We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks from Avalon Girls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks from Avalon Girls”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Avalon Junior Womens U16 soccer team travelled to Vanuatu in July 2012 to promote women's soccer in Vanuatu and to conduct training/skills sessions at schools around Port Vila. We stayed at the Holiday Inn and were very impressed with the great service provided. Despite a large tour group of 45, the management could not have been more helpful, and the staff were so interested and supportive of our trip - even coming to watch a game played at Port Vila Stadium to cheer the girls on!

They allowed us access to their store rooms to store large amounts of gear that we donated to schools, and even arranged a soccer theme lunch for us (with mini flags with our club logos!) on the day the girls played the U15 Vanuatu National Team. Our girls made some great friends in Vanuatu and many of those were the staff at the Holiday Inn.

The location and facilities were exceptional, and the breakfast and restaurant/bar facilities were great, and our many requests were met with patience and in all cases fulfilled without problem. We would recommend Holiday Inn to families, couples and touring sporting teams. Our club hopes to make this a regular sporting/cultural exchange with soccer loving girls from Vanuatu and will be recommending Holiday Inn to our U16 girls team next year - sorry Holiday Inn!

Our special thanks to Geraldine (who was outstanding with her help) and Thomas (who even arranged to collect a DVD of photos we left behind at a shop, and a TV item about us and sent it to us after we had returned). Great service and all the tour group have expressed sincere thanks on what was a life changing experience in Vanuatu.

John Ross
Junior Women's VIce President
Avalon Soccer Club
Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avtrav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Good Afternoon John and the Avalon Girls

I must admit when we first heard that we had a group of 16 year old school girls coming to stay that there was some concern. Those concerns were quickly forgotten when we meet the team on the first morning. They were nothing but a pleasure to have in the resort being perfect ladies that displayed maturity well beyond what was expected and the resort team quickly warmed to them.

I know that many of the team left a lasting impression on my team and also all the many venues that they visited. We are already looking forward to see the team next year!

All the best for the rest of the season.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    234
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
314
195
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We are just back from our quick stint at holiday inn..we had low expectations but to our surprise it was just outstanding..we were upgraded to over water villas and the view was just amazing..would definitely say the villas need to be renovated and modernized but still it's an absolutely fantastic accommodation...staff was so friendly that we were hardly bothered about the "pacific time"...they made us feel welcomed..my special thanks to kids club staff..very very warm bunch of people..my daughter had a blast..kids pool was fantastic as well...food was good..I cannot sight anything that I did not like...yes if wifi can be provided as room package...just love love love the place and highly highly recommended specially families with kids..there are loads of activities to keep them busy..

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Good Afternoon S Y

Thank you for the 'Fantastic' review.

We are in the final stages of moving our internet service from our current provider to a much more user friendly system which will gives us the ability to control the cost, speed and login for internet usage.

Looks like the family had a great time and we hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

After 17 days at this hotel we feel we know it well. Awesome staff, fantastic facilities and a great setting - those blue lagoon beach shots haven't been retouched that's the colour it really is. Our kids loved the Kids Club - Selina, Jill and the girls were fantastic with my two girls - that they never wanted to be out of there. Open until 9pm at night offering movies and popcorn for the kids - it gave us parents a chance to enjoy a relaxing dinner or the fantastic nightly music in the bar. We have tried lots of kids club but this is the best. Blaise in the kitchen cooks up a mean omelette every morning with always a big smile, the girls in the Spa are sensational and David in the restaurant is just great company with some fantastic stories to share. We loved it all. Thanks again for a great and relaxing break.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with the kids and you can afford it go for one of the custom designed kids roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicstar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Good Afternoon Vicstar67

Thank you for the review.

The kids club becomes very popular with the kids and with it being open until 9pm also the parents as it gives them a chance to have some time together or sit back and enjoy the music and all for free.

I know the that the team members you have mentioned will be proud to have been mentioned in the review.

Hopefully we will see you all back for a couple of weeks again soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel has the worst service that I have ever encountered in the South Pacific.

Our room was never fully cleaned properly. There was always something. The main issue was everyone in our group was constantly running out of toilet paper, trust me, this is not an enjoyable thing. We also found out the hard way that the public bathrooms in the hotel running kept running out of toilet paper.

We stayed in the over water villas which are advertised as you can swim from the back balcony. While there are steps that go down to the water, they can't be used to get back into the villa unless you are a dolphin. The issue is that the bottom of the stairs is always above the water and there isn't a ladder or more stairs into the water which makes it impossible to get back into the villa from the water.
Instead you need to swim around to the beach and walk back to your villa and hope that you didn't lock yourself out. This was extremely disappointing as I was looking forward to this feature.

Also, if you are in the Villa, watch out for the beds, they have a wooden bench around the base that sits out 3 inches. You will smash your shins repeatedly on this as you walk around the bed. We all had this problem. 3 of us actually managed to draw blood.

Ordering from the pool bar was hit or miss. Some times food would not come with the order and when questioned, staff would swear that it was already cooked and would be here in a second. 10 mins latter the food arrives and then we would get a separate bill for the supposedly 'already cooked' item. Sometimes the food would be served cold.

We got charged different prices for the same things. When questioned staff would blame the person who under charged us, saying they had 'done it wrong'.

One time we didn't get any complimentary water bottles in the room and when we asked at reception if we could have some, they said they don't do that and that we would have to buy water from them at 300 vatu. We did buy the water as we were in a hurry to leave for a tour.

While I understand service can be spotty on island hotels, I have never been so disappointed in all my years. I have left plenty of things out that would frustrate many visitors.

Overall the Holiday Inn Vanuatu is to be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mastergeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Good Afternoon mastergeek

Thank you for your review.

I was very disappointed to read your review and have discussed it at length with the team. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during the stay.

Would welcome an email from you at thomas.tait@ihg.com to follow-up on your comments.

Kind regards

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have just come back from a week at this hotel and have to say it is a wonderful hotel,with really really friendly and efficient staff ,nothing is a problem.The setting is beautiful and there is lots to do.You are also quite near to the capital so we often walked into the town. We do not have children but if you have there is so much for them to do.The hotel staff also made our wedding anniversary really special.If we go back to Vanuatu will definately stay there agian.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the poll is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Good Afternoon happykate

Thank you for the review.

We are very lucky to have so many options for both dining and tours right at our doorstep! Great to see you walked into town and with a bus ride only 150 vatu and taxi 500 vatu and a 3 minute ride it makes Port Vila very accessible.

Hopefully we will see you back for the next anniversary celebration.

Tankiu tumas


Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Sadly I think this could be a very nice resort but the following things put a real dampener on our stay
1. Wifi - seriously can't you give guests free wifi vs having to pay per hr!!! Not only found it so annoying to have to keep going back to reception to top up again but when you pay that much per night it should come as part of the deal! Especially when it's so slow!!
2. Smelly rooms on ground level - we checked into a room on ground level and it smelt all musty and mouldy. I rang immediately to see if we could change rooms. We waited about 2 1/2 hrs for a new room on the 3rd floor but thank goodness we were able to change as it was SO much nicer!!
3. Completely overpriced food especially given the average quality - because the location is well out of town you are kind of trapped so end up eating there. I think they know this so charge accordingly and aren't fussed about the standards!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iluvtravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Good Morning IIuvtravel27

Thank you taking the time to post a review.

I have certainly taken your points on-board and discussed it with the team to ensure we not only meet our guest expectations but strive to exceed them. I was sorry to read that we did not do this for your stay.

Please feel free to contact me directly ( thomas.tait@ihg.com) and I look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tamkiu tumas


Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed 7 nights at the Holiday Inn Port Villa in June 2012. The Overwater King Villas were a standout. They were extremely private yet close enough to walk to 5 mins across the foot bridge to join the rest of the lively resort. They have a Jacuzzi overlooking the beautiful lagoon and a lovely deck with step down into the water when the tide permits. The buffet breakfast daily was wonderful and there is a range of daily activities available to guests including activities suitable for 'wet day time tables'. My two gripes about the resort is the lack of atmosphere surrounding the lagoon bar. My parter and I both though it would be nice if in the evening they had music on a nightly basis not just on the theme nights as it was rather dull Monday-Thursday in the off season as there is not a lot to do in town. Also some lighting surrounding the path between the villas and the rest of the resort wouldn't go astray as it is pitch black in the evening and although a lovely staff member will happily pick you up and drop you off to your room in a golf buggy it would be nice to be able to walk -if only it was lit up.
Besides those minor suggestions, our trip was one we will never forget and I will continue to recommend Holiday Inn Port Villa to my clients.

Room Tip: Overwater villas are private and on the opposite side the rest of the resort. There are also some su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelbourneAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Good Afternoon MelbourneAgent

Thank you for your 'Stunning' review.

Couple of good points here for us to work on. As you found we have entertainment every night but focused primarily around the lobby bar. The Vila's are a perfect option for the quiet escape whilst still having access to all a larger resort has on offer.

Look forward to welcoming all your clients and hopefully you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing