We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from five glorious nights in Vanuatu. The Holiday Inn was the perfect choice. The Lagoon View Room was beautiful, overlooking a lush garden, inviting pool and of course the lagoon. The service, staff, meals and entertainment far exceeded our expectations. And the weather was great! . Anyone visiting Vanuatu should definitely take the Coongoola Cruise. We snorkelled for hours and our hostess was wonderful. The only disappointment in our holiday was that we didn't stay longer. We plan to go again next year and take the family. Most people was spoke to agreed they would be back.

Room Tip: Lagoon View Room close to pool and restaurant. And the View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon linda m

Thank you for your 'Heavenly' review.

The Coongoola Cruise has been running for many many years and is one of the favourites of our guests. We are very lucky on Efate to have over 50 different tours and activities and all in easy reach from the resort.

Look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    234
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
314
195
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Holiday Inns in the past,they have always been quite good,but for some reason they have never become a destination of choice. That may have to change after spending a week at the Holiday Inn, Port Vila. We would really be nit picking to find anything to whinge about. The place has undergone a makeover recently,if you want to look hard you'll find evidence,but why bother ? The rooms were quite nice, but not really a factor for us since we only slept and showered there. The grounds,pools and beach are kept immaculately and the setting on the lagoon is beautiful. Without doubt the highlight of this place though is the staff,we loved their friendly,laconic style, they almost force you to relax.And smiling must be in their employment contract, it is something they do really well. From the bar and restaurant staff, to the room service crew and the boys down on the beach, they just could not possibly be any friendlier and more helpful. Even the cabbies out the front are wonderful. We loved Vanuatu and we loved the Holiday Inn, we're going back next May for a couple of weeks and are counting the days.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Mattyboy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon Mattyboy05

Thank you for your 'Perfect' review!

Sounds like the genuinely warm and friendly people of Vanuatu had a very positive affect on and you are right the minute the plane door opens its the pace of life just slows down.

Don't forget there are Holiday Inn 'Resorts' across the world from Bali to the Maldives.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stay began with welcome drinks followed by a great night with Matt and Chef, playing UNO (shame I didn't win every game ;)).

The staff here are amazing, the breakfast and food is faultless. The omelette man makes a great omelette every time, and they have a juicer!!!

The room is spotless and the massage by the beach is such a perfect idea.

Holiday inn team, if I could I'd live there.

Thank you so much for making our honeymoon perfect (beautiful surprise with champagne waiting in our room)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelindaB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good Afternoon BelindaB81

Thank you for your review and congratulations!

Sounds like it was a great celebration of a big event maybe we will see you back to celebrate the first anniversary.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in March 2013 for a friends wedding. What a fabulous resort, staff are very friendly and accommodating. The wedding day travelled so smoothly everything went of beautifully. Rooms were very comfortable and modern not one complaint on the room. The only downside would be getting in and out of the bath, especially if older and not very agile and just a warning if your travelling with elderly people there are alot of stairs a) to get to the restaurant and b) the pools. Didn't worry me but if I was travelling with older people who are not in great health it may be a bit difficult for them to get around. All in all a great holiday and would definately advise friends to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twalker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good Afternoon twalker94

Thank you for your 'Great' review.

We are seeing quite a few family weddings here in Vanuatu with the close proximity to Australia and the ability of combing a wedding with a unique destination.

Hope to welcome the entire family back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Holiday Inn Resort. We had such a fabulous time. We booked the Family Suite which was perfect for our toddler so she had her own space to play and also allowed us to have a seperate room for her to sleep. We would highly recommend the family suite. The hotel itself was clean, tidy and well maintained. The pool with the kiddy area was welcomed by our little girl and it is where we spent most of our time. She also loved the kids club, even though we did not leave her there with the lovely, friendly staff, we would just go in in the afternoon to have a play with all the toys available. The buffet breaky was great, the staff were friendly and accomodating and the rooms were great. A wonderful family holiday. PS: One tip - do not go to The Secret Garden - not worth it. Thank you Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Family Suite for families with kids. Port-a-cots are available for the little ones. Also in the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahnee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Tahnee R

Thank you for the review.

The family suites are a brand standard for Holiday Inn Resorts and have been so popular we are looking to build some more in the near future. Sounds like it was a realxing break for all three of you!

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A much needed family school holiday break for 9 nights and it was fantastic. The resort is in a great setting looking over Erakor Lagoon, an easy ride into Port Vila and to the airport.The staff are wonderful, very friendly and loved the kids. Our boys couldn't get enough of Kids Club which is a first! Special mention to William (Mgmt), Frida (Verandah Restaurant) and John (Activities Team) for going out of their way to make sure we had a great time.

Great pools for adults and kids, kayaking and sailing on the lagoon and a REALLY good local band/dance troupe made up of some of the guys that work in the hotel, don't miss them! Good broadband coverage and in room Playstation kept us all amused when the odd thunderstorm blew through.

We can't wait to visit again, thanks Thomas and team for making our break so relaxing.

Room Tip: We were in the overwater villas, the kids loved having their "own" island to explore. With...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiceville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Good Morning Spiceville

Thank you for your 'Fantastic' review.

Looks like Vanuatu and the people has left a lasting impression on you and the family. The team brings to life the warm and genuine culture that Vanuatu is known for everyday.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our first family trip, we all voted that this is the resort to come to with kids in tow. The staff were great and sorted any issues that popped up (ask for tall William), our kids would like to thank the boys in the Activities center by the pool for spending the time with them and being so patient with them, they had a blast with the guys (thx Joel, Andrew, James and John).
We look forward to coming back again and chilling by the poolside with happy hour and drinks in hand. Oh, and the weather was great this time of year, 27-30Deg. C over the whole week.

Room Tip: Pick the ground floor over looking the main pool, walk straight to pool from your room, walk to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCoco6569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good Afternoon MarkCoco6569

Thank you for your review and photos!

The activities team seem to have the best job on resort getting to spend time with guests doing what they enjoy all on the beach or in the water. I know they will be extremely proud to be mentioned by name when we share your review with them.

Hope to see you all poolside again soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing