We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort, but service is lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Jilliby, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, but service is lacking”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I booked the Warwick as I knew first hand thw Warwick and Naviti in Fiji were great, I was disappointed with Le Lagon. Checkin is a nightmare! We arrived at 11:30pm with our 7 year old and at 12:45 we still didnt have a room! During our 2 week stay, I learnt this is a rgular occurrence. Everything is overpriced. Over $10 an hour for internet? Happy hour is great, half price drinks, you need to order twice as many though, because it takes so long to get served. The resort itself is lovely, the staff are very nice. Kids club was great, although, the charges for extras, like jewellry making, was a bit much. The female concierge was fantastic, she knew her stuff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulineHillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear PaulineHillard,

Thank you for your posting onto trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy our Hotel in the light that I would like it to be portrayed. I am also sorry about your late arrival experience and this is certainly something we are working through along with early morning departures. Thank you for your kind comments however on Resort itself and the nice words about our staff. Much appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    508
    198
    52
    41
See reviews for
724
424
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

There is a new manager who is very hands-on and he appears to have a dynamic team with him.
We love the friendly smiling staff, that the South Pacific is renowned for.
This is a relaxing island atmosphere and should not be confused with a sterile 5 star European Hotel.
We love the open expanse of the beautifully maintained plants and lawns. We enjoy the view of the lagoon but saddened at it's slow decay each time we go there.
We enjoy the sailing and although only two of four Hobie cats are operational that is 100% more than last year.
We love the very wide choice at the continental breakfast, with a varied selection of local fresh fruit and canned fruit. The coconut fed bacon is delicious and a wide range of omelettes are cooked in front of you. The service is crisp and the empty food dishes promptly refilled
There is a good selection of fresh patisseries and the chef certainly puts a lot of effort to produce consistent high quality food.
Lunch at the pool is also very nice. The barbequed prawns and rice are top notch and with the local draught beer is just the ticket.

We have become Warwick club members with luxuries like flowers, fruit bowl, and a very good Australian bottle on arrival. Daily freshly baked biscuits, and a weekly cocktail party with excellent wines and canapés to meet the management team. This is a new innovation of the manager and certainly to be applauded.
We also enjoy the relaxed and non PC attitude shown by the resort. There is much to do and all the tours can be arranged to suit all experiences.
The new convention Centre is huge and very well appointed, and is a credit in it's novel construction and a PVC type roof cover.
The wedding platform area is beautifully sited, and the sand is raked daily.
Families are ideally catered for with plenty of different swimming pools, and a free kid's club.
The walk to town is about 45 minutes so you are not totally reliant on transport.
There is plenty of passing buses and taxis at the gate of the property, about 120metres from the main hotel, servicing other resorts.

There are only a few negative aspects.
One generally has to wait beyond 2pm before getting a room, so a 2-3 hour wait can occur especially when there are a large number of leaving/joining groups. We do not like children having access to the swim up pool bar, or is that a lack of parental supervision.? The majority of people staying on this visit were young families with very young, and breast-feeding mothers. Whilst most are lovely it seems that very young children and babies would prefer to be at home instead of being dragged around by their new era parents, so become vocal in their discomfort. However,without all sorts of people at these resorts, they will not exist.
Whether separate areas for adults is ideal is probably open for debate. Perhaps these young adults with babies expect the world to cater for them exclusively.!
We did have a family next to us with children aged 10 and 7 and they were a great joy, and most humourous.

However, we will return, as the 3 hour flight is convenient and easy.
So , thank you Warwick Le Lagon for a marvelous stay, and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Room Tip: There are 134 high quality suites to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear John C,

Hope it is not to cold for you back home? It was lovely to meet you whilst you were and many thanks for a detailed posting. I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and four times is quite the loyal guest which is appreciated.......I will leave the readers to just absorb your comments as you have made some very good statements.

See you next time out of New Zealand during one of those cold winter months

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were looking for a place to relax with no hassles and no worries. Well that is what was delivered at Le Lagon. Not cheap, but that which is cheap is seldom good. Clean, plenty of room, great views of the lagoon, plenty of places to sit and watch the day go by, all a short bus or taxi ride from Port Vila.

The greatest asset of the resort is the staff and I hope they are paid fairly for their constant smiles and efforts to please.

If you want to holiday away from Australians this is not the place for you, Australians are everywhere.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The only issues being the need for new, less noisy beds and new linen would be reasonable given the prices paid for accommodation.

You did not feel that staff were hussling you for sales of food, drink or services. There was no pressure to purchase and this was very welcome when compared to other places I have visited.

If you are on your own or a couple it is economic to catch a 'bus' from the main street in front of the resort road entrance. Just make sure you have your 150VT per person ready to pop in the driver's hand and then say where your destination 'in town/city' is. Don't ask a price, it is 150VT. If drivers think you are from 'The Ship', they may try to charge you 1000VT, say you are not from the ship.

You can negotiate with taxi drivers and it may be a good idea to negotiate a day price for a taxi driver to take you to the main sites. Negotiate a price and itinerary and just pay what you negotiated. The concierge from the hotel will assist you to negotiate if you are too shy.

The food is average at the resort by Australian standards but typical Aussie families will be pleased. Desserts could improve at the buffet and some more vegetable options would be nice. However I'm thinking many Australians are not big on their vegetable eating whilst on holiday. Drinks are a premium price but you can by soft drinks at supermarkets and alcohol at stores if you really need quantities of them.

At this point in time I would stick to the buffet and leave the Wild Ginger A la Carte restaurant for another time. Apparently there is a good French Restaurant literally just up from the resort road entrance. I would give that a go.

There are a range of room options available. There is also a spa for any pampering requirements.

The pools look lovely and there are activities you can choose to partake in or leave alone.

A more pricey option that needs to work to maintain a quality standard to justify its pricing. I would recommend the Le Lagon to those seeking comfortable relaxation.

Room Tip: End rooms may have air conditioner noise. I would not get too close to the pool area, you are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear australiaman,

Thank you for your very detailed review...the staff are categorically our greatest asset. The Ni-van culture is one of wanting to please, help and with a smile. Very good observation about the taxis which I trust will assist readers. Overall thank you for your recommendation to readers who are seeking a comfortable relaxing vacation.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights in Vanuatu. We had such a relaxing time and now wish we'd stayed a bit longer. A couple of small but annoying issues within the first 24 hours (eg, no pool towels, door cards not working, check-in confusion) but these were addressed by the General Manager very quickly- thanks Jeremy!

Lots of free water activities which was great for our 19 year old. 7 year old tried Kids Club briefly but was pretty much left to just do his own thing for the time he was there so he didn't go back but that was OK as we just lazed around the pools which are just lovely although we did feel that the pool area could be better maintained. Paving is VERY slippery. Staff should be using rubber brooms to sweep away water on a regular basis. Also the lounges around the pool need some maintenance as some slats are missing and the mattresses could do with cleaning.
** One issue of great concern was that no immediate action was taken by the pool staff when told that a child had defecated in the spa. Parent had removed offending child and object, however staff didn't do a thing! The spa was not closed off/chlorinated until the next morning. I hope nobody got sick and am grateful one of the other guests warned us not to go in the spa.

Staff are friendly but you must remember that it's "Island time" so don't expect things to happen quickly. We enjoyed the meals around the pool at lunchtime but thought the $35 (Aus) was a bit steep for the buffet dinners so only ate there twice. Caught the boat across to Erakor Island Resort for dinner a few times - good value for money and a nice atmosphere. Room Service was fast but unfortunately didn't offer a Kids Menu. The breakfasts were brilliant with lots of things to choose from.

Overall a really nice, relaxing stay and hope we can stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 400's wing as had interconnecting rooms. Not too far away from the pools and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar222010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Oscar222010,

Thank you for your review and I see you made it home safe and sound. It was lovely meeting you when you were here. Agree on the pool area, I have on order some new poolside umbrellas and we are now using the rubber brooms to sweep away the water. Of great concern is the incident you witnessed in the spa and this most certainly should have had a call to action immediately. Usually the staff would attend to this immediately so can only think that there might have been a "lost in translation" moment and they may well not have understood. At the very least, this is what I am hoping. Nonetheless this has subsequently been addressed internally as is certainly not the appropriate way for us to have handled the matter.
You are 100% correct that it is "Island Time", which in itself is not actually a bad thing, nice to get away from the million mile an hour lifestyles we all live these days and our expectations of being part of a global "need it now" population. Sometimes nice to just stare at the ocean or the sky and think, life is pretty good....I would love you have you back in the future, maybe during one those cold months you have? Great to have heard from you and thank you very much for your honest opinion on our Resort.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great stay however it took all morning and afternoon for room to be made even though the sign was left outside the door every morning and then I'd have to ring up every day for the towels to be delivered as it would never be done at the same time as housekeeping. Friendly staff though..food/ drink prices are expensive but on par with rest of Vanuatu...dark room too even though it was a garden deluxe room. All up a good stay. Golf prices verrrry cheap. I'd still recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear jenaet,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the delay in the making up of the room despite the sign being left out on the door. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and I feel a little disappointed that we did not meet your expectations to the full! However I have taken the liberty, as I do with all reviews, to share this with my management team and staff so as to prevent this in the future. It most definitely is the finer details that count......thanks also for recommending us:)

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This resort had everything. Very friendly and hard working staff. Fantastic gardens, great choices for dining, spacious and clean accommodation and lots of available resort activities. We visited other resorts in Vanuatu which were also very good but we have to say Le Lagoon was the best. The buffet breakfast and themed buffet dinners were excellent. The dine in menus were of high quality and reasonably priced. Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room. The gardens are lovely so a garden view room is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sebastian262,

A lovely review indeed, again I have to concur that the grounds and the landscaping are second to none, I nearly run out of breath each day thanking the team for their efforts in this area as we get so many great comments. Yes, the dining options are great with Wild Ginger (A-la-Carte), Lagoon Terrace (Buffet), Pool Side Grill during the day, Lobby Bar and of course Room Service so there is much to chose from to experience variety if on a long term stay. A nice short and sweet review.

Many Thanks,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is a real 5 stars, it has it all.

The best thing about it is their happy hour, the best and surprisingly cheapest beer in town.
50% on everything, not just cheap beers like some other places such as the water front or ankers.
I am talking about the whole bar, and nothing stops you from sipping an ice cold beer while sited at the pool bar.

However there's a very bad note....I do not recommend to anyone to order a cocktail...why you would ask me ?
Well, this establishment uses spirits made by a local distiller. The thing is that distiller uses ethanol to make their spirits and then add perfume and coloring to it, to make it taste like let's say captain morgan or malibu.
Ethanol spirits are extremely dangerous and toxic.
The F and B manager should remove all those spirits from the bar shelves before someone end up in the hospital, and how come he's not aware that the lagoon is using such poison ?
A 5 star resort should only use proper brands and certainly not cheap stuff as such.
When i realized they using this nasty brew to my make my cocktail, i sent it back and requested proper brands to be used. The bar tender refused. i then requested to speak to the duty manager, but he never shown up....i rest my case...

Other than that, it's great place, the staff is fantastic, just don't order a cocktail unless you see what spirit they use. If it's made my tropical nectar, refuse the drink.

You've been warned....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeflyingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Zeflyingchef,

Thank you for your kind review of our bar.

Hmmm, not real sure where to start with this one however a good starting point probably is that ethanol is actually known as alcohol. Ethanol is the base for nearly every alcoholic drink you consume. For example Vodka is water and ethanol, as does Scotch whisky contain ethanol and readers well may be shocked to find out that yes, even a nice cold beer has ethanol in it? The formula for ethanol (alcohol) is C2H6O which I am sure no one is familiar with including myself, just thought I would throw it in there. What I do know is that I am a little partial to ethanol myself, mainly in the form of beer! Not to much as it seems to make you do silly things from time to time and to much of it over a prolonged period of time can cause damage to your liver I am told?

I am glad you really enjoyed our bar though as it can get a little warm over here. All the more reason to relax, have a cocktail and enjoy...

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu

Property: Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is situated on 75 acres of exotic tropical gardens on the edge of the pristine Erakor Lagoon. Promising some of the finest accommodations in Vanuatu, Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu is the ideal place for your Vanuatu Holiday. The resort offers 140 guest rooms ranging from classic rooms, garden & lagoon superior rooms, garden and lagoon bungalows, to four luxurious over-water island suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Warwick Le Lagon Resort And Spa, Vanuatu
Le Lagon Hotel Vanuatu
Vanuatu Le Lagon
Le Lagon Vanuatu Resort
Lagon Le Resort Vanuatu
Le Lagon Port Vila
Port Vila Le Lagon
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing