We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Island Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights for our wedding and honeymoon. This place is just like paradise. From the moment we left the airport we knew this place was going to be amazing. The food ,service, accommodation and the helpful friendly staff were outstanding. Could not fault this island or resort. We stayed in room 11 which was just amazing, especially the huge spa on the deck. We had a wedding for 2 no family came with us but the staff on this island were like family to us. The wedding day went off so smoothly and no stress at all. I also used the wedding canoe which was so much fun and the flowers were just amazing. The island offers free 24 hour ferry service along with free waters port equipment. Fantastic place for snorkelling. This island caters for families as well as couples. I will hopefully be back at this island someday soon. Thank you to all the staff who helped with our special day. We will never forget you all.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful but we had room 11 which was outstanding. Which had a huge...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilymurphy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Erakor Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 691 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just spent a week at the resort and celebrated our wedding and reception there. Couldn't have been better.

45 guests confirmed it was the best food they've ever had a wedding and we wholeheartedly agree! Tyrone (the chef) nailed every dish we ordered - and the portions were incredible!

All the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and bend over backwards to make your stay the best it can be.

Special thanks to Lita, Blanca and Nixon for being so lovely and helpful and doing such a great job with the wedding, kids club and overall service.

Snorkeling - amazing!

Can't wait to go back and celebrate our one year anniversary

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of waves crashing, don't book an oceanfront room. Oceanfront roo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scorpio_lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Erakor Island for 10 days in May 2013. We also got married on the island itself. We could not fault a thing. The accommodation was beautiful (and really comfortable), the view from our Deluxe Spa Villa was breathtaking. You literally walk 5m down from your deck and you are on the beach, and about 2m from the beach are AMAZING reefs where you can snorkel straight out from your room and see hundreds of bright coloured starfish, fish, eels, sea cucumbers and a number of other things I've never seen before! It's always very calm in the lagoon as well, so it doesn't matter what the weather is doing.

We want to give a MASSIVE shout out to Lita (our wedding coordinator) who did a brilliant job on our wedding - was EXACTLY what we wanted and more! Lita always made an effort to come and talk to us all the time too, even after the wedding. Esther in the Day Spa was just beautiful and very helpful, we really loved her (she had us in fits of laughter). She really needs a hand though, as you can't do couples massages or anything because she's on her own. Henry (aka Chief) was awesome, he was always around and very friendly - he does a good job. Blanka was another of our favourites - she can do anything! Very helpful and we loved her too! And Peter on the ferry - he was very nice and very funny! Who are we kidding - all the staff are amazing helpful and always smiling!

The restaurant at Erakor was amazing. The food was just delicious! The bar staff are also excellent. We also went to a Melanesian Feat night and had a beautiful buffet, custom dancers and music, kava tasting (tastes like mud and made our tongues go numb haha) and fire twirlers (dancers) - we were in awe and had the BEST night ever - you even get to join in the dancing. They were all soooo good!

We could write a novel sized review about how much we loved Erakor. We will definitely be coming back!

Sam & Michael

Room Tip: Deluxe Spa Villas are further up the island and are away from the main restaurant and beach areas. I...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After much deliberation (and checking trip advisor) we decided to stay on Erakor for our 4 night holiday and it was definitely the right decision! Exceeded all of our expectations! Beautiful quiet island with stunning views over the lagoon. We stayed in the spa villa number 8 and it was incredible!!!! Arrived to fresh flowers and a spotless room. Quick gin and tonic on our sun loungers (while arguing over who got to use the private hammock first), then bubbles in the spa bath watching the sunset. Perfect.

The staff here could not be more geuinine, friendly and helpful and the level of service was really impressive. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we liked to go into town at night for dinner but can recommend the cocktails! The free use of the water sport equipment was a really nice touch despite our soon to be discovered complete lack of sailing skills. Overall just a really fun relaxing and beautiful place to stay away from all the hustle and bustle of Port Vila.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here with our two boys, aged 8 and 10, just before Christmas and were just blown away by the location. The beach was literally two steps off our patio. The snorkelling wasn't the best in Vanuatu but there were a lot of soft coral and colorful fish, as well as tonnes of starfish and quite a few moray eels as well. Even though this was just before Christmas the place was fairly quiet, and there weren't too many day-trippers coming in either. The restaurant was quite expensive so we didn't use it much at night but the breakfast buffet was really good value for money. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome and we also had the pleasure of being invited to the annual staff party. Quite an intersting experience and we felt really honoured to be given this opportunity. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Go for ocean front and try to get a fair bit away from the jetty.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a day in Port Vila whilst on a cruise, spent the morning at Cascades and then went to Erakor for lunch. Our driver had tried to convince us to go to Hideaway Island but when we saw the line up of minivans at the jetty we decided that Erakor would be much quieter and it certainly was. Our driver dropped us of at the jetty where we waited a few minutes for the ferry. The ferry driver was pleasant making converstation and telling us about water depth, tides etc. The water was so clear. When we arrived the chief greeted us and told us where to find things. We had luch at the restaurant. The $10 AUS we paid for the ferry could be taken off the lunch bill but due to exhange rates and calculations it ended up that lunch was a bit expensive but the food was pleasant and enjoyed by all. The restaurant was open aired at the sides but quite warm inside. Maybe the ceiling fans could have been turned on! The iced coffes and spiders for the children were well appreciated. My young children found the playground and big trampoline which was a nice surprise. The beach was lovely with lounge chairs and umbrellas for us to use. The water was warm and clear but the large amount of star fish scared my young children (5 and 8) out of the water!! It was just a matter of watching where you walked and wearing reef shoes. I found a perfect little snorkelling spot just off shore that was in standing height water with a great variety of fish. All too soon we had to ring the gong to summons the ferry back to take us back to Port Vila and our ship. Maybe I would like to come again and stay a few days next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank gekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were not staying in the resort but just visiting from our cruise ship. This is a beautiful place, a very small island, only about 10m across in some parts. We were travelling as a family with our 2yr old daughter, we caught a local van here from the ship for A$10, and then paid A$10 per person for the short boat ride over to the resort, the A$10 we paid can then be used as credit on the island. We were welcomed by the local 'Chief' in traditional dress and explained how the place operated and where to find all the amenities. There was only a small number of people here which was very peaceful and relaxing.

We setup on the beach, with chairs and umbrella's provided by the resort, there is a water sports hut with snorkelling gear & kayaks etc, but we brought our own. The snorkelling here was good, especially so close to the city of Vila, there were lots of star fish (although they are sharp, so recommend reef shoes) the water was very warm as its a lagoon, and there was also plenty of fish life. There is also a playground for kids which was certainly a surprise.

Lunch in the restaurant was alright, the prices were similar to Sydney, and even worse with the exchange rate if you pay with AUD, which was a surprise, although the staff were very nice, and the food was also nice and fresh. Would definitely visit again, although would definitely consider the prices when deciding.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank JuddFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $186 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing