We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in September,had our wedding there on the 13th and the events manager Janelle was absolutely fantastic,such a nice pleasant lady,nothing is too hard.
The food was amazing,staff so friendly always with a smile,and overall it was a fantastic 7 nights spent there.
Internet is very expensive and should be included in price,price for drinks not cheap although they do have happy hours with half price drinks.
Looking forward to going back in 12 months.
Keep up the good work,its a credit to all the management,well done and thanks for a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: i think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Good Afternoon George N

Thank you for your 'Fantastic' review.

We have a solution for the internet which will be installed in the coming month that will help us meet the expectations of our guests and ready for next visit in less than 12 months!

Look forward to the welcoming you back next year.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 703 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from a week at this great resort with the family of 2 teenage kids and highly recommend it. Facilities and service in general were fantastic. All staff were friendly and eager to please. Management staff also went above-and-beyond to make guests feel welcome and were very hands-on and visible. Loved the availability of the water sports equipment (kayak, catamaran, paddle boards, etc). Staff at the activities centre were simply wonderful with our teenagers, often participating in our beach volleyball matches and encouraging the kids to play. Food was great - in all locations. Enjoyed the fire-dancing night immensely!! I also enjoyed catching up and chatting with the management staff at drinks one evening (Priority Club Members).

A couple of down-sides:
The room we had was very noisy - as commented by others. We had middle floor room (#211) - with adjoining door - and had noise from next room (baby crying!), above (toddlers jumping on floor at 6:00am) and sounds of walking (running) children along the corridor which made sleeping in past 6:30am impossible on most days (guess that's to be expected during Aust school holiday time?). Air-conditioning was not that effective (inconsistent temperature), so ceiling fan at low speed is recommended.
The condition of the golf course is average due to issue with the type of grass. The grass is long on most fairways (lose balls on the fairway) and greens were not in good condition. Believe this is a known-issue to management.
However, don't let these down-sides impact your assessment. Our overall rating is excellent, and we all looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Go for a top-floor room with no adjoining door, and not next to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Good Afternoon Marfee

Thank you for the 'sensational' review.

Great to see the activities team continue to have as much as the guests! We are currently upgrading the greens on the golf course ready for your next visit. We continue to work on the interconnecting door sound proofing and are currently trialing several different types of insulation.

Look forward to welcoming yo all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My stay at the Holiday Inn resort in Vanuatu was for work purposes, and was the location of the workshop I was co-presenting. The venue was beautiful (the entrance and reception area are very impressive), the setting and facilities delightful. The conference coordinator was wonderful and the attendees were very impressed. It was also great at the end of the day to relax by the water, lazing in a hammock under the coconut palms, and just enjoying the setting. Seems to be a very popular place for young families, and no wonder with the facilities they have. Only gripe was that the service can be slow when ordering a la carte meals; but if you aren't in a hurry, then just sit back and enjoy the ambience. However, room service was very quick for my dinner. Can't wait to return with my wife for a holiday next time (instead of going for work).

Room Tip: I was fortunate to have a room overlooking the lagoon, and on the ground floor so could just walk ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Good Afternoon Robert L

Thank you for your review, photos and kind words about Janelle our conference and wedding coordinator.

Hopefully we will see you back for Holiday soon so you can actually enjoy the hammocks for a little longer than the wind down after a day of conferencing.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We could not fault our stay at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu and felt absolutely relaxed from the moment we arrived until reluctantly leaving to go home.
The Kids Club was perfect for our very active boys and gave us time to relax by ourselves for a few hours a day.
The rooms are well appointed with up to date decor and the beds are as comfortable as what we have at home, so a good nights sleep was not a problem.
The food was the best that I've had at any restaurant and would definitely reccomend the Santo Beef with a splash of Cabernet Sauvignon.
The staff were more than helpful, but you have to remember that you are on ' Island Time ' and not to expect anything to happen immediately. I guess that's part of the charm of Vanuatu.
A big thank you to Thomas Tait, Teneale Guarrera, Grant, Mark and all the staff for making our stay one of the most relaxing holidays we have had to date.
Thanks again,
Richard and Sarah.
Tasmania.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the ground floor suited us best having direct access to the outside for the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Good Afternoon Richard C

Thank you for the review and photos!

The beef has built up quite a reputation with it being exported around the world and all organic. Some say the biggest stress cattle have here is the potential injury from a falling coconut!

Look forward to welcoming you all back to paradise in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Resort at Vanuatu. For our first time visit to Vanuatu we could not have chosen to stay at a better Resort. The staff where so friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always smiling. The food was great, the room was great and the overall experience was memorable. We will certainly be back. It is a 5 minute taxi ride to town and at 500 Vatu (around $5 AUD) it is closer enough to restaurants and other things if you choose to dine out. If you don't want to go into town there is plenty to do at the resort (gym, 2 pools, kyacking and more). We want to go back and see what we missed this time around and will be staying at the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the lagoon view room on the higher floor. I think we were on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good Afternoon Kerrie W

Thank you your 'Brilliant' review.

As you and many others have discovered you can get out and about around Port Vila and the island Efate very easily and are not confined to the resort. On the days you are on resort though there is plenty to do with the majourity of the activities free of charge to our guests.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in July and were very impressed with the accommodation, the facilities, the food and the entertainment. Its in a beautiful location and we made use of the free kayak and catamaran they have. We got becalmed while using the catamaran and they came out and towed us back very promptly. We enjoyed the bands that played and the staff were all very friendly and helpful particularly James and Jessica in the restaurant and the amazing Florence. They were outstanding and Florence is a great dancer as well. We must go back again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DilbertNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good Afternoon DilbertNZ

Thank you for the review and photos.

The team just love an opportunity to get up and have a dance as you found out.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the holiday inn for 7nights in the bungalows for our honeymoon. Was our first time in Vanuatu. It was excellent. Had fantastic amenities and service. All the staff were lovely and very helpful. We enjoyed every minuet of it and will be going back for another visit. It was ideal location close to the water and not far from town. Just fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vidlers1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Good Afternoon Vidlers1509

Thank you for your 'fantastic' review.

Congratulations on the special occasion!

Hope to see you back for an anniversary celebration soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $183 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing