We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms are beautiful. Location great. Staff Amazing. Meet the RDM and she was Fantastic and very helpful. Will stay here next time I head to Vanuatu. Best bit for me was relaxing by the pool or lagoon reading my book. (Plus the staff would bring out anything that I had ordered)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephLolaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good Afternoon StephLolaR

Thank you for your 'lovely' review.

Well that's what holidays are all about relaxing beside one of the two pools doing very very little!

Hope to see you back around the pool in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    224
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
295
189
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only stayed at the Holiday Inn for a few nights and wished we had stayed longer.
From the moment we got off our flight we were amazed at the friendliness of the resort staff. We were greeted at the airport and given shell neclaces, and from there we took our hire car to the resort where again we were greeted very promptly and given cool face towels and bottles of ice cold water (which we greatly appreciated given the humidity there)
Check in was quick and easy and our bags taken up to our room. (there is no lifts only stairs, but staff are only too willing to help you with your bags)

I was pleasently surprised at how clean and modern the rooms were (compared to elsewhere) even down to the little extras in the bathroom like complimentary comb and sewing kit in the draws. There is a safe in the room, which will fit your laptop and any other valuables for peace of mind.
The beds are very comfy and I even noticed on the pillow cases they have embroided soft or hard on the sides so you know what sort of pillow you have.

The balcony from our room was pretty small and not a lot of room to move around on, but then again why spend your time on the balcony when you can be lounging by the beach or pool at only a stones throw away.
We had to change rooms on our first night as our air con wasnt working properly, but we were given another room straight away on the same floor.

The food can be a bit pricey, but they take pride in the preparation and presentation of each meal. The only improvement I would like to mention would be the coffee they serve at breakfast, and would be good to see more seafood on the menu.

The local staff who work there are amazingly friendly, and a total asset to the resort. They are never too far away to offer assistance or a friendly smile and a hello.

Our rooms were promptly cleaned and made up each morning, and again the little touches like placing our tooth brushes in a glass instead of leaving them on the bathroom bench was nice of them. Also we found our sons port-a-cot made up as well with his teddy and dummy neatly placed in the middle of his cot. Things we never experienced in other hotels, and its the little things that really stand out and make you take notice as the quality of staff they have.

We had a romantic dinner down by the beach front under one of the 7 huts they have there which included a private butler. Again the service was just amazing. Our butler was David and he was the best ! It rained a bit that night, in fact it even poured and blew a bit of a gail for about ten mins but we barely got wet and even though we were asked if we wanted to move we decided to stay and so glad we did as they rain eventually passed and the rest of the evening was just devine.

The pool area is fantastic and huge, you can borrow resort towels and life jackets for the canoes if you prefer.

We wanted to get our son a T shirt from the resort but they had none in his size (2) which was sad as I would have loved to have gotten him a memento from the resort of his first hoiday over seas.
There is a kids club with very friendly staff all too keen to entertain your little pickaninny (kids)

And each night there is entertainment of some sort. I fully recommend viewing the fire show if you are there on the night they have it on, and the live entertainment in the veranda bar lounge is pretty good too.

Would love to come back again.

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool area is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jazmine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Jazmine69

Thank you for the review.

As you found the friendliness in Vanuatu is contagious! The Romantic dinners are very popular and we limit them to one a night just so you are guaranteed of unique and personalised experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great family holiday.

Stayed here for 7 nights over new years 2013, rooms are fantastic. Family suite (the kids have their own room) everything in there you could ever want.

Have not been to a resort this good for kids. The bunk beds and the whole theme in there room was just amazing.

Loved the late check out. Food by the pool was a bit hit and miss and the staff unless pushed by what seemed the Australian bossess never hurried anywhere or to get you anything.

Over all fantastic holiday with family and kids and only a 2 and a half hour flight from Brisbane.

Room Tip: Family suites are the best rooms I have ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackson4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Morning jackson4family

Thank you for the 'Great' review.

The Kids Suites concept is standard throughout Holiday Inn Resorts globally each one reflect the destination they are in hence our reflecting the big Banyan trees that are around the resort. Sorry to hear about the food around the pool we are currently working on installing a wood fire pizza oven at the Beach pool to further enhance the experience.

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly / helpful staff - thoroughly recommend. Great place for a relaxing break. Especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Check out the omelette station and delicious cool fresh coconuts. Something for every taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room so you don't have to carry your bags upstairs (no lifts).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jetsetter_JaneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort late September 2012. What a lovely experience that was! The location is wonderful, so peaceful and picturesque . The rooms, restaurants, bars, lobby, pools, private beach were all well maintained and spotlessly clean. The restaurant and lobby bars had a superb menu with lots of variety, the food was always delicious and beautifully presented. What absolutely made this holiday though was the friendliness and helpfulness of every member of the staff, nothing was too much trouble, everything was dealt with efficiently and politely. There was always a beaming smile and a cheerful greeting. The staff are a real credit to this hotel. We would certainly return for another holiday and I would certainly recommend Holiday Inn Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Morning Jasp08

Thank you your 'Fantastic' review.

Thank you all the wonderful comments about the resort and especially the team! The Melanesian people are known for being happy, warm and friendly people which the team bring to work everyday!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I recently spentb7 nights at the Holiday Inn. We had the most amazing time. From the minute we arrived to check out the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Buffet breakfast was awesome and the resort very clean and tidy. Nothing was too much trouble. Would defiantly return.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Morning Mandy T

Thank you for your 'wonderful' review.

The people of Vanuatu are certainly very warm and genuinely friendly which they bring to work everyday as you found out! Sounds like you had a break with your daughter and experienced quite a bit of what Vanuatu has to offer.

Look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Last week My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, we are well travelled and have stayed in many resorts overseas and in Australia, this resort is now our favourite! The overwater bungalow was more than worth the cost, it was fantastic! The service was great, the breakfast was amazing, the location was perfect. The free daily activities were awesome and the free water sports were also a nice change. We renewed our wedding vows on the grounds and thanks to Janelle our coordinator it was just beautiful, a very relaxed and happy day. Our stay was wonderful, we are already organising a return visit later this year. A huge thank you to all the staff who made our holiday so perfect, truly a credit to you all!

Room Tip: For couples! definitely an overwater bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceyLouise_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Morning TraceyLouise_13

Thank you for your 'Fantastic' review and congratulations!

The team are always looking to exceed expectations and Janelle is certainly someone that consistently does exactly that! Thank you for all your positive comments around the resort and the team I know they will be very proud when they read them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu later in the year.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.6 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing