We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful family resort”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family of 2 adults and 5 & 3 year old kids and my sister's family of 2 adults and 7 & 10 year old kids stayed at Le Lagon for 7 days last week, travelling from NZ. I had read many reviews so I was a bit nervous about a few things, check in being one of them. It was a breeze. Friendly and efficient. We had Lagoon Superior Inter connecting rooms which were at the far end of the resort. Although it was a bit of a trek to the pools/restaurants etc we felt lucky to have an lovely grassy area with loungers and always something to watch on the lagoon. I found the room to be clean and the beds and pillows absolutely fine despite some reviews!
Loads of towels and beautifully serviced each day. We ate at the buffet restaurant for three of the nights an while the selection of food on offer was fantastic, we grew a little tired of the "cooked for the masses" style of food. I must point out though, that the seafood night was outstanding. We ate at Wild Ginger one night for Teppanaki which was a nice change. The buffet breakfasts were outstanding and had everything you could want. Staff were lovely and helpful. The pools were the highlight for the kids and they also spent a couple of days joining in at the kids club which they enjoyed. The guys played a round of golf which they enjoyed - especially the views. The also used the kayaks and the cat to sail over to Erakor. We borrowed snorkelling gear for all and my 5 year old mastered full snorkelling by the time we our holiday was up. My sister an I had top notch spa treatments. Pedicures and stone face and feet massages. A highlight for us. The pool side grill was not operating while we were there which was a shame. With kids, it would have been great to hav been able to order food at any time rather than having to wait until 12 noon for the bar to start taking orders for lunch. We enjoyed the hermit crab racing one night after dinner, although we were bemused at the size of them!! Hardly big enough to write the number on their back. Perhaps this could be opened up to a ' bring your own crab'? The fire dancers on our last night was a fab finish to our stay at Le Lagon. We had an early flight so checked out the day before which was also absolutely no problem contrary to reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would return, perhaps to a two bedroom suite. Will need to start saving...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank FinneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Finne Traveller,

Great review! Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post this detailed wonderful review. Reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and the guests who look forward to staying with us at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa.

Acknowledge comments about pillows which we are working on.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    508
    198
    52
    41
See reviews for
724
424
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are a romantic couple seeking an elegant resort and some peace and quiet, this is one of the worst choices you can make in the Port Vila region. If you are a parent, I suppose it's nirvana. In the one night we were there, the only time we weren't subjected to some child crying or screaming was in the small glass-enclosed gym in the back of the property - the only truly child-free area on the 150 acre property. Otherwise, it was kids unattended by parents in the jacuzzi by afternoon, screaming infants by evening in the upscale Wild Ginger restaurant, and screaming infants by morning at the breakfast buffet (great way to wake up at 7am). I don't mind kids typically, but this was relentless. Even the hotel knows it - they offer a "child free" breakfast starting 7:30pm at Wild Ginger, but don't tell you they charge you 2000 vatu for that 'privilege.' And in an attempt at fairness, if I read the menu correctly, they charge 2000 vatu per child to parents who bring a child into the Wild Ginger restaurant in the evening. Aside from getting you coming or going, there are other issues here. While the property is beautifully landscaped and maintained, and our room was REALLY clean, we had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready (arriving early at 11:30, and finally being permitted to check in at 1:30). Now I realize it takes time to do a room properly, but surely the hotel can find a way to secure a free room within an hour for an early check-in to accommodate guests. This is an older property, about 30 years old, and its age is showing in some places. Furniture was chipped and scraped. Interior lighting was dark and poor, even with newer LED lights near the bed (hint: add one of those LED lights next to the plug in the bathroom which can rotate - so you can plug in an electric razor while shaving and actually see what you're doing). No free Internet is a minus. Food at both the Lagoon Bar and Wild Ginger restaurants was fine. While there were five pools, none of them were heated - even the jacuzzi was tepid. Though we reminded the hotel twice we needed a wake-up call at 7pm, no one called by 7:10. Luckily, we had set the in-room alarm and it worked, so we didn't miss our prepaid airport transfer, nor our international flight. Good thing - had we missed it, we'd be in Vanuatu another two days, and I'm sure the hotel would not have given us two nights for free due to what would have been their staff error. To the hotel's credit, you will get a quiet night's sleep here - though we could hear full conversations in the room next to us due to poor sound insulation, so be prepared. While it's great for parents and kids, I would not stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are seeking peace and quiet in the common areas during the afternoon, or a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for your review. We promote ourselves as a family resort so not really sure about your research. Having said this, we do have Bungalows on its own and Island Villas over water to cater for adult/honeymoon market in terms of accommodation. I do take your feedback for room for improvement in some areas and apologize for where we fell short.

You might want to reconsider Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa when you have few bundle of joys in the future.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful. We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are comfortable. The grounds are well kept. The pool area is really nice. The only thing that let us down was the lack of knowledge on gluten free dining, as I have coeliac disease & am 100% gluten free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Debsjoan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again for your valuable time to post this short sweet review.

It is pleasing to note that we met all your expectations and you had a great stay. Sorry to hear about the gluten free dining. Should your travel plans bring you back to Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, do contact me on rkant@warwickhotels.com; we will take care of your dietary requirements.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay in a garden bungalow,the view and grounds were beautiful. We found the food and entertainment to be of the worst we have ever had. The staff were great, but cleaners didn't do much cleaning in our room also the pillows everyone has been complaining about are still on the beds. Our food was cold every morning even when we were the first ones there at 7am. I'm sorry to say we wont go back to the Warwick but loved Vanuatu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Rose H,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed we did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to all of the relevant departments to discuss with their team members to take on board. On this occasion we seem to have fallen short in some areas for your family and for this we apologise.

I am glad you loved the gardens and love Vanuatu as a destination.

Warmest regards,
Rohti Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but it was fine. We took a 9 month old and 4 year old with no problems. I wish I had taken a stroller with me so the little one could sleep at dinner or by the pool. Just go, you'll love it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa and again for your valuable time to post this short sweet review.

It is pleasing to note that we met all your expectations and you had a great stay. We do have strollers available for hire on requests.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this resort from the internet and we were very pleasantly impressed. The rooms were clean and well equiped. The grounds were immaculate and food was of the highest quality. As one expects in this area the staff went out of their way to help you enjoy your visit and were always smiling and friendly. Good facilities available and we enjoyed our break immensily. We joined up with our son's family from Sydney (we were from NZ) so we had three generations and all were happy or rather sad to go back home.
Of course there was the odd hiccup but nothing major. Our room had not been serviced when we arrived (at 3pm) but that gaves time to unwind. The pool towels were sometimes a problem but mainly when there was a cruise ship in port. And the bananas at breakfast disappeared in a flash but that was because guest took loads at a time.
Our major problem was at the airport where waiting for 3/4 hour was the norm but that, of course,was nothing to do with the resort. I hate to think what it will be like when they extend the runway to allow jumbos to land!

Room Tip: We asked for the room of our son's family to be close to ours and that was achieved readily. Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear profal26,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa and again for your valuable time to post this review.

It is pleasing to note that we met all your expectations and you had a great family reunion. Sorry to hear about the airport transfers.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just got back from a 5 night stay at le lagon. I had read the reviews before I booked it and did have some concerns regarding the negative reviews that I had read so I will address some of the points that I remember from these first.
- pool towels, we didn't have a problem getting any, it may be a new system, where towels are now signed out and in (a charge is put to your room if towels not returned) but it appears to have fixed the issue with a lack of pool towels.
- room cleanliness and other room issues - we stayed in a garden bungalow, the room was spotless when we arrived and was serviced daily. The rooms also seem to be well soundproofed, we were in 302 which is quite close to the pool and directly in front of the water activity area, when sitting on the balcony area, it could be a bit loud with kids playing etc, but as soon as you went into the room this wasn't an issue. The room furnishings were clean and overall had a comfortable feel.
- service - the staff were friendly, polite and well presented. At times they seemed a bit lost as to what they were doing with plenty of staff around, but not much getting achieved. Not sure why, perhaps they were new or their roles had been changed. I think the resort would benefit from a dedicated activities coordinator to encourage participation in activities. They do have activities on every day ( golf driving competitions, bonfire, trivia, beech volleyball etc) which guests are informed off through a daily newsletter, however if you do turn up to join in, staff seem a bit lost about how to run them.
- food - the buffet breakfast was nice, with fresh omelets and fried eggs made to order. The fruit selection was a bit limited, however I think this is really a seasonal issue. We didn't have any issues with flys etc, but again, this would be seasonal - it is a tropical location after all. Wild ginger did great teppanyaki, the menu was a bit eclectic (Thai red curry paired with Indian roti - strange, but yummy)
Value - if you are expecting a cheepish location, this isn't it. The price of most items in the resort is similar to what you would pay in Australia. If you want to keep the costs down - use the buses, not the taxis, they are everywhere, you basically tell them where you want to go and they take you for $vuv150 (AU$1.50ish) per person. Food and drink in port villa is also a lot cheaper - but it can be a bit pot luck on quality etc.
golf - we played a round, they have terrible hire clubs - the set we were given were oversized - I am 5"4' so the driver was as big as me! The fairways and greens have no roll on them as the grass is thick and spongy, but the course is well maintained. So if your aim is to play golf, bring your own clubs. Ultimately we had a fun round and the views from the course were divine!
Overall, the resort was lovely, the grounds are well maintained, the views are beautiful and the social areas kept clean and comfortable. The guests at the resort really covered the whole spectrum from young couples, to families through to older guests (70+). I think this is somewhere I would recommend for families with young children, from what I saw, the kids in the activity centre looked like they were having a great time and the staff really appeared to engage well with the kids.

Room Tip: Go for a garden bungalow not that much more expensive, but they are on the waterfront and have spect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Karen O,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time and positing such detailed review. Reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and the guests who look forward to stay with us ar Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the team. I have noted your feedback for room for improvement which is taken on board.

Once again we thank you for all the valuable time taken to post the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rohit Kant
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Property: Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing