We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a little gem”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

erakor island is simply special. its the perfect island getaway at a very affordable price.
what a great place to do nothing. 'island time' is never so true as being on Erakor Island.
the accommodation in recent times has been upgraded and whilst there is a way to go to rival Bora Bora you certainly get what you pay for. the whole island is just seriously cute and inviting whether is enjoying a sunrise or sunset on the beach. whilst we were there a couple of beach weddings took place and they were perfect. what a memory for a young couple. winter time would be preferred to summer as the rooms are not air conditions but cool ale rectifies that. try it you'll love the place too congrats to all at Erakor.

Room Tip: avoid an adjoining room where there are children
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    185
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
254
257
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We have just returned after a week in paradise to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. It took us a long time to choose a place because we try to avoid busy, big, commercial, touristy.......Erakor Island has it all! You can choose the relaxation option of lazy beaching around on the white sands of Paradise beach or a secluded getaway on Sunset beach. You can get active snorkelling the calm lagoon entertained by clown fish, slugs, eels, sea cucumbers etc or take a sailing or kayaking option to explore the lagoon and tidal areas upstream where the local children giggle and chat as you drift by. Spoilt for choice! The food in the resturant is fresh, delicious and contains loads of local ingredients. The room ( we had a spa villa on the northern end of the island - quiet and private) was clean, cool, homely - patience is needed while filling the spa but it was worth the wait!
But Erakor's best assest are the people who work there. Every one of the staff made an extra effort every day to make us feel welcome and valued. They were keen to share their culture and stories and took time to ask and listen to us too. Nothing was ever an effort and in fact they went out of their way to do extra little things to make our anniversary memorable. We were surprised with an anniversary cake(thanks Lynden), a beautiful bunch of flowers and card delivered secretly to our room (thanks Annie), a beachside table romantically constructed with screens and candles (thanks Nick) and an afternoon paddle in the wedding canoe (thanks Nick). Thanks Blanca and Blondina for the freshly prepared breadfruit!
Port Villa is very accessible (if you really can bear to leave) and Donald and Manusa were always there with a smile and a ferry quickly day or night. Vanuatu offers a range of cultural and adventure experiences.
Do yourselves a favour and choose Erakor Island Resort and Spa as your slice of paradise.

Room Tip: north and west beach cabins more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebSibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was our first trip to Vanuatu, and it certainly won't be our last. From the minute we stepped off the plane, until we hugged our goodbyes, we could not have felt more welcome or more relaxed.

Erakor Island's best asset is undoubtably the amazing staff working there. Nothing is too much of problem, they are eager to help with anything, and I have never met friendlier people in my life. By the time we left, it felt like we were saying goodbye to friends. So here is a shout-out to some of the wonderful new friends we made on the island- Kevin "Perfectly Perfect", Willy, Mattius, Donald, Annie, Lita, Blanca, Peter, Lydia, Nicky, Aaron , Nixon and everyone else we met.

Erakor Island Resort is in the middle of a gorgeous lagoon, a quick ferry ride from the mainland. The ferry is operating at all hours, and we used it to go into town almost every day. There are taxis or buses at the jetty all the time. Taxis cost 700 VATU and buses 150 VATU per person to take you anywhere in Port Vila.

The resort has a small beach with plenty of sun-lounges and umbrellas. You can order food and drinks to your beach-chair if you like, though the restaurant is close by. All of the rooms are waterfront, so you can spend the day lounging on your balcony or reading in a hammock. However I found that it was easiest to swim from the main beach. There is a lot of coral and a plethora of starfish in the lagoon, so reef shoes come in handy.

Our room was simple, but lovely, and was very clean. It had a queen-size bed with mosquito-netting canopy, and a large daybed, plus barfridge and tea-making essentials. The bathroom was slightly tired (as they can get in the tropics), but was large and clean and very comfortable. No phone and no tv- this was no problem at all. I had an important phonecall come in while we were staying there, and they sent someone to get me so I could take the call at Reception. There is no aircon, but the ceiling fan was all we needed at this time of year.

The Spa was great, my favourite was the 90 minute hot stone massage- pure bliss!

While you are in Vanuatu, make sure you go to the Cascades, the famous waterfalls. It was one of the highlights of the trip for us. Take reef shoes (for walking on stones) and your swimmers. If we knew how fantastic it was to swim in the cascades, we would have opted for one of the tours that allowed longer time for swimming at the end.

We ate at the resort's Aqua Restaurant many evenings, but can also recommend Chill and Mangoes in Port Vila.

We had such a wonderful holiday at Erakor Island, and we will be back again next year. Thankyou so much to everyone at the Resort for making our stay magical.

Noelle and Murray Thompson xx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsIslandHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We have just spent 4 days on Erakor Island with our daughter planning her wedding which will be held on the Island in August.

We have to say we felt so relaxed the whole time we were there even though we were busy meeting people and making wedding plans.

The staff are terrific "Let us know what you want and we can do it" ... and they can. We watched them do two weddings in 2 days and both were very different but terrific.

We visited a number of other resorts but none compared with Erakor. Yes the others may be better for young families because of the swimming pools and entertainment. They were certainly more "up market" if that is your thing.

However we were happy to return to Erakor which is peaceful, relaxing, the villas are georgous and the staff ... well what can we say. Can't wait to get back in August and hold the Erakor Olympics with Kevin 07 and the friendly, smiling staff.

Thank you Natalie, Lita, Abi, Linton, JD, Kevin 07, Nixon, Sam, Annie, Sheila (with the beautiful voice) and all the other happy staff on Erakor.

We live in paradise at Tea Gardens but Erakor Island is just perfect for a complete getaway.

We can't wait until August for the wedding and to party with you guys and our families and friends.

Room Tip: Chill out and don't sweat the small stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This island resort should definately be on the top of everyones lists to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer!
The lagoon was beautiful and safe (reef shoes should be worn as coral can be sharp). I have never seen so many starfish in my life!
The whole island is set out is perfect with paths everywhere and alot of greenery and history to be explored. The day spa is so relaxing and calming, i recommend the hot stone massage!
The staff are so helpful and friendly! Some names I wish to mention are: Blanca, Blandine, Lita, Linton, Annie, Nixon and many many more. Always asking if we were okay and if they could do anything for us and just having a chat in general. Everyone was so friendly always saying "hello, good morning, good evening and goodnight"
The food was awesome! The 1st night we were there I had the entree Calamari as a main meal and I have never EVER tasted calamari as good as theres! Sooo good I had it another night aswell!
Some Tours I suggest are: Big Blue Scuba Dive, Hideaway Scuba Dive or Snorkel, Buggy Fun Tour, Cascade Waterfalls and The Village Cultural/History Feast.
Thank-you to all the staff at Erakor Island Resort, Vanuatu for your help, friendliness and making our time there PERFECT! Special mention to Blanca, Thank You (hope your feeling better) Don't forget to add us to Facebook :)
Chantal xxx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2011

After conulting Trip Advisor we chose Erakor for an 8 night vacation on our first trip to Vanuatu. It exceeded our expectations with the clear calm lagoon water straight off our balcony for snorkelling. No need to take anything other than essential personal effects, leisure gear including reef shoes and beach towels are all available, free for guests. Vu boards are great for the non snorkellers like my partner to see the amazing underwater life. more soft live coral than I have seen elsewhere. Plenty of beach lounges for those who wish to socialise on the beach near the restaurant however we rarely felt the need to leave our private balcony and hammock for relaxation.
It would be unfair to single out any of the staff by name as all were very attentive as required. Newish young manager Lyndon is doing a great job in running the resort. Nothing seems too hard and all appears to run smoothly. Transport into Vila is easy to access with the help of the jetty staff and inexpensive.
We ate at Aqua every night and were never disappointed. Despite the number of recommended restaurants in town we did not feel the need to go anywhere else. Returning to the Island after a trip to town always made us feel special and just a little smug that we were amongst the ones who did not have to leave after a day trip to swim or dinner at the restaurant. We look forward to a return visit next year feeling sure that we will be received as old friends.

Room Tip: No 6, with the opening door in the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brungleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The service and friendliness of the staff throughout the resort could not be faulted. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was basic but very comfortable in its furnishings though the in-room spa tub had a fantastic private view over the lagoon. The rooms are serviced daily and are very clean.

The location of the resort on this small island is idyllic. There is a 24 hour,oncall, free taxi boat to the island. The food at the water's edge restaurant was delicious or you can have room service if you wish. The grounds and sandy beaches are extremely well maintained by a team of friendly, hard working gardeners.
The guests have free access to all non-motorised water activities and the coral reefs, starfish and fish which are just off the beach are easily accessible for snorkelling.

We have nothing but praise for the resort and are planning a return within the next year. Karen and Graham

Room Tip: Only 21 units on the island. Every room has views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 255068Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,487 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Property: Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing