We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I spent 8 nights at the Holiday Inn with my daughter and I have to say we had a fantastic time. The staff were very helpful, the grounds well kept and the atmosphere relaxed. My 11yr old daughter spent some time in the kid's club and was extremely well cared for so thank you Holiday Inn and staff for a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Barney B

Thank you for your 'great' review.

We are lucky enough to have some very proud gardeners some of them have been with us since 1980 so they take the care of the gardens very seriously!

The kids club being open from 8am-9pm free of charge certainly makes it a very good option for the parents wanting a little time to go and have a play on the kayaks or a quiet poolside drink.

Hope to welcome the three of you back in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    235
    53
    16
    9
See reviews for
316
196
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We wanted to go away somewhere in July and our travel agent suggested staying at the Holiday Inn Vanuatu. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful.
One night our 6 year old daughter accidently smashed a glass and we rang the reception and the cleaner was there in about 3 minutes.

There was a fantastic place where you could dine. The food was amazing!!!
It's set right by the lagoon where you can kayak and sail a catamaran.
Once we went out on a catamaran and we got stuck because there was no wind. Night was falling and the staff knew we were gone so they came out on a speedboat and towed us back to the hotel.

The pool is located next to the beach by the lagoon. The weather was perfect and the day we were leaving the airport bus was there in time.

If we ever visit Vanuatu again we'll definitely stay in the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walovelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good Afternoon walovelace

Thank you for your review.

The resort being set on a tidal lagoon makes it a very and safe environment for both the kayaks and catarman's as you found out we can come get you very easily if you do get stuck!

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Although we did enjoy our time at the holiday inn from 1st till the 9th January 2013 our experience has been spoilt by the realization that we had been robbed during our stay. The situation pans out as follows:
Packing for our holiday was a bit rushed but I had got a brand new iPod for christmas which I placed in my suitcase and locked just before leaving our home.
Upon arrival in Vanuatu at 12am we waited about an hour for our hotel transfer to arrive at the airport which never came. My husband withdrew 20000 vatu and we got a taxi to the hotel which was 2000 vatu. By now it was about 1.30am so we got to our room and went to bed.
We woke at 9.30 the next morning, unlocked our bags to get dressed and hurried to breakfast, leaving our bags and wallets in the room. After breakfast we put our wallets in the safe and lazed about the resort for the next 2 days enjoying the swimming, kayaking and sailing in the sun.
We decided to go to town the next day and look around so my husband grabbed his wallet and off we went in a bus. When coming to pay for the bus he opened his wallet and no money was in there. We returned to the hotel and couldn't find it anywhere thinking maybe it was in his pockets or something like that. He thought it was theft but I said maybe he'd mixed up the notes when paying the taxi driver from airport but he strongly disagreed. My iPod was also missing but I thought maybe I hadn't packed it afterall as I had been in a rush. As my camera, iPhone and ereader were all still in the room I put it down to just a mix up by us and didn't want to spoil our holiday. This was very naive of me but I'm not one for confrontation and truly believed our possessions were safe in our room (stupidly). When we arrived home in Australia last night I scoured the house for my brand new iPod and it was gone. My trusting nature in people and unwillingness to 'cause a fuss' have cost us 18000 vatu and a $350 iPod. If only I had believed my husband and reported it to management I might have had some sort of compensation. M Cook

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good Afternoon MaCook

Please feel free to contact me directly at thomas.tait@ihg.com as this sort of allegation is one that the team at Holiday Inn Resort take very seriously and a full investigation would be undertaken if were made aware of it.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thank you for a very memorable and wonderful Christmas holiday. We stayed with a group of friends over the festive period and cannot speak highly enough of the beautiful people of Vanuatu and the staff and management of the holiday inn. Everybody was so welcoming, friendly and helpful making for a wonderful holiday experience. The fire show is a must, and the Christmas carols by the pool were awesome. The kids club was great and had ample activities that our children loved being involved in. The spa was awesome and the staff here very attentive to individual needs. The banana baileys cocktail is a must!! We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and had no noise from pool, bar etc. Our friends stayed on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigB074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good Afternoon CraigB074

Thank you for your review.

The people of Vanuatu being so warm and friendly make the destination of course the occasional Banana cocktail always makes the afternoon at the pool that little more relaxing!

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a short break between Christmas and New Years with my wife and left the Children at home! The atmosphere was very nice and relaxing, even during the busy period there was enough space that other peoples kids were not overwhelming which can be hard to achieve in a family style resort.

I consider myself a bit of a foodie and I found the a la carte menu was astoundingly good. I really do mean it was good, I would happily pay twice as much for the same food in an Australian restaurant let alone a resort.

The only real downer was on the 2nd last night our neighbours changed so that night and the next morning we got to hear in detail the couple in the next room having sex through the adjoining door, next time I would make sure we didn't get a room with an adjoining door! It was like there was no wall between us, not acceptable at all.

All in all I would go back for the food alone but avoid a room with an adjoining door at all cost.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with an adjoining door at all cost.... Or get to listen to other people having sex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This year is our 2nd year staying at Holiday Inn Resort Port Vila and our 4th time to Port Vila, we arrived 3.00am in the morning to very welcoming staff who had us in our rooms within no time. Our rooms this year were pool view rooms and we stepped straight out on to the lawn from our room which was great, only small issue was the smokers up stairs who ash the cigarettes down over you when sitting out having a drink, (not the Hotels fault). these rooms worked well as our 89yr old mother who gets around with a walker could get easily to the resaurant for breakfast, only one small flight of stairs to use and in the emergency exit, the staff were always ready to open the door for her to get in, they are always so accomodating, smiling and ready to help. The choice of food was terrific from the lobby bar pizzas, burgers, noodles to the buffet for dinner, or lunch at the pool bar with panini sandwiches or wraps and the lobby bar menu also. breakfast buffet had wide variety of juices, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon , great selection of breads, even gluten free bread and seperate toaster for the gluten free and much more.
they have 2 pools one with the kids slash pool and the other more for the adults, we spent more time by the adults pool it was always easy to get the sun lounges even for the six of us, there is plenty of area to relax and sunback or laze in the many hammocks around the grounds, when you have had enough of lazing in the sun you can use the different water sports available all free of charge, kayaks, catamarans, paddle boards, snorkeling gear. they even had jumping castles for the little kids from Christmas through until we left 3rd Jan. we were so sad to leave again, so many of the staff are like family now. I cannot commend the staff enough, from Management to Housekeeping and water activities guys, they always had time to have a chat or help in some way. We will definitely be back a 3rd time to Holiday Inn, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Lizrea

Thank you for your review and photo's!

James Robinson has recently joined us Executive Chef and having been based in Melbourne is very much aware of the need to cater to the different types of allergies that our guests may have which certainly helps make the holiday just that little bit easier.

Thank you for all the comments about the team and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in 2013.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travelled to Vanuatu for Christmas 21/12/12 to the 28/12/12 with our 5 year old son and another family with a 4year old little girl. The Holiday Inn was everything we expected from the beautiful lagoon to friendly people. Christmas was an event with Santa arriving for the kids with a small gift for them! Rooms very clean and were big enough as most of our time was spent by the pool or in the beautiful grounds of the resort. The kids loved kids club thanks to Lillian and staff for that!! A big thank you to management for making us feel welcome and especially to Sam and William for there hospitality and friendly smiles and of course there knowledge of Vanuatu!!
S. Hicks

Room Tip: Resort view rooms were great but overall all pretty close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Summa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Summa77

Thank you for the 'Merry' review and comments about some of the team.

Well having Santa arriving on boat seems to always be a hit and especially when he is bearing gifts for the kids!

Look forward to welcoming you all back to Vanautu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing