wider selection. The staff are more than happy to suggest the good places.
I've read some other reviews on this site for Erakor and realise that you sometimes can't please everyone, but if you are the type of person who enjoys beautiful scenery, friendly people and overall a holiday where you can just sit back, relax and enjoy everything that Vanuatu has to offer, then you can't look past Erakor Island Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmmmaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing