We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postcard views..!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Kellyville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Postcard views..!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our first family trip, we all voted that this is the resort to come to with kids in tow. The staff were great and sorted any issues that popped up (ask for tall William), our kids would like to thank the boys in the Activities center by the pool for spending the time with them and being so patient with them, they had a blast with the guys (thx Joel, Andrew, James and John).
We look forward to coming back again and chilling by the poolside with happy hour and drinks in hand. Oh, and the weather was great this time of year, 27-30Deg. C over the whole week.

Room Tip: Pick the ground floor over looking the main pool, walk straight to pool from your room, walk to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCoco6569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good Afternoon MarkCoco6569

Thank you for your review and photos!

The activities team seem to have the best job on resort getting to spend time with guests doing what they enjoy all on the beach or in the water. I know they will be extremely proud to be mentioned by name when we share your review with them.

Hope to see you all poolside again soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    235
    53
    16
    9
See reviews for
316
196
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a great place. And it doesn't stretch the budget - we stayed for 7 nights and the total room and food totalled $2100AUD - and that included dinner at the Lobby Bar or Verandah Restaurant with a bottle of wine. If you have hold a Priority Club membership, then brekky is included, and if you fill up on that sumptuous offering each day, forget about lunch!
The food is good and plentiful, drinks cold, and the service wonderful.
You have to go to the Pool Bar between 4 and 6pm daily, and get Freddy to mix you up the most delightful cocktail, or settle back with a Tusker (the local beer), or wine, or champers!
There's a Kava demonstration by "Chief Sam" - this guy is a scream; a Melanesian Bottle Band, which is excellent, or on certain nights a trio (or band) in the Lobby Bar.
The Kids Club looked well patronised, and well equipped, and plenty of Ni-Van (that's the locals) ladies keeping the kids occupied. Even at breakfast there was a delightful lady making baskets with the kids!
The bed we had was firm, the air-con and fan was silent. You had a choice of firm or soft pillow, the balcony overlooking the lagoon is small, but ok. The view was outstanding - and when you think of lagoons you think of mosquitoes? Nope - not here, the lagoon is tidal, non polluted, safe for swimming, but I recommend you take reef shoes.
There are comfortable hammocks, kayaks - a great way to work up an appetite (and thirst) - small sailing craft, all in good seaworthy condition. There are staff everywhere to ensure safety.
I've seen reports about noisy Aussies - well, that was everywhere in Pt.Vila, and not confined to the resort - but there were kids mucking around in the kids pools, so expect some sounds!

The staff are reserved, speak quietly, but extremely polite and more than helpful. Your smile and a friendly "yo" (that's a standard hello in Vanuatu) will be met twofold in return.

Just a hint - when there's a cruise ship in the harbour, some taxis and buses (buses are mini vans) charge like elephants, and shops do the same - so what better way to avoid that than by kayaking the lagoon, enjoying a cocktail or just chatting with the staff.

Advice with those with prams - you will likely have to go up and down flights of stairs if in top or middle level rooms.

Will we go back, you better believe it!

Room Tip: Rooms 353, 355, 357, 359, 361 on the third level have uninterrupted views of the lagoon. **Care - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good Afternoon Andrew1957

Thank you for your 'Top' and extensive review!

Sounds like you settled easily into resort life and enjoyed not only the facilities but interacting with the team!

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What can I say... yet another great Holiday Inn. Smiles are omnipresent, generosity of spirit is limitless, value for money is more than reasonable and the beer is always cold. Not that I advocate this however you could enjoy a perfectly blissful stay whilst remaining within the resort for the entire duration of your stay. With regard to downtown, if a cruise ship is in, make it known that you are not from the ship. I do not care what any-one tells you, prices can vary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Good Afternoon fozzie747

Thank you for your 'Great' review.

You have discovered the Holiday Inn Resort experience!

Look forward to seeing you in one the other 48 Holiday Inn Resorts in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We cannot fault anything that this resort does. Everyone went 200% to assist us. The Room was unbelievable, clean stylish and the view was to die for. To arrive with a heart on our bed made out of flower petals was wonderful and made us feel so special. The facilities were excellent everyone here goes well beyond there job. We had room service a couple of times and it was prompt and delivered with a big smile. We cannot say enough about the special people that are working here. The breakfast buffet has everything that you could ask for. When we return to Vanuatu Holiday Inn is on the top of our list. A HUGE THANKYOU FOR MAKING US FEEL SO SPECIAL.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon jorgie53

Thank you for a 'wonderful' review and photo's!

Looks like the team and Vanuatu has left a lasting impression on you as it tends to do.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the very near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We all really enjoyed our stay here. The kids had a great time between the pool and the kids club they were truly sorted.

Which in time made us happy because they were happy.

My three year old got sick whilst we were there we rang reception for a doctor and he was there in less than 15 minutes that was really good.

Food was a little overpriced.

One problem if you joined the rewards club you got free Internet that's great if your on an apple device however my husband was on an Android one. Each time he finished a session it would kick him off which meant he needed a new pass word and they only gave him two which was very disappointing. This was the only hassle which isn't really that bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Good Afternoon lovetotravel88888

Thank you for your review.

Great to hear that you all had a good time and the kids club kept the kids entertained! Sorry to hear that your 3 year old got sick during the stay and the problem with your husbands Android. Looks like we have some testing to do with Androids around the new wireless system we have installed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is our last night at the Holiday Inn Vanuatu and we are very sad to be leaving this magical country. We originally booked a lagoon view room with two double beds as my husband and I are travelling with our 4 yr old daughter. When we saw the room it was ok but slightly too small so we proceeded straight down to the front desk and enquired about upgrading. The friendly staff were more than happy to accommodate our request to upgrade( for a slight fee) to a Family Villa. We were so impressed with our villa, it had everything we could need and more. It offered us more privacy as well as a seperate living area, two TV's, play station, DVD player, spa bath and a great balcony overlooking the gorgeous lagoon. I am so thrilled with all this resort had to offer from the kids club, friendly and welcoming staff, excellent swimming pools, free activities, the list could go on! We will definitely be coming back:-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamZiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Good Afternoon SamZiv

Thank you for your review and photos!

Sounds like the three of you not only enjoyed the Vila but also the fantastic country and people.

Look forward to welcoming all three of you back to 'magical' Vanuatu in the near future.

Takiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We could not fault the Holiday Inn. Nothing was a problem. We changed rooms after the first night, a one bedroom with two beds was not a great idea for a family of four. So we upgraded with no problem at all. The staff where very accomodating especially with our kids. At breakfast most mornings they had a lady sitting down making the kids fish and balls out of reeds. The lunch and dinner menus where ok, but its very easy to venture outside of the resort into town for some local food. Overall the pool was perfect for the kids, they had plenty of entertainment at the resort. The kids club was great also.. Would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The family suite is a must. We have two children a 3 year old and a 1 year old and they absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSZLWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Good Afternoon MSZLWood

Thank you for your 'great' review.

We are very lucky in Vanuatu to have so many options for tours and dining at our door step. The combination of French and British rule until independence in 1980 lead to the creation of many great experiences.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing