We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I would say this is mainly a family resort, but I think it has something for everyone. They have a great Japanese/Modern resteraunt which we went to most nights as opposed to the buffet. Breakfasts have plenty of variety, but lunch by the pool was dissapointing. A taxi to town cost us about 200 vatu one way but you can take a local bus back to the hotel for a ridiculously small amount. All in all, a very comfortable resort, with good facilities and very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,322 - 1,328 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2009

We decided to travel to Vanuatu to just veg out and relax. We spent 5 days in La Lagon and could have stayed another week. We had booked a superior room but was upgraded to a bungalow right on the lagoon. Room 314. We had a nice room, however, the bathroom was very dated and in need of an upgrade but otherwise clean. It was so relaxing looking out to the lagoon each morning from our room or verandah. All the bungalows were spread out so you had alot of privacy. We only had our breakfast included but there was so much choice that we found we didn't need to eat lunch on some days. The buffet dinners were excellent. The buses into town are plenty and cost 150v per person. Taxi's would try and charge 500 but we would usually negotiate down to 300 or 400v. There are some lovely places in town to eat. The local people are very friendly and one thing that we noticed is that there are no beggars, people trying to rip you off with cheap watches, etc like other Asian and European countries. We have friends living in Port Vila and stayed with them for 3 nights. They had mentioned that we should have stayed in other resorts that don't cater for children under 15, but La Lagon is very spacious and plenty of room in the pool and grounds for everyone. We enjoyed our stay and will definately stay there again and recommend to our friends. The staff were always friendly. The grounds are very well maintained and plenty to do if you have a family.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuscanyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

An awesome overall resort with excellent facilities and amenities that cater for all located in one of the best in Port Vila by far right on the Erakor Lagoon at it's widest point with large sweeping lagoon veiws across to Erakor Island as well as out to the ocean. Better than some in town as they have busy traffic, activity and noise surrounding them.
My wife and I and our two preschool children aged 23 months and 4 years old stayed in a Lagoon Superior room 103 facing straight on to the lagoon for 7 nights. This room and others like it were very well and cleverly set out with a great floor plan layout, facilities and furniture including a queen bed and two singles with one in a seperate side room which is great for children as their own space. They were also private and felt like you were in your own paradise setting yet still only a short walk to all the main resort resturants, bars, water sports, reception and the 3 main awesome swimming pools. The resort grounds were set out very well with good spacing between rooms and facilities and nice areas to walk and or play. The swimming pools, 3 main large ones, are the best I have ever encountered at hotels or resorts and cater for all from young toddlers, fun playfull young at heart to those that just want to relax and enjoy quite areas. The water sports was also excellent with a great choice of sit on kayaks, canadian canoes (could fit our whole family), surfskis, sailing catermerans and snorkling gear which all lead to lots of fun. There is also a free 24hr water ferry to Erakor Is from a jetty at the edge of the resort, this is a great place to go for a meal and or dusk trip to see the sunset. I had read the reviews prior to booking our holiday at Le Lagon Resort and some raised security as a concern. We had no problems and found the in room safe's and presence of friendly resort staff including roaming security patrols to be excellent. There also was construction work going on on the far east side of the resort upgrading the older standard room block however this did not seem to casue any distrubance. The only thing that we did find average was the high cost of the themed dinner buffets 3000-4500 vatu in the main restaurant, however there were other options including the pool grill, the restaurant on across on the island and the local chinese restaurant opposit the main entry gate. We had the package that only included the full breakfast which was more than plentiful as there were lots of places to eat around Port Vila and when we were out and about exploring. We found the Kids Club to be the best way to book trips and tours for us a parent to attend as they had contracted agreements that were far cheaper than if you were to book normally, we encountered many that did the same. Also it was far cheaper to get together with others that wanted to go see the same sites etc and hire a bus (buses are all 10-11 seater vans) for the day (approx 6000-8000 vatu all up) than through the tour companies or by taxi. It is also easy to get into town for shopping (good duty free) as well as around to lots of amazing places to visit. The local night life and casinos are fun to visit and experience.
Re the kids club the only other thing is to check if they have extra special activities planed for the children if there is any additonal cost such as hair braiding otherwise you could be asked to pay when collecting your kids at the end of the day, apart from that another excellent service.
If you join as a Warwick Club member at www.warwickfiji.com before you go you also receive room upgrades when available, members t-shirt, turn down service, bubbly and fruit platter and you get a 10% discount on Food & Beverage when paying bill on checking out so it;s worth it to join.
We would highly recommend this resort and are planning to go back again sometime soon, we have previously holidayed in Rarotonga (twice), Samoa, Fiji, Dunk Is, Cairns and the Gold Coast and rate Le Lagon Resort as one of the best so far. We also meet other guests and families that we had a great time with as all were friendly. What a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2MEKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Le Lagon for three nights in April, and could have easily stayed for weeks.

A staff member from the hotel was on our transfer bus from the airport to take our luggage. When we arrived at the resort there was a little band playing to welcome us and we were met by the resort chief and a fruit cocktail.

Check-in was smooth and after about 10-15 minutes the chief took us to our room via a short tour of the grounds. We had booked a standard room, but were very excited to see that we'd been taken to a lagoon bungalow a few steps from the water's edge. Perhaps this was because I'd joined the Warwick club online before travelling. They also brought us a bottle of champagne, a fruit platter and t-shirts on our second day.

Our room was beautiful. It had two double beds, a sitting area/balcony out front, and a huge bathroom with shower, separate bath and separate toilet. It was also impeccably clean. The room was serviced in the mornings, and the bed was turned down (with 2 cute little biscuits) in the evening.

We had booked the all-inclusive package which I highly recommend. We loved not having to worry about money, knowing that we'd pre-paid. It included house white/red/sparkling wine, local beers, and a good selection of local spirits. The only thing it didn't include was cocktails, but there were daily cocktail specials if you wanted.

The breakfasts were superb. Huge choice on the buffet - hot and cold, and a lovely setting in their open-air restaurant. Loved the pancakes and delicious fruit.

Lunch was outside at the pool grill. This was excellent - some selections included satay chicken wrap, steak and salad, prawns and rice and salad, burgers...

Normally I am not a big fan of buffet dinners, so we were planning on trying the Aisan fusion restaurant, Wild Ginger, at least once. If on the all-inclusive package, you just pay a small surcharge. However we ate at the buffet restaurant on the first night as they were having a roast night, and we were instantly hooked, and ate there every night! They had an oriental night and an italian night, and the food was great. Excellent selection of meals, including some cooked live for you on a cooking 'station', and a great atmosphere with live music every evening.

The resort grounds are stunning, with beautiful gardens and lovely outlook over the lagoon. The pools are great, and the swim-up bar was a big highlight, and we met some nice people there!

The resort staff and wonderfully friendly and always greet you with a big smile and hello. Australian hotels have a lot to learn about service from these people.

The resort has a great atmosphere. There were lots of families there (kids would absolutely love it) and couples too.

There are daily free activities organised by the resort. We went to the bonfire singalong and storytelling night and the quiz night. We also had a beach massage each (very reasonable price) and headed over to Erakor Island on the free ferry to do some snorkelling.

While there we also went to the Cascade Falls (must-do), Hideaway Island (amazing snorkelling) and did a school and village tour.

The resort is in a great location about 5 minutes from town. I am glad we weren't in town, because it was much calmer where we were, yet easy to get into town (bus or taxi) when we wanted to.

Overall, it was a wonderfully relaxing stay, with good food, drinks, and lovely people. I highly reccomend this resort, and next time we will stay a lot longer!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoebeJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We have just returned (yesterday) from an 8 night stay at Le Lagon and loved the place. We stayed in the Garden Superior Rooms overlooking the golf course and it was great for 2 adults and 2 children as one has a separate room. You could enjoy many activities and we liked the morning walks which showed you a bit of the local life if you woke up by 7.30am.
The breakfasts are great - especially the cooked-to-order omelettes. Lunch by the pool offered good variety and fast service and the buffets were all nice. We tried Wild Ginger on the last night and it was well worth the surcharge. The pool is wonderful, especially leaning on the Cascade Wall looking out over Erakor Lagoon. The pool bar was always playing music and there were some memories from the past (even the Bay City Rollers!)
The glass bottomed wave skis were good, as were the kayaks and catamarans and you can challenge the Watersports boys to a game of giant chess (if you don't mind losing!)
We took the All Inclusive package which is a must for those who enjoy a quiet drink or two and the House Champagne is included and a local Butterscotch Schnapps if you really like a "sweet drink". Even the kids loved being able to grab a fire engine several times a day from the pool bar. We joined the Warwick club and received welcome drinks and free t-shirts.
Outside of the resort, we enjoyed the Mele Cascades and Waterfall, Turtle Bay Resort, Hideaway Island and the Off Road Adventure buggies.
You don't need much money for shopping as it is very basic but you can arrange cheap, duty free alcohol for pickup at the airport on your departure.
We often saw sun, clouds and rain several times in one day but you were never too cold for a swim and my son loved swimming in the pool if there was a downpour.
Staff were very friendly - overall a wonderful, relaxing holiday that I would be happy to have every year!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenOzTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Le Lagon is everything you want in a big resort, it has all the activities, 12 hole golf course, croquet field, gym, volleyball, water sports, 2 big restaurants, a fancy 2 tier pool - with swim up bars, another big pool, with a spa pool. Activities are organised each day and advertised in a newsletter delivered to your door the night before. The resort has a kids club to lock them up for the day whilst you enjoy yourself elsewhere. They have 2 restaurants on site, one that serves buffet breakfast & dinner with a la carte lunch, and the other is a la carte lunch & dinner. the buffet breakfast is stock standard, the buffet dinner is just like a smorgy's or sizzler (in other words HORRIBLE!), they do different themes each night, but catering for the mass amount of Kiwis and Aussies, the food is bland and boring. The a la carte restaurant is Oriental, and food is quite good, although expensive. the Coconut Battered Shrimp is fantastic!!! Everything is quite pricey at the resort, but on holidays, it is only money. For a good drink see the lovely ni-vanuatu guy (Steven) at the pool bar and ask him to make u something special, he always obliges. They have a live poolside band every Sunday afternoon, unfortunately the rest of the time the same CD plays over and over again, probably has 20 tracks of some of the cheesiest western songs around, it isn't long before you are reaching for a hammer.
The neighbouring resort (Erakor Island Resort) is right across Le Lagon, and u can jump on the free ferry service over there to enjoy the great beaches on the island, or you can just get a catarmaran or kayak and go over there yourself, well worth it for the great beach.
The hotel, strangely, does not have its own bus transfer, so you must cab it there and back, unless you can organise a local bus to come get u, stops are located just outside the main gates, but the main gates are a little off the front of the resort as there is a 12 hole golf course at the main entrance. Luckily on the way back the buses will drop u at the front door of the resort. Taxis to and from the airport are 2,700 Vatu, a little pricier than the 300 vatu bus ride!
We stayed in the Island suite, which was absolutely amazing, over the water vilas, with a deck in the middle of the ocean, great place to sunbathe privately. These rooms are very expensive, but, if going with someone special, it is well worth it. Ask for Island suite nbr 2 or 3, they have the far better water views. We booked 1 night on the Island suite and the 2nd night in standard room, we were at another hotel for the rest of our stay, nicely, they allowed us to stay in the Island suite for 2 nights, for no additional charge. BTW, Room Service is horrible, best get up and go to the oriental restaurant. The room had alot of ants in it, found a trail near the bin and another in the bathroom, however we had this at the other hotel also, and is a common thing in Tropical locations. The rooms are equipped with cans of Mortein to assist u remove the nasties.

There's a gift shop/general store on the premise, with travel agent, tour booking agent, be warned though things are pricier.

The hotels staff are quite nice, however front desk ppl canbe a bit rude, you really don't get that personal interaction that you do at the smaller resorts.

For tours we did the Buggy Fun, which was spectacular, visited the Ekasup cultural village, also excellent and went on an around the island tour with Atmosphere tours, our guide Gilbert was fantastic and took us to places most tour companies stopped from the outside. it is best to contact Atmosphere direct rather than through hotel, most hotels do not know of the company. Gilbert also can tailor the tour to your needs, so ask him what u wanna do and he will accomodate. If booking tours best to ask around in Port Vila or with some of the resorts Ni-Vanuatu ppl, they can often book it for u cheaper.
Another tip is, when in Port Vila, if you head to an empty area on the ocean side of the main road (right hand side of the Sebel hotel) you will find a little shelter where alot of Ni-Vanuatu ppl are waiting for a boat to take them across to there home islands, ask the ferry man to give you a ride around, and for a very small fee, he will take you around on the boat giving you a mini tour, you also get to visit some of the islands were the locals live, a great experience!

The other resort we stayed at for the rest of the tour was Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments, pls read my review on that to compare these 2 hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hashimotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Le Lagon was everything we hoped for - and more. The resort was beautiful, the staff friendly and welcoming, the food in all restaurants was good quality and plentiful with a wide variety of choice.

Even though it was the Easter holidays the place wasn't crowded, with plenty of room wherever we went on the resort.

We had the "All Inclusive" package and reckon we were well ahead for value. As much to eat and drink as we wanted - and no worries about what the total cost would be.

Lots of free water activities - kayaking, catamarans, snorkelling, etc - all set in an idyllic location.

A total week of being pampered and relaxing at our own pace. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maitland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
676 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $162 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing