We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice accommodation for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chantilly's on the Bay
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best choice accommodation for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We got a good deal on hotelclub for 8 nights here in a standard studio room. We found it clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. It's in an excellent location. Staff are friendly and helpful, the receptionists were always happy to answer questions and book tours etc for us. The kitchenette in the room was well equipped with a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, 2 ceramic hotplates, utensils, small frypan, pot, plates, etc. The room was a good size with a beautiful view from the third floor. We had one of the quietest rooms (we requested this) but there is still a little bit of road noise most of the time. Air conditioning was good. Some reviews say the beds are no good, but our bed was excellent - very comfortable. No mosquitoes, even though we were there in early Feb. The famous restaurant was a bit out of our price range, but they still brought us glasses of iced water when we sat in the lobby using the free wifi! Moorings is right next door with a more affordable (but not as classy) restaurant. We loved the pool which was a good size, clean and deep, and also enjoyed the jetty. We were considering other accommodation options (Moorings or Fatumaru) but we were glad we chose here, as it's much closer to town than Fatumaru and Moorings lacked the kitchen facilities we wanted. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the centre of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyMcWayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
72
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were on the move and needed a night in town before we flew to Tanna to see the volcano - which was really amazing, by the way. We'd had a meal here when we visited "town" whilst we were staying a long way up the road, and thought it would be worth a try on the commuting leg of our holidays ... immaculate spacious room, aircon, view across the lagoon - perfect weather, genial staff - what are the folks on to make them so happy - I want some too!!! - and only a short stroll to the centre (being the Anchorage - iconic in its own way) The shopping in Port Vila is a tad disappointing - it would seem next to nothing is locally made, and the town is awash with stores flogging rip-off garbage made in China.
I don't know that I would stay at Chantilly's for too many consecutive nights however - most of Vanuatu is very beautiful and whilst this is a very well maintained and immaculate hotel, it would be a pity not to take in the sights at other locations. Good food and excellent coffee ... and they were happy for us to leave our luggage when we went across to Tanna and return the next night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denmother62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Frequent visitor to Port Vila and our first stay at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the level of accomodation, comfort and overall ambience of this lovely spot. Proximity to town is great and the staff were pleasant - lovely restaurant and the pool is nice although why you would bother with a pool when you can drop in off the end of the private jetty I don't really know!

Room Tip: Room 14 is lovely - but the views from all of the rooms have to great as they all have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryandalToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We chose Chantilly's for location & restaurant reviews:- we weren't disappointed in either!!!
A very clean hotel, with great staff & THE most amazing restaurant "Tilly's". We stayed for a week & every meal there was perfect. And we are hard markers....
The hotel was very close to the Port, with lots of options available for shopping & entertainment (none of that stuck in a resort stuff - grrrr).
Recommend Chantilly's any time & we'll be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I know quite a few locals in Vila, and Chantilly’s is a well-respected hotel in the area. The suite that I stayed in here was spotlessly clean and bright with nice views over the lagoon from the bedroom and lounge. The en-suite was a little dark, with dim lighting and only a small high level window vent with a gap just big enough to allow young geckos through (at least this keeps the insects at bay!)

Not the best location if you are expecting a tropical island with a beach on your doorstep; but the pool is refreshing, and a stroll along the small jetty will keep you entertained if you are keen on seeing some aquatic life.

You should eat at the restaurant, the food was excellent, I am sure you will not be disappointed with the quality – both at dinner (great seafood and steak) and at breakfast, where the property boasts the best breakfast in town ( after eating there I would not dispute the claim, certainly not the “in town” bit anyway!)

If you are on a honeymoon style holiday, then you may find something more romantic on the island (see other reviews), after all Port Vila is a Port town; but for a short break, on business, transit on a RTW trip or when connecting to/from the outlying islands then Chantilly’s is a good quality and value option.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlySailSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed at Chantillys 17-22 July with my wife, selected due to reviews. Can't fault the location with gorgeous views from room's balcony and restuarant. Was in Room 4, upstairs with 1 bedroom plus a lounge and kitchen. Our balcony was next to the roof of the restuarant which extended out and blocked some of the view plus it was over a large table by the pool that guests/diners sometimes ate and drank on. Not much fun drinking champagne trying to watch sunset and enjoy the sight, unable to ignore loud stories from below. They could have at least been interesting. Also the bedroom was very close to the laundry area where cleaners keep their tools and they can be noisy in the mornings. Breakfast was very nice at Tillys, don't hold your breath though following your order. Only other meal was lunch (see other review). Wife bought a top from the clothes shop below and also had a massage at the salon below that was "quite good". In summary for the cost, there is better valued accomodation available in PV. Really only endearing feature of the place, apart from maybe the breakfast, is the location. If that's what you want, go for it. Perhaps a better room would have made for better reading but is expensive, irregardless.

Room Tip: Upstairs, further down from the restuarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

The best place we stayed in Vila, clean well kept rooms, pleasant staff and a good restaurant and bar area with pleasant water views. A nice pool area but its a family hotel so can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badddriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantilly's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly's on the Bay

Property: Chantilly's on the Bay
Address: Lini Highway | Fatumaru Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantilly's on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located overlooking the bay. All the rooms have spectacular views across the harbour. Only a 5 minute walk to town and a 15 minute drive to the international airport. Also available: tour desk, beauty spa, outside pool, guest laundry, Tilly's restaurant, room service, air conditioning and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chantilly's on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chantilly`s On The Bay Hotel Port Vila
Chantilly's On The Bay Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing