We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Albury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Holiday”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our family of 4 has just had a fantastic holiday at Erakor Resort. The moment we arrived at the wharf for our tranfer to the island the warm and friendly staff greeted us with their smiles. We loved our family villa and the water was at times only a metre from our veranda. The children couldn't believe how many starfish were in the water and they had a great time exploring the island. Our 12 days at Erakor were fantastic and we are already planing our next visit. If you need a relaxing break with beautiful food and helpers to occupy your children then this is the holiday for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    185
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
253
257
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We went 10 years ago for our Son's wedding and returned for the 10 year anniversary celebration.. There have been several improvements made for the better. The new owner Lyndon is doing a great job and he has wonderful friendly staff. They are all very well trained and look after you exceptionally well. The Spa treatments were great the girls lovely. This time around we also had our two grandchildren along and they had a wonderful time. They were entertained for hours by the staff who also helped them with the watersports. Would love to go again at some stage. A very enjoyable relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 23 Waterfront Spa Villa. Very nice room, a good distance from main area but a lovely st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matemmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

thanks for the great stay at Erakor Island recently.

Best thing is the fantastic staff at Erakor, please pass that on to Chris the owner.
we made some good friends and got great service, particularly from Bryan, leita and Blanco.

We have sent some photos back to staff that we took photos with. we have sent them by mail with the folder that we accidentally took with us!

Also it was very exciting for us as we got engaged to be married at Yasur, Tanna before going to Erakor. Erakor is a beautiful little island so close and easy to get into Vila (if you have to!). Great for couples but nice place for families too.

regards Rob and Ghani

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobHuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We got married on Erakor Island in May 2011 and stayed there for two nights after the wedding. We stayed at Le Lagon in the week leading up (so we could stay with all our friends and family) which was just across the lagoon, making it super easy to make all the arrangements on Erakor in the week prior.

Natalie and Lita helped us coordinate the day. They did a fantastic job and were so so so lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they made the ceremony and reception look absolutely stunning. We ended up with a super windy (and a bit of a rainy!) day, but everything still went off without a hitch. Nat and Lita were ready to go to plan B if need be, but luckily it didn't come to that. Everything was organised sight unseen with the ceremony setup and reception, which I found really scary! I had sent through pictures of what I was picturing and they pretty much replicated it. It was all beautiful. And the food for the reception was delicious! They also helped by providing two rooms for the girls and boys to get ready in prior to the ceremony so we didn't mess up our wedding night room. For anyone planning a wedding in Port VIla we also used Judi Clelland (Cake Fantasy) to do our cake which was delicious - Cherry Ripe mud cake; Alcina Charlie and Eddie provided our entertainment and was amazing; and Andrew Read (Vivid Vanuatu) did our photography which we were really happy with and he was great value, providing us with all 500+ photos on disc for us to print at home ourselves.

As for Erakor as accommodation, we stayed in one of the waterfront spa villas, which was situated right on the ocean with a lovely balcony and day bed to sit and watch the sunsets. The room was nice with a spa in the corner of the room (which took about an hour to fill up, using the kettle to ad hot water - if you're not that bothered, I'd probably skip the spa unless their water pressure is better now)

The beach where you can spend the day lazing around is just gorgeus. Nice sunlounges and good snorkelling equipment and kayaks etc. to use as you wish. The restaurant is also close by which is really convenient. We ate at the restaurant the following night and it was very tasty again.

It's really easy to get back into town, with the ferry available 24hrs (I'm pretty sure??) and you can just call it as you need it.

If you don't like the big resorts, Erakor is the perfect place to stay. It's by no means a 5-star resort, but not everyone wants that, and I think this is better anyway. The people working here are just lovely and will help to make your holiday really special.

Thanks to everyone at Erakor again...and sorry it's taken so long for me to write my review!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lozza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The island is beautiful and the staff are very friendly, but the quality of the of the accommodation was average for the amount that it costs. Basic maintenance needs to be undertaken throughout.

I don't want to sound too picky, but for the amount of money that you pay it was a bit disappointing. We paid $325 a night for a private spa room. The bathroom door didn't close, the bathroom bench was stained and water damaged, the septic system stank when the wind blew the wrong way, the electricity cut out, the hot water stopped working several times and was out for more than 36hrs, and one of the steps from the deck was broken. If we'd paid $150 a night you would overlook these things, but when you're paying as much as you are it's a little average.

The restaurant staff were very friendly and there were lots of staff waiting on tables, but overall the dining experience wasn't that flash. We were constantly asked the same questions by multiple staff, you were never really sure if your order had been taken and the food sometimes took nearly an hour to arrive even though there were only a few couple dining.

On a positive, the island is beautiful and you can easily walk around to the ocean side where it feels like you're the only people on the island. You can lie on the sand under palm trees and relax without being disturbed. The water sports equipment available to guests is excellent and the snorkelling from the beach is pretty good. Also if you have children the staff are very good with them and enjoy playing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeromy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our stay at Erakor Island Resort was an experience we will never forget and long to repeat. The staff here really make a differance, with their professional approach and attention to detail, being something not to be missed. A special thanks is deserved by Rina, Blondine xxxx, Blanca, Lita, Catherine, Annie, Glen, Nixon, Peter & Piere who went out of their way to attend to our needs. We cannot thank you enough and will recomemmd this resort as a quality destination wherever we go!!
Regards
Danny & Vikki Shine

Room Tip: A room on the west side is the way to go as the sunset's are just superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The staff are fantastic at this slice of absolute perfection. Right from the first enquiry till we were dropped back afterthe airport at the end of our wonderful week there was nothing at all that they wouldnt do to help us. Even though Erakor is a small island (Beautiful white sand, immaculately maintained) we never ran out of things to do. Great snorkling just off the beach, the spa (! thanks Dolares, your massage was awesome), the melanesian feast night, the water sports (thanks Patrick for saving my husband when he coudlnt quite sail back) and of course the 4pm volley ball challenges. Our teens soon learned to collect and open coconuts, so that became a daily ritual of great halarity (thanks Brian and Nick). Our very special visit to the local visit on Childrens day and the fantastic church choirs were a real treat too (thanks Lita and Domnic). And who would of thought that sand drawing lessons and crab racing would be such fun (Thanks Blanca)!

Oh I could rave on all day, we truly had a great time and thoroughly recommend Erakor Island Resort to all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmelBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing