We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I honeymooned on Erakor for 7 nights - we had high expectations and the island exceeded them in every way possible. The staff were friendly and welcoming and put on some great activities, from the casual coconut harvesting demonstrations to a Melanesian feast complete with local entertainers and fire dancing! We had the best seafood basket we've eaten at the restaurant (along with some great cocktails) and the Chef's Private Dinner was magical (this came as part of our package). The waterfront superior spa villas were clean with a lovely little back deck where we could watch sunsets over the water. If you are after a 5 star experience with all the trimmings, Erakor may not be for you. If however, you want to relax in an idyllic setting, it's a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Room 20 and room 23 have the most water frontage of the spa villas - there are rocks directly outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunl0ver79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    178
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
239
246
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

When booking our trip I wanted our own detached bure right on the water. That is exactly what we got and loved every minute of our time here. We stayed in a waterfront family loft with 2 13 y.o girls. There is no TV and no A/c but the vilas have louvres so cross ventilation with breezes all you need. This resort is very laid back but has one of the best restaurant that we ate at in Vila. We found that everything we need was available, you just have to ask to friendly staff. This is a small island without high rise , 5 star facilities such as conference room, gyms etc. There is no pool but you do not need it, Swimming is safe and kakaking a lot of fun. You can arrange all your tours, use intenet in reception, arrange private dinners on the beach. Do not underestimate what the staff of this resort can make available for you.

We found that the staff here simply enjoy there work. It is laid back and fantastic. They work tirelessly to transform there facilities to accomodate the weekly activites such as melanisian feast on the beach, pizza night , Snorkelling right of our verandah. loved it and would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozziefamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winmalee, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a treat after getting off the plane, then bus, to get on the ferry and cross to Erakor Island! It's a real mental getaway, leaving everything behind! We had a lovely warm welcome from Gilbert, and a beautiful complimentary fruit punch drink on arrival. We stayed in room 2, which is so convenient to everything yet private enough, we could also hear Albert's beautiful singing from our room as he entertained wedding guests! We felt so special to be staying in such a beautiful room so close to the water. So nice to have the room freshened up everyday. The highlight for my family was the Melanesian Feast Night. We found all of the staff to be so helpful and friendly, and the hospitality was very generous.

Room Tip: If you have a family, then rooms 1,2,3 and 4 would be the best choice as they are close to all ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at Erakor Island for 2 Nights, and was just right. Lovely little hut smack on the water, with crabs going about there day scuttling past. The Room I would say was a little tired, However it was well presented, clean sheets and towels and a nice bed with mozzie net. The room had a spa bath which was great, it took some time to fill as the water pressure was not great but was worth the effort to have a few beers in and listen to the water out side. The rooms have no Tv or phone which was great. however I do feel that they could have provided free WiFi, as every other place seems to do it they did not. otherwise it was a nice 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Room 20 was way back from the front of the resort, very quite and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC1808233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just had been dreaming of a tropical getaway from the hussle and bussle of city life and we got lucky and found it at Erakor Island Resort, Just loved the staff and we had a ball... Pizza on the beach watching a movie.. the Feast night was amazing the enterainment was world class.
The room was total devine to sit in my own private spa, sipping champagne and white sandy beach just there.. Awesome.. now this is living!! We just did not want to go home, but we we will be back to the slice of paradise under the tropical sun at Erakor Island

Room Tip: Room 6 was just devine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FizzGalaEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Don't be fooled by the island!! It's not enough to over come the shortful of the resorts cleanliness and service!! And DON'T DON'T BOOK ANY TOURS TROUGH THEM!!! If your lucky the tour company will feel sorry for you and take you even though ur 2 hours late cause that fault wasn't yours and we shouldn't pay for incompetent stuff!! Out off 7 tours booked on day 1 though the resort 2 weren't even confirmed with he organizer and the other 5 we were given the wrong pickup times or locations. All in all average resort with sub par beaches and horrible stuff!!! Dont bother going there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born2b3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was my girlfriend's and my first time to Vanuatu, and our choice of Erakor Island Resort and Spa certainly did not disappoint us at all. Every morning, you get greeted by a beautiful beach and lagoon that is crystal clear and filled with hundreds of starfish!

The staff were all so friendly and treated and cared for you like family. You will feel right at home there. I want to commend Alice, Annie, Max and the others who made our stay an unforgettable one. A big thank you to the Vanuatu hospitality!

We especially enjoyed the Melanesian feast night. The food was fantastic, the traditional performances were entertaining, we got to try Kava, and everyone was having an awesome time.

Breakfast was very simple and nothing to shout about, but the ala carte meals served at dinner were superb.

Note though, that the rooms do not have airconditioning. If you need air-conditioning, then Erakor Island is not for you. It is very cool during the winter, but I am not too sure about the summer months.

It is quite inconvenient to get to downtown though. It is too far to walk, but it is not really problem finding a taxi to take you to town.

Overall, I would certainly recommend Erakor Island for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing