We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to live here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
1 review
“I want to live here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed at le lagon resort from 8th march for seven nights and overall my partner, my 4 year old son and myself had a wonderfull time.
The weather was good to us(extremely hot and humid!!!), and it didnt rain that much but when it did rain it p....d down.
We were initially booked in a standard room but for some reason ended up with a lagoon bungalow which was amazing with 2 seperate rooms and balcony out the back overlooking the lagoon.
It also had the seperate bathroom with bath!!
We joined the warwick club for free over the internet before we went so that maybe why we got upgraded so well.
The staff were very kind and friendly and we had no problems with anyything apart from the tv and room service phone breaking down for a day or two but because we didnt watch tele or order room service it wasnt a hassle for us.
The food was realy nice, we got breakfast and lunch with our deal which was a good adea as lunch alone would have set us back about $70 a pop each day!
One thing to take into account is that you need plenty of spendig money as it can be expensive if your not prepared.
Alchohol is very expensive with a can of VB at the resort $12!! and their local brew tusker about $8, if you like your beer its best to go the supermarket nearby where you only pay about $4 a can!! still not cheap..
If you love your spirits your loughing, duty fee bottles of jimmy and jack go for $19 ( 1 litre).
You dont pay tax in Vanuatu thats why!!
Theres not many cheap shops in Port villa but acroos from the post office theres a great shop thats got really cheap clothes ect and cheap souvenirs that are double the price elswhere.
Also you"ll notice the traffic about 25 yrs behind the rest of the world, no traffic lights,speed limits, no seatbelts and you can drink drive!
Gettig from resort to town cost $700 vatu $10 by cab or bus which is cheaper and readily available $150vatu or abot$2. 15000vatu is about $25 Aussie.
We took a ten minute sea plane ride which we enjoyed, seing Port vila and surrounding islands from the air was fantastic.
We also went for halfday to cascade waterfalls which you have to see to believe, a truely spectacular place, but be warned you will get very wet so watch the cameras ect.
We did a half day feeding sharks and turtles at Blue water resort where it was lovely, my son loved holding the baby turtles and feeding the sharks!! Well worth doing.
On the friday night we did a tour of the Ekasup village for a cultural show which included entatainment from the locals doing traditional singing and dancing and o tasty local buffet dinner after sampling the local kava which taste just like muddy water but some how makes you very relaxed but dont drink more tha 4.
We bought a cornshell from the market and had it fumigated locally for 3500 vatu but when we got back to melbourne the certificate meant nothing but you can fumigate them in melbourne for $30.
All in all we had a great time at this resort and would love to come here again as the friendy culture and picture perfect scenery along with the friendliest bunch of people you could meet makes an ideal holiday for just about anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bretta2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    495
    194
    51
    38
See reviews for
702
416
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Le Lagon for 5 nights all inclusive in a Lagoon Bungalow, it was our first time to Vanuatu and we could not have picked a better place, the food was fantastic and drinks were never ending, you could do as much or as little as you liked, the location was perfect with snorkelling directly outside our bungalow, the staff were amazing, always friendly and eager to chat. Tours were easy to arrange. Just a quick note to all bourbon drinkers who want to try the "house" bourbon....Dont!...try the house Rum instead.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeLagonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Just returned from 7 nights at Le Lagon on the 23rd March with my wife and 7 year old grandaughter.

Had a wonderfull time and would recommend to anyone, with or without children. below are a number of tips and what to expect.

1) If you are arriving around 2pm ( which we did ) and you have paid for your lunches, make sure you get to the pool side BBQ before 2.30 as they will not serve you after this time ( we missed out by 10mintues )

2) If you are going on a tour or to Vila in the morning and intend to just sit by the pool in the afternoon, get your towels in the morning, we had trouble getting pool towels after noon.

3) We stayed in a Lagoon viewroom which slept 4 ( 1 x queen and 2 x singles ) if you have older teens then the bathroom setup may be a bit of a issue, the shower opens onto a "room" which has a sliding door into 1 of the single beds ( not a problem ) but the other end is open ( does not have a door ) and you have to walk past the main part of the room to get to the vanity, the vanity also has a large mirror which faces back into the shower area, so you can see the shower from the main part of the room.

4) The breakfast menu is very good, consists of
4 x cerials
3 x juices
full & Skim Milk
Selection of Canned & fresh local fruits
3 x Yogurts
Eggs, scrammbled, Poached, Fried, boiled
Hash brown
Baked beans
selection of breads
Selection of Pastries
Fried rice
selection of nuts
Pancakes
French toast
Mushrooms
add the chef will cook you an omlette

5) If you are not on the all inclusive ( as we werent ) the softdrinks were 400vt at the pool bar, were only 255vt at there onsite shop ( just a short stroll from the pool ) or 130vt in Port Villa ( which is about a 10-15 min bus trip )

6) The evening buffet is 35,000vt ( 40,000vt on seafood night ) local beer is 500vt so dinner will cost around $100 aud if not on the all inclusive.

7) Some reviews have meantioned that you need to go outside the resort to catch a bus, not true, just wait at the reception area until a bus comes in to drop off people and just hop on, you wont have to wait very long.

8) the Kids club operates from 8am to 10pm with a 1 hour break at 4.30pm, they take the kids on field trips for 400vt and parents are also welcome to join in, this is a very inexpensive tour !!, we joined our grandaughter for a moring trip to a local village school for 400VT ( $5 ) and what a great little trip it was.

9) There are 3 nights were the resort puts on dancing & cultural shows for free !!

10) Be sure to shop around in Vila before buying, we went to the local markets thinking that they would have the best prices, not so.

11) As has been said before dont exchange money at the resort, we always use a visa debit card, and withdraw money from this via an ATM, the money is withdrawn using the exact exchange rate for that day, but you will have to pay a ATM withdrawal fee, depending on what bank you card is with.

12) Take plenty of sunscreen it is very expensive

13) Dont forget that the all inclusive does NOT include cocktails or imported beer or spirits, cocktails range from 10.50VT to 12.50VT ( $15 to $18 )

All in all this is a great place to stay, you will need to weight up if the all inclusive is worth it, for us it wasnt, as we had breakfast and lunch included, it ended up costing us $600 for dinner and drinks for 7 nights ( but we dont drink alcohol ) compared to around an extra $1400 for the all inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NSWSTEAMPOWER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

Travelled 5th march to 15th march 2009
We went to Le Lagon with another couple, both of us celebrating out 25th wedding anniversary.
From the moment we touched down at the airport it was fantastic.
We booked a standard room and we were very happy with the set up, cleanliness and room service. We had interconnecting rooms, which was handy for us.
The staff at the resort are all so welcoming and very friendly. There wasn't a day went by where we didn't stop and chat to one of the staff.
We took the breakfast and lunch deal. The food was great.A different menu every day.
The pools are the best, the pool bar is awesome. The lobby bar is also great, they have entertainment every night.and games if that's your thing.
We stayed for 10 nights and could have easily stayed another 10.
We met a lot of people from different states and from different countries that we will probably keep in touch with.
Your holiday can be as relaxing or as exciting as you want it to be, either is a great holiday.
We toured around with a couple of local Ni Vans that we had met previously and they showed us some great things.
Cascade Waterfalls was the best thing ever.( Must See ) Before you get to the falls there is a track to the left that takes you out to a lookout, where you can see Hideaway Island.And great views.
Take a boat ride over to Erakor Island. The meals are great and the service is A1.
Anyway you have to experience it for yourself, and I can guarantee that you will have the best time ever.
Travel around to the local bars & restaurants in Port Villa and chat to the Ni Vans. they are so friendly and very interesting.
We will definitely be going back as soon as we can and we will be taking our kids ( 21, 18, & 14 ) they would have a ball. WE DID....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

Resort was a well run beautiful property. Resort set on a Lagoon, so no "beach" as such. We did go snorkelling and sailing which is all complementary. Standard Room we had was most adequate and very clean. We had 2 double beds in our room. If we visit again will stay in one of the free standing garden villas. There are 3 pools, it is very family freindly, so if you want peace and quite I suggest you go outside School holidays, as we did, but even so there were quite a few smaller children staying at the resort. I would consider taking the all inclusive package also, which includes house beer wine and spirits. The quality of the house drinks was most acceptable. Wild Ginger their "signature" restaurant was very nice and very large serves, so could easily share a main meal. Buffet was very clean and food fresh, fruit was not bountiful but the breaky was great. Each night was a different "theme dinner" but there again expensive around A$45.00 per person. Which makes the all inclusive package very attractive. Kids stay and eat free. We ventured in to the town centre about 10 minutes away by bus or taxi (mostly taxi in and bus home)a few nights, but this also expensive. Can recommend "Nirvana" Asian and a small restaurant on the water Cafe de Village next to The Sebel. . Food was great and well presented, they don't take credit card so take plenty of cash, both expensive or though the later does have daily specials. Don't go to "The Waterfront" restaurant food very ordinary. Should you go be prepared to pay for everything even a swim at any local beach outside of your own Resort !! this we found rather strange. We did enjoy our visit and it is close to OZ, will probably go again sometime. Just a note for the Golfer take your own Balls !!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Le Lagon was just perfect, we had B/fast & Lunch deal so we had to purchase our own Dinners, but having had a rather large Lunch we by-passed Dinner a few times witch can be rather expensive, ($70+ for just main meal for 2 persons, & $6-50 for a beer, so expect to pay $100 all up for dinner)...The resort offers a great variaty of things to do, watersports is the way to go..all free, but if you like the Gym it will cost you $6 ..rather strange I thought as the watersports were free.a bus into Port Vila is 150 vatu's each day or night ($2 each) well worth it, just go out side the complex onto the main road, and flag a bus down, they run so very often, you can recognise a bus ( Mini van) as they have a "B" on the number plate, and a taxi has a "T" ....a taxi will set you back 600vt's+...one guest was charged 1500vt's so be warned. we stayed in a Standard Room which was rather tired looking, it had certainly seen better days, so we up-graded to a De-luxe. the local beer is called Tusker, which if you buy it in a Supermarket in Vila will cost 215vt's,($3.20) as we did, and took them back to the Resort, we saved heaps doing that, well its better than paying $6.50......DO NOT change your Aussie Dollar's at the Resort, you will get ripped off, go to Goddies in Port Vila, you will get a fanstic exchange rate there, Last but not least, try the Restaurants in Vila, there are some very fine ones there and not to expensive, which is refreshing as Vanuatu is not cheap......Le Lagon is by far the best Hotel that Vanuatu can offer, it has everything you could wish for, we will certainly return one day in the very near future,,,for those of you that are thinking of going...."Happy Holiday"....................

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BADGEVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Would i stay here again?
Yes.

Situated about 20mins from the airport and out of the main port vila township, you can have your transfers pre-arranged or get a taxi (cannot remember price, but it was nothing scary).
This resort is large to say the least. Set on the entrance to the Erakor lagoon on 75 acres, it incorporates a 12 hole golf course, 140 hotel rooms, bungalows and suites with both garden and lagoon views, restaurants, kids club, and my favourite the Pools with swim up pool bar - personally, a tropical resort needs a swim up pool bar. ;)

Highlights include:
1)Free usage of kayaks and other non motorised water equimpent. This is excellent as you can take a paddle out into the lagoon and enjoy the crystal clear water and starfish that cover the sea bed! It takes about 5mins to paddle across to Erakor Island where you can enjoy a walk and swim on the beatiful beach. Erakor Island also has a resort and the cocktails there are Fabulous! (perfect while watching a sunset too) - Highly reccommended.

2) Pool Complex.
This is one of the resorts best assets! Very large cascade style. Swim up pool bar is very addictive.
The only thing that lets it down is that kids are allowed to swim around and sit at the pool bars. There are two bars where you can order drinks while in the pool and perhaps the resort could keep one of these bars adults only. But apart from that it was enjoyable.

3) Easy access to Port Vila.
There is a mini bus service that operates throught the day and evening into town. This is not operated by the resort but the buses do come out to Le Lagon. It is loose change and conveniant as sometimes they will drop you slightly off the beaten track. ;)
We used the bus to take us into town where we dined out for the evening on a few occasions.
Once in town, you can find a mini bus to take you to different parts of the island and all very inexspensive.

4) Food
Whilst food is nice at the resort, it is exspensive as you would normally expect. You can opt in for the all inclusive package, i find that it is just too much food to eat personally.
The resort has a buffet restaurant with different themes nightly. They also have a Tepanyaki restaurant called Wild Ginger. It is not cheap but is worth it, the chefs really entertain and the food is of exceptional quality. Highly reccommended! There is a dress code.
If eating away from the resort, try and get to a restaurant called "The Waterfront" in Vila, it is lovely with nice views of the harbour and pier and the Seafood chowder is to die for! Divine!!

Remember - This is a tropical island and as such staff etc can operate on island time, whilst i found the staff to be exceptional in general, a bit of patience is required at times.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Property: Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing