We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chantilly's on the Bay
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay!”
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Me and my partner went to Vanuatu to meet up with some friends but before heading to the villages we stayed at a few hotels in and around Vila. Chantilly's was by far the most impressive. We also stayed at Hideaway Island, Beachcomber lodge and Crystal Blue Lagoon Resort.
We loved everything about the Chantillys
- The staff were so friendly and there was nothing they would not do for you
- The rooms, lobby was always so clean
- The location was great! 5 minutes walk to town meant we could do some shopping, quickly drop it back at the hotel so we didn't have to lug it around then head back out again
- Beautiful views, especially of the sunset at night
- The rooms have everything you need and more

It is a bit pricey but so worth it!

The only down point I would say was Tillys the restaurant. It has such a good reputation and we were very much looking forward to dining there. So it was a bit of a disapointment. The meals were a overpriced for what you got (comparing them to what you can get alsewhere in Port Vila) and not as good as we expected for such a well known restaurant but the service was amazing.

Looking back at the hotel from the jetty, it is starting to look a little run down but that doesn't take anything away from the quality of the hotel.

If we were to go back we would difenately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosieej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    68
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
73
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Our last four nights out of 18 days on Vanuatu were spent at Chantilly's on the Bay and it was the best place! Everyday, at all times of the day, housekeeping people were sweeping, mopping, cleaning furniture and smiling. During some rainy periods when muddy footprints were unavoidable, housekeeping was always there to mop the entry way. It was the cleanest floor in all of Port Vila.

In the mornings my wife and I would clean and straighten our room up before we went diving, just to help housekeeping. Every afternoon when we returned the room was cleaner, floors mopped and the place actually shined. What a good feeling to know your room has been cleaned so thoroughly.

The rooms were very very comfortable! The small kitchen area was a treat. The outside balcony was an awesome place to sit and enjoy coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. A beautiful view overlooking the water.

The staff behind the lobby desk were the friendliest and most helpful people I have experienced in a long time. They would always ask if everything was okay and do we need anything. Perfect. They too had the genuine smile that showed they loved their work.

Would we recommend this place? ABSOLUTELY!!!! We're just trying to figure out when we can return!!

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff & the cleanliness of everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fijijakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Great room, great views, good food, wonderful staff, what more could you need. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, recommend to all travellers to Vila.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeezneezNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville N.Z.
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We had dinner at Tillys on a recent visit to Vanuatu and would thoroughly recommend it for classy food, with plenty of choice, cooked to perfection, and excellent service. It has a childrens menu as well as a good range of Tapas.
They have a sample menu on their website.

The location, overlooking Fatumaru Bay, is also very good, especially if you are on the balcony outside.

This would be a good restaurant for pre or post wedding celebrations or a romantic dinner for two.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank miggyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

While we were in Port Villa at the end of March we decided to head into town from Breaka's Resort where we were staying to sample the much-celebrated Tilly's restaurant (or Chantilly's on the Bay), just for a change. We were looking forward to a gourmet meal as the menu promised much. However, we were very disappointed and left wondering how this restaurant had gained such a reputation. To be fair I will start with the good points. The location is excellent especially if you get a table on the balcony. The service was prompt and friendly. The food though.....the kindest thing I can say is that the chef must have been off that night. The entree we ordered was a prawn dish for two. Eight very little prawns arrived with a choice of three dips. One of the dips was just olive oil and it was hard to discern what the others were. We expected much more for the vt1,850 (around $23 dollars) they charged ($2.90 per prawn!!!) For main course I ordered Eye fillet with a béarnaise sauce and rosti potato garnish. My wife ordered Fillet of Veal with pan-fried potatoes and green beans. When our meals arrived, the I got veal on the beef garnish with the beef sauce and my wife got the beef on the veal garnish with the veal sauce. When we pointed this out to the waiter, he insisted that they were both beef and a mistake had not been made, despite our efforts to point out the difference between beef and veal. To avoid a scene we just swapped plates. The quality of both meals was poor to say the least, lacking in flavour and poorly cooked garnishes. For dessert, I had the Mini baked Chocolate pot, which was a mini chocolate sponge with caramel coated orange slices. The sponge was overcooked and took some chewing to eat.
I'm sure that Tilly's has earned its reputation as one of the best restaurants in Port Villa; however, our experience was very poor. I know that any restaurant can have a bad day but I could not in good faith recommend this restaurant to a friend. I felt it was over-priced for what was on offer and just simply failed to deliver. There are a number of better options available in Port Villa.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality and Value for money
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rambler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 16, 2005

My friend, Diana and I have just returned to Australia after spending 9 days in Port Vila. This was the first time either of us had been to Vanuatu. We stayed at Chantilly's on the Bay and had a very relaxing time. The management and staff were a delight and the hospitality shown to us was exceptional.
The Hotel is two years old and decorated in pastels colours with tasteful paintings of local views decorating the rooms. The rooms have kitchen facilities, microwave, toaster, two burner hot plates and all the necessary crockery and cutlery for cooking meals and snacks should you want to. The guests laundry, with a modest fee, (tokens purchased from reception) for use of machine and dryer was very useful. The reception area has a large range of tour books, maps and information for guests. The helpful front desk staff are happy to assist with bookings.
Situated 5-7 mins from the airport and a 5 min slow paced walk from down town Port Vila Chantilly's is close to everything. We swam, ate and relaxed in the surrounds of the Hotel on the days we were not on tours. The view of the bay by day and the sunset in the evening meant we could see it all from the balcony of our room. I would recommend Chantilly's not only for it's location but for the staff and managers (Owen and Tish) for whom nothing is too much trouble.
Thank you one and all.

Diana and Helen, Australia

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckalnd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2005

It is not often you return from a holiday and can't think of one thing you could have done better - the only improvement we could have made was to stay longer!!
wonderful weather - everyday we woke to beautiful blue water, blue sky and smiling faces- the staff were delightful, the food superb and the setting to die for. Everyday we strolled into town, or laid by the pool. The managers tish and owen mete orgnasied all sorts of extras.. the whole experience was perfect I could not reccomend it higer. The highlight was the romanitc dinner on the end of the wharf in the sunset...

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
1.1 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#40 of 47 in Port Vila
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantilly's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's on the Bay

Property: Chantilly's on the Bay
Address: Lini Highway | Fatumaru Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantilly's on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located overlooking the bay. All the rooms have spectacular views across the harbour. Only a 5 minute walk to town and a 15 minute drive to the international airport. Also available: tour desk, beauty spa, outside pool, guest laundry, Tilly's restaurant, room service, air conditioning and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Chantilly's on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chantilly`s On The Bay Hotel Port Vila
Chantilly's On The Bay Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing