We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My partner and I spent 4 days in this hotel in August in these are our comments:
- Don’t stay in the standard room. They require urgent renovations so it is quite depressing and it will ruin your holiday
- Be aware that the water in the pool is very cold this time of the year so even though the pool is very beautiful it is almost impossible to use it.
- Forget about the spa pool because the kids use it as if it was their pool since the temperature in the kid’s pool is too cold…
- Best places to eat are the Waterfront restaurant in town (VAT$700 cab from the hotel) or the Wild Ginger restaurant from the hotel (not cheap but it worth it).
- Breakfast buffet is OK but the annoying part is to have to ask 20 times for someone to bring you coffee…
- If you get annoyed with the sound of kids screaming this is going to be a problem for you because there is plenty of kid’s noise since it seems that this hotel is aimed for kids. This didn’t bother us but some of the other couples were really annoyed.
In summary, if you don’t have kids you should consider another hotel but since the options of good place to stay in Vanuatu are quite limited maybe you should consider going to Fiji instead. I personally prefer Fiji as a destination for adults. If you have kids, they will have a great time in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makenote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have just returned (yesterday) from Le Lagon - and can honestly say it was far better than I had ever expected. After reading some negative reviews on Trip Advisor i was a little worried about our choice in resort. Upon arriving it was evident that this place was special. We were met with a string band, beautiful fruit juice and the most friendly people on this planet. From there it just got better !! We booked a Superior Lagoon View room and had a partial view of the beautiful Erakor Lagoon. We had joined the Warwick Club prior to leaving and was told by staff that as soon as a room was available they would upgrade us. On day 2 we were moved to a Lagoon View Bungalow - WOW - fantastic room and even better view - we were directly opposite the water sports activities and very close to the resort pool. I would strongly recommend you join the Warwick club prior to arriving - you will also get 10% off food and drinks and a lovely arrival pack. We had breakfast included each day - and the buffet was more than adequate with a range of cereal, bacon, sausage, hash browns, cooked to order eggs and ommelette, a wide range of fruit and yoghurt, tea, coffee and juices (to name a few). Originally we thought we would eat out for lunch and dinners - but the resort was reasonably priced (remember you are on holidays and things will always be more expensive than your local - if you don't plan for this than stay home) and the quality of food was impressive - we ended up eating most of our meals within the resort - having a different themed buffet each night and a wide range to choose from from the BBQ Lunch Menu - beside the pool. We dined at Wild Ginder on 2 nights and all I can say is WOW - amazing food/service and experience. Would strongly advise you to try this at least 1 night. The facilities were also great - excellent pools with swim up bar, golf course, watersports, snorkelling off the lagoon, glass bottom boat, a range of organised activities for both kids and adults daily - the list could go on. The staff at this resort would be the happiest friendliest people I have ever met - the quality of service was very pleasing. Overall we loved this resort and are planning our next trip to Le Lagon - next time we will look into the all inclusive meals package as we would be happy to dine at the resort again. One thing I will say is don't take some of these negative review too seriously - it seems to me (and was evident over there) that the people who complain - should have stayed at home and continued with their super fast paced world of living - if your expecting really fast service in really fast paced environment - then don't go !! Vanuatu in general is a very slow relaxed place - so ENJOY it - you are on holidays - kick back relax and don't panic - your meal or drink may take a minute or 2 longer than it would back home - but your in paradise and it will arrive with the biggest frindliest smile. If your expecting really cheap food and shopping - your wrong - but in saying that nothing is overpriced when you compare it to home - and if you budget enough spending money you will come home with change. Another must do is the Off Road Adevnture Buggies and the Hideaway Island Tour - fun ! fun ! fun !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickandriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had a fantastic time staying at Le Lagon and would really recommend this hotel for anyone traveling with young children.Please take advantage of the babysitting service...At 3.00 ish per hour it is a godsend! If you do book a baby sitter ask for Janet Nasawi she was fabulous. She was kind and gentle with our 3 1/2 year old and our 17 month old. We booked the garden superior room which was ample for space and room

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Evbofeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

A group of us stayed in Le Lagon for 10 nights in August 2009. We had taken the all inclusive package i.e. all meals (B, L, D) and drinks (includes local beer (Tusker), wine, bottom shelf spirits and soft drinks.

The good
The resort - its located in a lovely setting and the rooms are not on top of one another so you feel well spaced out. It is just far enough out of town but not too far that it costs a lot to get in if you want to. The pool area was lovely and had plenty of lounge chairs for you to laze around in.
The room - the one we had was good. It was clean, the view looked out over a lagoon.
The food - breakfast was your usual buffet of bacon, eggs, pancakes, cereal, yoghurt, fruit et al. It was fine but they would sometimes run out of things and not replace them. Lunch was usually ordered at the pool bar grill - sometimes it was cold by the time you got it but it was still OK. Dinner was themed nights i.e. sunday roast, oriental, italian etc - most were fine but whatever you do avoid the Melanesian night - awful unless you like coconut and bananas! Would definitely recommend spending the extra 1000 Vatu (about AUD12) if you are on the all inclusive package to try the Wild Ginger restaurant which is next door and you get three great al a carte courses or you could have tepanyaki for a main as well.

The bad
The service - It was often easier for us to take our drinks from the pool bar into the dining hall as it was next to impossible to get a drink in any sort of decent time frame once in there. Your water glass was filled up (usually) upon getting in there but after that you had to ask 3-4 times before you could get any more. The same goes for tea and coffee for breakfast and dinner. Rather than have a tea and coffee station set up they would deliver a hot water jug (for tea) or a coffee jug and maybe you might get milk (often in a cup and not a pouring jug), then you might get the tea bags, then maybe the sugar (don't ask for a teaspoon as it is way to hard). Sometimes the process would take 30 minutes to get the whole ensemble before you could actually enjoy the tea (for me) and sometimes the water would be cold by then.
Housekeeping - both of us use face washers/ flannel's (whatever you want to call it) and housekeeping would take them away when the room was done up and not replace them. Each day we would have to ring housekeeping to get them to deliver more to us.
The charges - Things you would think that would be included in the all inclusive package i.e. tea and coffee were not included if you wanted to have it outside of B, L, D would be charged. Upon arrival we had just missed lunch and were starving but the meal we had from the pool bar had to be charged. I can understand the latter but not necessarily the former - especially when you can drink alcohol like a fish and not be charged. For those who don't drink a great deal they would find this annoying.

The ugly
The concierge - Although we had a generally good experience with most of the concierge's at the hotel there was one who would do everything not to help you and this was at the beginning of our trip when we were trying to sort out what we wanted to do. She was that bad we avoided having anything to do with her after that. For the face of the hotel she (don't remember the name) should not be in that role and she would do whatever was possible to get rid of you and wouldn't be of any help whatsoever. In the end I think we missed out on a few things because our 'planning' day didn't eventuate because she was on desk.

Maintenance - we had four nights with lukewarm hot water. We complained to management after two nights and was assured it was fixed but it never was (this was the last four nights as well).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Always things to do in this resort.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
I spent 3 hours snorkelling around the resort on my first day!! Absolutely beautiful. Starfish GALORE!!
Great resort for kids, saw kids club everyday always having the best time.
Very romantic resort.
Locals always around and great to see them fishing and going on with daily life.
Staff are extremely friendly.
Happiest place on earth :)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank postcardsfrompeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The only good thing to say about this place is that the grounds and location are lovely. It is in the midst of a refurishment program which is desperately needed. This is no 4/5 star resort think 3 stars on a good day. When we arrived, the resort was overbooked so we were given a superior room and not the higher rated Lagoon Bungalow which we booked.( This was initally denied by the hotel, and they only conceded that they had fobbed us off when we showed them evidence of what the different rooms were supposed to be) .The next day we were transferred to the Lagoon Bungalow, however it was one which had not been renovated and it was flithy. A complaint to housekeeping failed to rectify the situation. We went to the supermarket and purchased and array of cleaning products and air fresheners. After one hour cleaning the bungalow, putting the harpic in the loo, the pine-o-clean everywhere, and wiping all floors and surfaces, and activating all the air fresheners it was fine. Remember: Make sure you get a renovated room as the old rooms are simply foul.
Re: breakfast - the worst hotel breakfast ever. Surprising shortage of fresh fruit and juice. Most things are packaged and processed and the choice of fresh fruit was limited and what was there was of very poor quality.
Still the place could be lovely if all the rooms were renovated, the staff received more training, and the standard of the food is improved. But for now its
very expensive for what you actually get.
Le Lagon simply does not rate against Asian beach resorts - the value for money is just not there.
Tip: if you must go to Vanuatu stay at Eratap Beach Resort not a Le Lagon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We loved everything about this place. All the pools are in one area so it's easy to keep an eye on the kids, the lagoon is beautiful, rooms are great, wild ginger restaurant was lovely and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
560 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $162 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing