We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The greatest place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Mareeba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The greatest place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful place May - June 2013 and we had the most wonderful time there I could not think of a better place to stay. Everyone who works there are so friendly and helpful nothing is a problem to them all they want to do is make you happy. It is not 5 star but we had all that we needed and it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our selves so much that we are returning there with our family next year.

MelvaW

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristieMareeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    171
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
227
238
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Erakor Island Resort is not the fanciest or slickest resort you could stay at in Efate. It is though the best if what you are looking for is tranquillity, relaxation, good food, superb snorkelling and personal attention to your needs.

The 30 villas on the island are all private and spaced well away from any noise, all have the expected amenities though no phone or TV (but surely that's why you are here?). There is internet in the reception and Port Vila has all you need and is a 10 minute bus ride away (150 Vatu or $1.50).

This is a safe, friendly place to come and the staff at EIR are genuine in their friendliness and helpfulness. All were great but thanks especially to Henry - The Chief, Alice, Sam, and Albert. No-one disappointed and although the label of happiest place on Earth may be a bit fanciful Ni-Van are extremely laid back and friendly people, well certainly to tourists.

Port Vila has a great market and its worth eating at the back (24 hours except Sat and closed Sun). L'Houstalet is a quirky dated French restaurant worth a visit if only to try flying fox, and Le Jardin des Saveurs, near the island ferry, is excellent. We found the patisserie Au Peche Mignon average and the staff surly, in fact the only negative experience we had. The food at the resort was varied and tasty and reasonably priced, though go to Au Bon Marche for your wine and save big time - also on French goods like cheese and saucisson.

The Melanesian Feast on Thursdays is superb and you must try Kava. Well worth the $40 just for the entertainment let alone food, and the Pizza and Movie night n Saturdays is great for kids and families.

Weddings could make the place a bit noisier but we had one wedding which was actually nice to feel a bit a part of, and the island is very quiet. I ran the 1km path around the whole island a few times each morning and it was serene.

If you want action perhaps stay in town a few days and here for at least 3 days for the relaxation. If you want to pay vastly more for the hotel feel go to Le Warwick Le Lagon, otherwise stay here and be treated like a friend not a tourist.

I also recommend the trip to the local school as an eye opener for some - take your kids they will get lots from it - and bring chalks and pencils from home as gifts, or second hand kids school books - you'll be glad you did as they have very little and will be very grateful.

We had an excellent 9 days and would return to EIR. Thanks especially to Albert for the great but not intrusive entertainment, and to all for a warm and enjoyable stay. Even having our Kindle stolen didn't break our tranquillity for long (request a safe if you have valuables though we weer told that they had never had a theft before so I guess we were just unlucky).

If you want ultra quiet ask for the west side (we stayed in a villa number 18 near the Spa, which again was very good), but the trade off is the wind comes from that side and families may prefer being right on the best beach (Calypso).

We had average weather (occasional rain but constant cloud and around 25 degrees most of the time, a couple of warm sunny days and a couple of rainy days) but it really didn't matter as we got very chilled very quickly and overall it is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Calypso beach spa villas will be the best for families and snorkelling right off your deck but for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I got married on this beautiful island on May 21, 2013 and it was the most magical and special day!

We stayed in villa 9, which had brilliant views of the water, a huge spa on the deck and our own private section of the beach right in front of us.

The staff were always so friendly and personal, they bent over backwards for us and made us feel so welcome and at home. The food was always fantastic, the villas were so lovely and the island was just gorgeous - for swimming, walking, snorkelling, kayaking or just lazing in the sun! It was the perfect place to have our tropical island wedding! We had the best weather on the day, beautiful sunshine from dawn until dusk, we were so lucky!

Thank you so much to all the wonderful staff at Erakor, you truly helped make our wedding and the first stint of our honeymoon so amazing! We can't thank you enough for everything and can't wait to come back and see you all again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAZ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

i would just like to say that we had the most amazing time at Erakor Island Resort. We got married there on the 23rd May 2013. The wedding was the perfect day. Everything went so smooth just like island time.

I seriously can not fault anything the whole week we were there. all the staff were all so very helpful. Erakor island owner should be so proud of them as they are more than 5 star service!! Lita my wedding planner was the most amazing women, anything I wanted to change or have for our wedding day, it wasn't a problem.

All the staff were always happy and always willing to help no matter what. We really enjoyed Albert - the singer and entertainer!!!! he is just brilliant!!

Our room was number 6 and OMG the views were amazing. We had the water right at the front as soon as you walked out off your deck. Everything was cleaned everyday, including the beach and paths, they rake them everyday.

Watersports equipment was awesome!!! They even let us put chairs in the water to just relax in the ocean.

We also had the massage for 2 which was very relaxing and one of the best massages I have had!!

We really didn't want to leave at all. We will definitely go back again, maybe for our 1 year anniversary.

Thank you to the chef for our private romantic dinner for 2 on coconut beach, what can I say - you really went all out to make us feel special!! You are a master Chef!!!!

Thank you so much for making my dream wedding come true.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShenaeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Straying down the road at the Nasama Resort, we were able to see the resort across the lagoon. Not being intrepid enough to paddle accross on the kayaks, we caught the B Bus to the jetty next to the le lagoon.

We paid the $10vt per head to catch the ferry across to the island and this fee comes off your purchases.

For anyone who has read our other reviews, we are much more at home watching the active people doing all the snorkelling, paddling and swimming. So after a liesurely walk along the beach and thru the resort we settled in at the sun drenched open restaurant with a bottle of bubbles and a great view.

The menu covers all food tastes and budgets with wine & beers to match. We shared a lovely seafood paltter and nice NZ wines by the glass.

The stafff were helpful, couteous and interesting - they must have been to put up with us for about 3 hours.

A day trip to Erakor Island is far superior to Hideway (if snorkelling is not your thing).

Room Tip: Day tripper only - can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This past week I celebrated my friends wedding at Erakor Island Resort. What an amazing island with postcard-perfect views. The wedding was perfectly organised by Lita and the staff on Erakor Island, nothing was too much trouble and the wedding was successful due to their amazing hospitality. We all feel like we made new family members at Erakor, I have never met more beautiful people anywhere in the world. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so great. Big high-five to the chef and his assistants, the food was absolutely fantastic! Albert - the singer, is amazing and I would recommend that anyone planning a wedding on Erakor Island requests Albert for their entertainment. The owners of Erakor Island should be extremely proud of their resort and the facilities but most of all their staff. No one wanted to leave. What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Le Lagon resort over the lagoon. We went to Erakor resularly for snorkling and food. The food is FANTASTIC! Best food in Vanuatu. Great views from the bar and great snorkling! Dispite us being from a different resort the staff helped me when I got stung on the reef and they pulled our kayaks in when the time slipped away and the tide came in. Try the seafood basket!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzi1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
7.6 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#6 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.2 mi away
Eratap Beach Resort
Eratap Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing