We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Wanganui, NZ
2 reviews
“Can recommend!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful week we had in August 2012 staying in an overwater bungalow. Because our bungalow was not quite ready on our arrival, we were offered a free welcome drink in the lobby bar and then a bottle of bubbles and 2 wine glasses were delivered to us as we unpacked. The additional cost of the bungalow was well worth it for the experience of feeling like you were on a river boat looking out over the lagoon from your deck! Excellent facilities and couldn't fault the housekeeping. No problems getting to and from our bungalow to the main complex. Leisurely walking distance of about 8 minutes but if we wanted to return to our bungalow late at night and didn't have our torch with us, or if the weather was unsuitable for the walk, transport in a buggie was readily available. Loved the range of food at the buffet breakfast in the restaurant, especially the bircher muesli. Plenty to do for all ages and so no need to venture too far from the Resort. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Loved the entertainment by Crowning Moments in the lobby bar where we had many evening meals. Can also recommend the Melanesian Feast at the Secret Garden - and for dinner a night out at Chantillys came highly recommended and did not disappoint. If we return to Vanuatu the Holiday Inn Resort would be our choice of accommodation! It lived up to all of the pictures we had viewed and the complimentary comments we had read. Very relaxing!

Room Tip: If you love the tranquility of being over water and are seeking privacy and peace and quiet, and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Good Afternoon Margaret J

Thank you for the review.

Its seems we have the right recipe for Bircher Muesli as it consistently gets compliments in guest feedback. Crowning moments play twice a week with us and quite often get flown to perform at various special events across Australasia and New Zealand by past guests after listening to them in the Lobby Bar.

Look forward to welcoming you back to your deck over the water soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    227
    51
    15
    9
See reviews for
305
192
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We enjoyed swimming, sailing, kayaking, paddle boarding, playing tennis, relaxing and wining and dining. It is a lovely resort with friendly staff.

Room
no issues with air conditioning. It was nice to have the ceiling fan in the room.

Breakfast
Loved the fresh coconut juice and bircher muesli, tropical fruit and omelette.

Food
We had dinner at the hotel every night as we are PP members and worked out to be cheaper to eat in. Mostly a la carte and we enjoyed them very much - especially "Prawns and Poulet".

Entertainment
Fire dancing was entertaining but unfortunately not a cultural show of their heritage. Compared to shows in Fiji and the Cook Islands, it lacked authenticity.
The live music at the Terrace was entertaining but lacked Melanesian cultural connection.

The visibility of the management staff was impressive and showed a thorough commitment to quality of service. They were approachable and actively engaged with guests.

Some of the organised activities never went ahead but this may have been because it was quiet time of the year.

There was very limited range of souvenirs at the hotel. In other resorts (in the Pacific region)
they often have local craftspeople set up a stall once a week within the hotel. It may be something they want to look into.

Overall, a very nice resort that is suitable for people from all walks of life perhaps except for avid snorkelers who want immediate access to coral reefs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Good Afternoon Gonta

Thank you for the review.

Glad to see you enjoyed your dining experiences whilst you were with us including the most important meal of the day breakfast! Some great points for us to work on around the cultural aspect's of the entertainment and offerings on resort.

Look forward to seeing you back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to this resort and with one recommendation (refer later), you would find it difficult to have a more relaxing holiday.
Our 1st visit was as a couple, however on this occasion we bought our kids (8 & 11) as it is a great facility for all ages. Plenty of amenities and activities to do. Rooms have been modernised and if you do bring your kids, prearrange an adjoining room. The Breakfast Buffet is brilliant.
There are plenty of happy staff who are great to deal with and have a sense of fun. Some excelled with their customer service and made the effort to remember your requirements.
We would recommend that you sign for all room charges to ensure no discrepancies. The hotel does keep the vouchers which can be checked manually.
We will come a third time.

ROG4

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms (both wings) have best views. Spend a bit more and get adjoining rooms if you have kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rog4NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Good Afternoon Rog4NewZealand

Thank you for your review and returning with the family!

Great to see that our breakfast started the day off on the right note.

Look forward to seeing you all back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just came back from a 7 night stay at the holiday Inn and if we had to sum it up in one word we would say "Relaxing". We stayed there with our two girls, 7 and 4 and enjoyed every second of it. The hotel is just absolutley stunning and lived up to all of the pictures we had viewed. Our room was great, had two comfy queen beds and was spotless. We had a ground floor room with a view of the pool and lagoon and it was perfect for us so that the kids go run around on the grass. The room was serviced almost everyday however there was a few days where we came back late afternoon and room wasnt seviced but this didn't worry us i the slightest. The resot itself has everything that you need to stay entertained, pool, watersports, tennis courts, kids club, board games etc, The only thing we found was lacking was more night time entertainment, they had a string band, a duo who played keyboard and sang and they had the most amazing fire dance troupe but we thought it needed something more, the food was excellent too, breakfast buffet was amazing and loads to chose from. They had a different buffet everynight which was good but quite often we would order from the A La Carte menu which was also very good. It was quite expensive for food and drink but thats too be expected in a Hotel resort, was worth the money. The staff were very friendly and got to know you well throughout your stay. We were very sad to leave but knew that we will definately return there in the near future. Another bonus was that we met some really nice people there who we will stay in touch with. Definately reccomend to all.

Room Tip: Definately request a garden room or kids pool view room, the scenery is just stunning, and easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlb2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Good Afternoon jlb2110

Thank you for your 'relaxing' review!

It's amazing how many friendships start here whilst people are on holidays. We are reworking the entertainment schedule at the moment and will be changing it in the coming weeks ready for you and your new friends to come and enjoy!

Hope to see you all back with us in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hi All
An honest review

WeI stayed at the Holiday Inn August 2012.

Negatives first
- Garden View Twin Room the view was of a service driveway
- Bathrooms no ventilation, water drainage very slow
- We stayed for 7 nights , my sheets had recent stains (looked like blood), I asked to have the sheets changed, a couple of nights later when I removed the blanket I found that the sheet had been turned around - stains at the bottom of the bed - not acceptable
- restaurant - buffet breakfast and dinners , great selection , unfortunately when fresh food was brought out it was put on top of the older food, one night we ordered a steak , it took 1.5 hours although good , if we knew it would take that long we would of selected something else
- pool bar - lovely staff, I ordered a sandwich and it came out with a side of chips ( eg smiths plain crinkle cut), food does take a long time to come out
- day spa staff found to be very rude and rough
- we had to request fresh towels and after 3 hours some were delivered
-we found it very difficult to communicate with the front desk staff, as I wanted to pay our tab daily with VAT , I was told I would have to pay at the end of the stay. I did not see an issue with us paying daily ( we had a budget to stick with), after an hour they relented and let me pay the tab ( drinks and food from the pool bar)
- often the lobby bar staff were standing around, even though we had ordered drinks we waited usually 20 mins for a drink
- air conditioner didnt work and had to call someone down to repair it


POSITIVES
- the location and grounds are impressive
- pool areas beautiful and refreshing
- just far enough out of town
-activities staff were fantastic, always smiling and lovely to talk with.
- a must have a coconut juice in the morning , they chop of the top and stick a straw in the coconut - yes a little addictive
- beds very comfortable

Vanuatu is a beautiful place. I have recommended Vanuatu to family and friends. Many are looking at booking in January as I am coming back with my son . Unfortunately due to my previous experience with The Holiday Inn I have been looking for alternative accommodation. it is a real shame as I believe that The Holiday Inn could become one of the top Hotels in Vanuatu

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITravellingTessI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Afternoon ITravellingTessI

Thank you for the review.

Please accept my apologies for the lapses in our normal levels of service that you experienced during your stay. It is certainly not the level that the team strive to achieve each day. AS you found Vanuatu is a wonderful destination with a lot of unique experiences complimented by the genuine warmth and hospitality of the Ni-Vans.

Hope to see you all back in Vanuatu in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently had 6 nights here with our two kids. Would reccommend this hotel as it offered a luxurious family experience. Initially we thought it was expensive for eating and drinking, but have had time to compare this to others in the area and it was very fair.The hotel has recently been facelifted , and the room we had was small for us but we wanted a pool view, so this made it ok. Anyway we spent most of our time by the pool or doing things out of the room. Breakfast buffet is fantastic. Kids also ate free at every meal with us so that helped keep us eating there.
On the downside... Room fridge was too small and struggled to keep our drinks cold. With kids we needed to have a few snacks on hand and this was tricky. Also, could do with another mirror in room, as one bathroom became an issue when we all wanted to get ready at same time. bathroom would have benefitted from a few hooks to hang things on, as with 4of us the towel rail wasn't big enough.
We would definitely go back here again. We have visited a few other resorts while here, and this has helped us appreciate how good the holiday inn was.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Good Afternoon yvonnebad

Thank you for your 'great' review.

Sounds like you had a great time and we have now added a "kids special' to the daily specials just to make sure they aren't being left out.

Don't forget to like us on facebook!

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a nice resort and has the usual amenties but certainly missing "something" that makes you feel you are far away from oz. Felt like we could just be on Gold Coast.

We were disappointed when we arrived, and our kids suite was not ready. Reception offered little information about the resort on check-in. We were staying in a premium rated suite with very high nightly rate and to be told to go to pool and come back later was not good enough. We were not offered a complimentary drink, were unable to bill to our room as they would not give us a room number , and were fortunate we had some money to be able to pay. We did not arrive before checkin time either. WE found housekeeping quite often did not get around to servicing our room until well after lunch, having come back from tours to an unserviced room on several occasions.

Resort is set on side of hill so does have several sets of stairs to get you from lobby to restaurant then again down to pool. They do have 2 happy hours each day, one at pool then later up at lobby bar. Unfortunately you have the guests that just like to bar hop and get drunk too! Pool is very nice and set up well. They had jumping castles for kids too and tennis court.

We found the choice of entertainment interesting. A local band entertained in the restaurant on the night we ate there. This was weird. a group of men singing western songs dressed in "island attire". Entertainment was not culturally focused.

Breakfast buffet was always good with great choices, dinner not so good. We dined at the restaurant once and did not enjoy at all. Also had meal in lobby lounge which also was not very good. Found the delay in getting our meals in both very unreasonable, especially given we were the ONLY one in lobby bar at the time. We ate all others meals elsewhere for remainder of our stay. They have the kids 12 and under eat free but did not enjoy meals anyway so ate elsewhere. Also if ordering the kids are restricted to a set menu. This was not explained to us either by the staff!!!!

Kids suite was a great set up and room was very nice. It was great to have 2 bathrooms as these are not very big at all. A/c did not seem to cool to room sufficiently though despite us setting on the lowest setting.

Could go on but enough said. If you want a holiday were your kids "stay and eat" free, you will pay a higher room rate than other resorts, pay a higher price for adult meals and beverages if dining in the hotel. Just really misses the mark for me though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozziefamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing