We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Motel & Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coral Motel & Apartments
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked the two bedroom cottage months in advance. On arrival were told that a couple and their disabled son had arrived two days before and needed a room where they could all be together...so they were given the cottage.

We were given two motel rooms next to each other...teenage daughter in one room, my husband and myself in the other room. Great start to a family holiday...different rooms!

Motel itself was ok. Cheap, central, comfortable and clean...but the room switch would prevent me from ever returning. I understand the need for a room where the other family could all be together...but I wanted that too...which is why I booked it, and why I expected it.



Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IndahBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    35
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
52
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The place is good and I can experience the service staff good. The rates are good easy access to CDB and have small shed enjoy BBQ drunk kava. The place is has own cooking facility which makes u try local produce in your style cooking. The hospitality in house could seen from staffs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rizkhan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had one night stopover here before travelling to Santos for diving. This should not be ranked under Hotels etc and if was just listed as a B&B would be much better and less disappointing. Apart from that clean and tidy with the higher up apartments getting a view across the very busy and noisy main highway. Probably ok if you need to be near town and not in Vanuatu for a actuall holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alform, Owner at Coral Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Maxi H,
Thank you for your review and I will state at the outset, we are exactly as described! In all online advertising and our website! All photos & descriptions are of the Coral as it stands! We are not a resort. The Coral is budget accommodation, with very clean and comfortable apartments. The best value budget accommodation in Vanuatu.

We made a point of not responding to reviews in the main for the past 9 years. We consider reviews should remain “stand alone”. We make an exception this time because we figure you are most unfair in your review after just a one-night stop over. We take your main concern being a noisy road onboard and it can get noisy at times. This is a situation out of our control. It is Vanuatu.

As for re-inventing ourselves as B&B. We cannot profess to be that which we are not, because the Coral has full kitchen facilities in each apartment. A B&B has a single communal kitchen where the host prepares everyone’s breakfast to eat in a communal dining area at a set times. We do not have this and nor would we want to make set times for anything to disrupt guests’ sleep-in and relaxation. With their own kitchen or the many restaurants in and around Port Vila, the options are endless. B&B, I think not!

I note you have reviewed an overnight transit stopover with us yet nothing about your stay on Tanna and absolutely nothing on your accommodation in Luganville, Espiritu Santo.

Thank you again and we take onboard your comments and concerns.

Kindest Regards,
Beth,
Owner/manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room are big, cheaper and the people so nice.
It's been three times we stop by at Coral Motel, we are from Nouméa, a couple with two small children, and it's like home, better it's like a holidays.
O. Martin

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Rest assured travellers! Sometimes it is the owners who make the property, and in this case, Beth & Tony were invaluable for our first trip to Vanuatu & the South Pacific.

We stayed at the Coral Motel for one night as a layover, and we are very lucky that we did. Beth & Tony really do go the extra mile making sure their guests have their needs met. They also have an excellent knowledge of the area and travel options if you are looking to plan a trip to Vanuatu, the South Pacific, New Caledonia. We would recommend using the Coral Motel as a base.

In terms of the rooms, they were spacious with all the basic amenities. Transfers were arranged in advance for pick up from the airport – which were efficient and professional given that our arrival time was late in the night.

Thanks to Beth & Tony, a crisis was averted and our holiday was salvaged. Once again we would highly recommend Coral Motel to any inexperienced travellers. You will be in good hands.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in November 2013 for 11 nights for a holiday on Efate. Overall, we liked our studio and especially the kitchen, but in retrospect should have chosen somewhere outside Port Vila.

Things we liked:
- The studio itself was great for us in terms of its size and we were particularly glad to have place with a kitchen. Some of the utensils were pretty old, and the knives were blunt, but it had what we needed, including a toaster.
- Having wifi included in the price was essential for us. It was a bit slow, but adequate, and worked reliably after the first day when we couldn’t get access.
- We don’t like air con because it’s so bad for the environment, and were happy that the room had fans instead. These worked well.
- When we met the owners (a week into our stay as they’d been away), they said we could borrow their spices if we needed any, which was nice of them, though we didn’t need to in the end.
- During the first week a friend of the owners was running the motel for them, and she gave us lifts a few times, which was much appreciated.
- Free use of laundry facilities is really handy too.

Things we didn’t like:
- The proximity to the road: we had to keep the balcony door shut if we didn’t want to hear loud traffic and breathe in fumes from the road and the regular burning of rubbish piles.
- The long walk into town: we obviously should have done our research better, but we thought it would be about five minutes’ walk to the town centre, whereas it’s more like 20 at a good pace. This would be fine if you could actually walk along the seafront, but for most of it you have to walk along the busy main road breathing in fumes, being virtually skimmed by passing vehicles, and asked by lots of minibuses if you want a lift. It’s also unlit at night except for car headlights glaring in your face. I guess that’s why it’s called a motel – suitable for drivers, but not for people on foot...
- The mosquitoes: these got in every day when the cleaners came in as they would open the doors and windows. Although there were fly screens, these had gaps and tears in them so we always had some munchy friends awaiting our return.

Other observations:
- No hot water after the first night. This didn’t matter as the water was tepid and the weather was so hot that we wouldn’t have chosen to have cool showers anyway, but it would have been handy for washing up.
- There was no flame torch for the gas cooker, just matches that would light and stay lit one time in ten, which was tricky, especially when trying to light the oven.
- Before we arrived, they said they’d throw in the airport pickup free of charge as we were staying quite a while and because I’d thought it was included when I made the booking. However, when we got home we realised we'd been charged so that was a bit disappointing.
- We would have loved to see more eco-friendly features and policies here, e.g. not replacing the towels every day, a recycling bin, biodegradable washing up liquid, etc, but I guess some of these things might not be available in Vanuatu.

Tips for future guests:
- If you have an Australian bank account, it’s worth being aware that you can pay by making a direct bank transfer to the owners’ Australian bank account, thereby avoiding substantial credit card fees on top of the room charge. This is stated in the guest handbook but is not pointed out when you’re making the payment, and unfortunately we didn’t see the note in the handbook in time.
- There are no toiletries provided other than soap. We prefer to use our own eco-friendly stuff anyway but it’s worth being aware so you can bring your own shampoo etc.
- If you like smoothies and are on a budget, bring a hand-held blender to blend delicious, cheap, fresh, local fruit from the market. We wished we’d brought ours, and the plugs here are the same as in Australia, so it would have been easy!
- If you haven't been to Efate before and are visiting for a holiday, it's worth being aware that Port Vila itself has no swimming beaches, no nice walks, no snorkelling, no nice bars or resorts with outdoor pools, and no clean air. So if you’re going to Vanuatu for these things, it’s better to find somewhere peaceful and beautiful within walking distance of a lovely beach. You can always get in and out of central Port Vila by bus when you have to stock up on food or feel like splashing out on a restaurant. This is definitely what we should have done in retrospect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beth and Tony really made me feel at home and part of the Coral Motel & Apartments family. Very kind, helpful and friendly, even the puppies! Long time discount was very much appreciated and the kindness went above and beyond. I would stay there again because they were so wonderful. Thank you - Hong Kong Cathy XOX

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#43 of 48 in Port Vila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#40 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Motel & Apartments

Property: Coral Motel & Apartments
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST KNOWN, BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION IN VANUATU. Very large, spotlessly clean, SELF CATERING studio apartments (twin share) for your cost effective holiday/business trip. Ten studio apartments, all with their own kitchens including full size stove & fridge/freezer, direct dial phones, complimentary wireless internet & satellite TV. Extra beds added on request. WE NOW OFFER HUGELY DISCOUNTED, QUALITY CAR RENTALS FOR OUR GUESTS. Friendly Australian owners are on hand to help at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Motel Port Vila
Coral Hotel Port Vila
Coral Motel & Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing