We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
106
82
28
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
82
28
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant downstairs fatumaru bay one bedroom apartment road noise no lift top floor small kitchen short stroll free wifi nice pool rooms are spacious town centre cruise ship fantastic location a great place to stay breakfast was included cyclone pam
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 234 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed for one night only because in room 10 the bed was that hard it gave us backache. The sofa nearly fell through to the floor. Self contained apartment with no table & chairs. What more can you say really. $1644 for 7 nights with inferior amenities is way too much money. A complaint was made to the manager, Rob, who was very understanding. No other beds or vacant rooms available to us. Gee we thought how can you spend the next 6 nights in a torture bed. Alternate accommodation was found for us at the Holiday Inn resort over the other side. We chose Chantillys because it was on the main road now we were looking at taxi rides in and out at a cost of $12 round trip every time we wanted to go in. I picked Chantillys on tripadvisor recommendations but I bet they did not stay on the unrenovated top floor. Beware of your booking

Room tip: Beware room 10
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustLangwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We split our visit to Vanuatu between three nights at Breaka's and three nights at Chantilly's - two totally different styles of accommodation and both equally good in their different ways. Chantilly's is a well located and stylish hotel with a nice pool and jetty to stroll out over the bay. The terrace outside the restaurant is nicely cooled by the breezes and a good place to watch the ships come and go from the harbour. The restaurant is amoung the best in Port Vila (read our separate review).
Chantilly's would be ideal if you want a spacious room and to be able to do some cooking for yourself. The kitchen is well equipped and doing your own cooking would be a great way to make the most of the delicious local products from the markets and road-side stalls.
Our only complaint was that the room (No 1) was rather noisy being close to the aircon/compressors/kitchen or something like this. Sitting on the balcony was not exactly peaceful and opening the door to get out there was a bit of a challenge!
It was quieter at night though and our sleep was fine. I would recommend trying to get one of the central and perhaps higher level rooms, which look across the pool area and should be quieter.

Room tip: Avoid room 1. Try for a central and perhaps middle level one for a quieter location and better view.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A small team from NZ were conducting business in Port Vila for five days and stayed at Chantillys. We found that the service was first class and every request for assistance was action-ed immediately and with courtesy. No request seemed too difficult. Rob and Sarah manage the facility and were outstanding in support. The proximity to the CBD made access to all eateries and shopping a joy. Rooms were superb, as was the restaurant and bar. A very professionally run hotel with courteosu and helpful staff.

Room tip: Frankly, all the rooms appear to be equally good as they are sea facing and have superb views
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We got a good deal on hotelclub for 8 nights here in a standard studio room. We found it clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. It's in an excellent location. Staff are friendly and helpful, the receptionists were always happy to answer questions and book tours etc for us. The kitchenette in the room was well equipped with a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, 2 ceramic hotplates, utensils, small frypan, pot, plates, etc. The room was a good size with a beautiful view from the third floor. We had one of the quietest rooms (we requested this) but there is still a little bit of road noise most of the time. Air conditioning was good. Some reviews say the beds are no good, but our bed was excellent - very comfortable. No mosquitoes, even though we were there in early Feb. The famous restaurant was a bit out of our price range, but they still brought us glasses of iced water when we sat in the lobby using the free wifi! Moorings is right next door with a more affordable (but not as classy) restaurant. We loved the pool which was a good size, clean and deep, and also enjoyed the jetty. We were considering other accommodation options (Moorings or Fatumaru) but we were glad we chose here, as it's much closer to town than Fatumaru and Moorings lacked the kitchen facilities we wanted. This is a great place to stay.

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room near the centre of the building.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyMcWayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were on the move and needed a night in town before we flew to Tanna to see the volcano - which was really amazing, by the way. We'd had a meal here when we visited "town" whilst we were staying a long way up the road, and thought it would be worth a try on the commuting leg of our holidays ... immaculate spacious room, aircon, view across the lagoon - perfect weather, genial staff - what are the folks on to make them so happy - I want some too!!! - and only a short stroll to the centre (being the Anchorage - iconic in its own way) The shopping in Port Vila is a tad disappointing - it would seem next to nothing is locally made, and the town is awash with stores flogging rip-off garbage made in China.
I don't know that I would stay at Chantilly's for too many consecutive nights however - most of Vanuatu is very beautiful and whilst this is a very well maintained and immaculate hotel, it would be a pity not to take in the sights at other locations. Good food and excellent coffee ... and they were happy for us to leave our luggage when we went across to Tanna and return the next night.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmother62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews