We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing thru in style!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

u can have way too much fun! next time take ur friends, on my way to the cruise ship short sweet stay almost stayed the weekend on the way back! food fantastic! I have actually done this a few times in the past few year's an look forward to the next trip!

Room Tip: court yard rooms u can see the cruise ships roll in...very kool! only have two floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wylie J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Good Afternoon Wylie J M

Thank you for the review.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 713 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

We recently came back from our family holiday in Vanuatu. Staying at the Holiday Inn Resort was AMAZING! Our room over looked the golf course. The bufet breakfast was always yummy! Never dissappointed! There were so many activities for our kids to do (8yrs & 1yrs). The canoes, kayaks, catamarans, kids club, and even hermit crab races!

The best thing about our stay at holiday inn was by far the staff! They were all so lovely!! Had time for our kids, and ourselves. Made us feel at home, and were never short of a smile! Our son thinks that Joseph makes the best banana milk shakes, while we think that Jonah makes the best nambawans!

Could not reccommend holiday inn resort enough!! Thank you for an amazing experience! :) We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a garden view double, our friends had a garden room king -- couldnt fault either room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaye130206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Good Afternoon Shaye130206

Thank you or your 'Amazing' review.

Sounds like the team made the experience for you. We are very lucky that the team bring the warm and genuine Melanesian way of life to work everyday. Thank you for your comments regarding Jonathon and Jonah I know they will be very proud when we share the review with them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have just spent 7 nights at the Holiday Inn and could not find a single fault with the place. The staff are genuinely friendly and treat you like old friends. Great place to relax for the day or so easy to get to any of the attractions as there is always a taxi or bus waiting. You can even walk into town! Fantastic for families or couples. On my list to revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Good Afternoon Sarah D

Thank you for such an 'Awesome' review and photo.

Great to hear you had a great time with us but also out and about exploring Vanuatu.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and, after an initial problem with no air conditioning in our room, found our second room to be most comfortable. The location of the resort is ideal for couples, families and groups. We were last here about 20 years ago and Efate has not changed too much, just a bit more modernised, more accommodation choices, many more restaurants and a huge range of activities are available.
The Melanesians, as in Fiji, are so friendly, helpful and obliging.
Recommend to anyone for a laid back holiday.
Do not expect 5 STAR and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms and behind reception are slightly superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dauvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Good Afternoon dauvik

Thank you for the review.

Sounds like you had a great time. I am sorry to hear that you had an air-conditioning issue on arrival certainly not how we like or guests to start their stay.

There certainly is a very wide range of fantastic activities available around Vanuatu and so many of them are easily accessible a short distance from the resort. The Vanuatu Tour Operators Association have a great website if future guests are looking to do some research.

Hopefully we will see you back in Vanuatu before 20 years pass again!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed in a number of Holiday Inns Internationally, but this one is by far (by very far), the most awesome of them all. There is no attempt to provide mimic the sterile luxuriousness offered by most other modern establishments of the same ilk, yet the Port Villa Holiday Inn still feels like a five star rated establishment. The services provided and attention given by staff was outstanding while all the time maintaining a rustic Pacific Island ambience. If I was to list what was not provided, I would have nothing to write about. On the other hand, if I was to list what was on offer/provided, this review would be exceptionally long.
In summary, the rooms (and we stayed in two on separate occasions), while unpretentious in style, were comfortable and very functional, even providing very well for guests that may have forgotten to bring a few items (and I am not just talking about hair shampoo). Facilities abound, with all manner of activities being catered for. It also has its own restaurant which serves absolutely outstanding food (and cocktails). We were there for four nights and never had the same dish twice (or the same as each other).. If there, you have to try the Nambuwan Cocktail...Exquisite! While it feels very isolated, it is located only fifteen minutes walking from the Port Villa shopping centre. Ask the receptionist where the shortcuts are. If you wish to go even further afield, tours can also be booked through their own tour desk. This is a place we have every intention of returning to.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lagoon for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Good Morning FyingKiwi

WOW what a review!

Thank you for kind words and I know the team will take immense pride when I share the review with them. Well done on making the walk into town and taking the shortcuts not something many of our guests experience.

Hopefully we will see you back in Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 13 nights here our kids loved it both 6 and 9. The resort is very clean and staff lovely. The kids enjoyed the kids club especially the beautiful staff. There was lot to do for the kids. Food was also great, I highly recommend this place for families.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Good Afternoon Katrina G

Thank you for the review.

Great to have you all with us over almost two weeks! It certainly sounds like you all had a good time and enjoyed Vanuatu.

Look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent position with a beach fronting onto the lagoon in Port Vila. Our room with a lagoon view was spacious and well equipped, was beginning to appear a little tired in places, but overall was well presented and clean.
We had an evening meal and breakfast both buffet style, in one of the restaurants and the range of food and presentation was faultless. The quality of food was to the standard you would expect from a very good resort hotel and was served piping hot. The views over the lagoon were magical as dusk was forming.
The hotel has 2 outdoor pools and one is served by a bar/cafe whilst the other does not permit food or drink in the vicinity of the pool.There is also a beach of fine sand leading from the edge of the larger swimming pool down into the lagoon. At the end of the large pool there is a children's water feature with virtually everything you would require if you had a young family.
The hotel is about 10 minutes driving from the centre of Port Vila and private mini buses run past the door and charge 150 Vatu per person each way into the town. The airport is further away, perhaps 20-25 minutes and taxis appear to have a standard charge of 2000 Vatu per journey per vehicle. The one surprising element in this hotel was that the internet access was not free and at 1000 Vatu per hour could prove expensive if you had need of a lot of access.
I would certainly consider staying here again if I found myself in Port Vila in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a lagoon view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plymouthtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Good Afternoon Plymouthtraveller8

Thank you for a superb review!

Great to hear you enjoyed or time with us and you have certainly pointed a few of the fantastic features of the resort. A tip for your next visit is that the internet is complimentary to all our IHG Reward members and you can sign up on-line free of charge.
in Vanuatu in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
554 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
1 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $188 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing