We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Nearby Hotels
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$108
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$116
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$133
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$184
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$86
$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
388
249
59
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
249
59
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barkids clubfamily suiteactivities teamwater villaplay stationfire showkids eat freegolf buggyoverwater bungalowkids roombuffet breakfastschool holidaysadjoining roomsgreat holidaya garden view roomtour desk
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 725 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn on our arrival in Vanuatu at the start of our 2 week trip.
The hotel is a "Holiday Inn" it is large and really does not give the "island" feel that I was looking for. I can understand that families on a vacation would enjoy the resort - for travelers - I prefer a smaller place with more atmosphere where it is easy to meet others.
Our room with a Lagoon View was basic - all rooms except the end units have connecting doors - and ours had a distinct musty smell. It was clean and we were able to have wifi in our room which was a nice touch for a chain resort.
The front desk staff were very accommodating - the pool bar staff had a very poor attitude - could care less if we were there sitting at the bar or not - totally ignoring their guests.
All in all - for a family vacation - it is OK - for a traveler - not recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Good Morning WanderingCdns

Thank you for your review.

We certainly are one of the large resorts here in Vanuatu and offer all the benefits that come with staying with a global brand. in Vanuatu we are lucky enough to have a fantastic range of not only unique tours, experiences but also accommodation just a little research can go a long way in making sure you make the right choice for you. Sorry to hear that the pool bar staff didn't seem very engaging on this trip and we have been working with the team to lift the experience.

Hopefully we will see you travelling through Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a total of 10 nights and thought the resort was great! The free activities were well utilised; canoeing around the lagoon was a daily occurrence. All the staff were very friendly, with a special shout out to the pool staff, a great bunch of guys! The fire dancing that was on at night was amazing, definitely stay around for that. The restaurant was nice, we ate there a couple of times. Would visit again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lauraswanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Good Morning lauraswanderlust

Thank you for the review and picture.

Sounds like you had a great time with us and in Vanuatu. I know the pool bar team are going to be very happy to see your comment about them.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great time at the holiday inn nothing was too much trouble, we had breakfast included in our package there was lots to choose from lovely and fresh, we also had dinner there a couple of times this also was very tasty with lots of variety. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, this is a family hotel there were lots of children there during our stay it didn't bother us but might others. Rooms were clean and comfortable we shared a room between 3 people with 2 double beds very comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustique1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good Morning Mustique 1957

Thank you for your review and photos!

Sounds like you had a nice relaxing time enjoying times with friends and I know the gardening team will be very proud when we share your comments with them.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I chose the Holiday Inn for our honeymoon. We were very happy with our choice. We stayed in one of the over water vilas - which was lovely. My husband loved being able to get straight into the water!!! The resort itself was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The resort offered many free activities which was lots of fun. We went to the fire dancing show - which is a must see - in the pouring rain and it seemed like most of the resort did too! There was also an underground cooking demonstration (of the local food) followed by kava tasting. They offered kayak tours, catamaran tours, beach sports and more. There were local traditional singers as well as more modern singers in lobby bar. Happy hour was 4-6 at the pool and 8-9 at the lobby bar and was generally half price beer/wine/special cocktail - meant there was many happy hours and this could be pre or post dinner.

As it was our honeymoon we decided to do the 'Romantic Dinner' which was three courses, bottle of wine and 2 glasses of sparkling - amazing. It was in one of the beach huts and was lit up romantically with candles. We couldn't fit in the chocolates at the end so they gave them to us take away - and brought the buggy right down to the beach to take us back to our Vila.

The resort didn't seem at full capacity and we were happy with the quiet time. Easily able to find lounges by the pool etc which was great. Buffet breakfast was amazing!! Pool bar had great snacks and sandwiches for lunch. Lobby bar had great tapas dishes.

The resort was slightly out of town (5 min taxi drive for 500vt into town).

Overall a wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: If staying in Overwater Vila ask for rooms 411, 413(our room) or 415. These looked out onto lagoon while other vilas looked back onto resort (still a great view though).
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good Morning Emily E

Thank you for your review and congratulations!

Sounds like you choose the right destination to celebrate such a special event. Great to to see the resort and team just made it that little more special.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here in 2009, and if memory serves me right it was run by Le Meridien in those days. The lagoon area is wonderful and the hotel is well designed and airy, only downside is that it is quite an old resort and some of the rooms have not been renovated in a while giving one an early nineties feel; the lagoon rooms where we stayed were lovely but also had a high tariff, but they are the over the water rooms one wants to stay in when visiting tropical destinations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karanbir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Good Afternoon Karanbir B

Thank you for review and returning after a few years away.

Sounds like you had a good stay overall and with our large Melanesian designed foyer it certainly maximizes the breeze we tend to get off the Lagoon.

Look forward to welcoming you back before 4 years elapse!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews