We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife, 14 month year old daughter, and I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 8 nights in July 2012. After reading the reviews it sounded perfect. And we were not let down. The staff at the Holiday Inn did absolutely everything they could to make our holiday something to remember.

The resort itself is in excellent condition and is extremely well maintained. We had an ocean view room in front of the pool. Which had a great outlook. The rooms were large enough for the three of us and the air conditioning worked without a hitch.

The pool area is great for kids with heaps of options. There is also an adults pool if you want to get away from it all. We also used the baby sitting for our daughter as she was not 3 yet. The ladies did an amazing job keeping her entertained while we had a little break. Whilst there we did see the other facilities for the older kids and were very impressed.

There is not much near the resort which makes it feel like its own little world. I loved swimming in the lagoon. The water was very clean and refreshing. If you want to get into town it costs about 500 vatu there and back. But honestly if all you want is a relaxing break then there is no reason to leave the resort. As everything is there for you.

Well done to the team at the Holiday Inn. We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank devon4151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Good Morning devon4151

Thank you for such a 'Perfect' review.

The team just love kids and its a big part of the Vanuatu culture especially as 60% of the population is under the age of 25!

Look foreward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    234
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
315
195
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort 25 June - 2 July and had a great time. We went as a 30yr old couple with no kids.

From the Airport we were provided with documentation from the Holiday Inn Resort which sped up the check in process when we arrived at the resort.

We arrived at the resort and were greeted by happy and welcoming staff. We were checked in quickly and got a complimentary upgrade to the over water Bungalows. (This without doubt made our holiday) The bungalow was clean and tidy and very comfortable.

It was noticeable that on our arrival the resort was family orientated and kid friendly. As a couple this did not affect our stay at the resort. I would recommend to the couples that the bungalows are the best option if staying at the resort. They are peaceful and away from the main resort area.

The food was fantastic. We had the breakfast buffet which was huge and featured every option you could think of.

The lunch menu's had plenty of variety and were pretty tasty.

For dinner we had the buffet on a few occasions and the a la carte menu. Both were fantastic and of high quality.

Overall the resort entirely meet our needs. We were never inconvenienced and staff were always happy to help.

Jonathon and Jimmy at the Pool bar were fantastic. They were always happy and their dedication to professionalism was pleasing.

The managers of the resort were always out and about and friendly enough to approach.

The spa was excellent but not really couple friendly as there is no couples room and it is located next to the kids area. I believe they are in the process of changing this.

We were a bit surprised to find out we were required to pay a 'security' of 5000vat ($50-$55aust) per night when we arrived, even though we had prepaid for our stay. This was however returned at checkout.

The resort prices weren't excessively over the top as we found Vanuatu was generally on par with Australian prices. The resort prices were about $8 a beer, $15 for cocktails, $35-$45 for buffet dinner, $15-$20 for lunch. There are happy hours at the pool bar and lobby bar which provided half price on selected drinks.

Overall we had a fantastic time and would return again if we go back to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the bungalows if your a couple with no kids and are there to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peterleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Good Afternoon Peterleahy

What a 'great' review!

We are very lucky to have the over water Vila's which provide a very different experience for the couples and with the Terrace Pool also separate from the main pool you can certainly find some areas of tranquility.

I know the kitchen brigade,Jonathon and Jimmy will get a big lift out of being mentioned here when we show them over the next couple of days.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu soon!

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Firstly I have to say I love trip adviser! I have read hundreds of reviews on various locations over the years and to date have not made a bad holiday decision. I can now add the Holiday Inn Vanuatu to my list of tropical holidays which span the shores of Bali, Thailand, Tropical North Queensland and Fiji We stayed for 11 nights in mid May

This place is fantastic, it is so family friendly.

From Sydney it is just a 3.5hr flight and then a short cab ride - about half an hour..easy!
Even with a not quite 3 yr old!

Things we loved -

* Kids eat free, a great selection of meals including healthier options, these included beans on toast, spag bol, eggs ,fried rice, pasta and sandwiches as well as the usual fish and chips, nuggets and burgers etc
Kids can eat anytime not just when you are eating, so breakfast buffet plus, lunch and dinner which can be at the pool, kids club or restaurant

* Kids club was a real bonus. Not only is it free (for 3 yrs plus) but you can drop off and pick up any time (during their long opening hours) no prebooking, no sessions. So for us, a drop off for little miss to play while we had a shower or had an impromptu glass of wine was just perfect and she loved it! Also great when she got bored at dinner, I could drop her off and in 2-3 minutes be back to eat dinner in peace...ahh bliss!!!

* Resort is quite compact so easy to get around with a little one who likes to walk and run everywhere. Just a short walk up/down stairs to beach and pool and not too far if you have to carry them back to the room. Stairs however are not so pram friendly for little bubs

* Cots are free of charge

* Pool is great, they even have pool noodles, kickboards and balls for the kids as well as great floating pool lounges for the big kids!

* Casual family friendly dining, pool side, lobby bar and restaurant are all family friendly and have happy hours/cocktails of the day etc

* Nightly entertainment created a nice atmosphere

* Sailing and kayaking are free as are other daily activities such as the fire show and kava ceremony

* Very relaxing place, service was spot on. Staff are on the ball and respond to every request promptly (a real contrast to"fiji time" lol!!!)

* Short and cheap taxi/bus rides to/from town

* Several options for sightseeing trips, we went to the turtle sanctuary and loved it. Certainly no Sydney Aquarium but lovely to be able to touch the turtles


Things we didnt love -

* Really nothing to complain about, rooms are not very large but are newly renovated so nice and clean not ridiculously small, just compact

* Would perhaps have liked a little more choice on the food, would have enjoyed some dinner buffets however they were not on when we were there due to low occupancy

All in all a very relaxing, affordable holiday, good value for money

Will definetely be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Newton99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Good Morning Newton99

Thank you for such a great review and highlighting so many items for our future guests.

The themed buffets are up and running 7 nights a week and you can stay up to date with whats happening on resort by following us on our facebook page.

The benefit of having the kids club open until 9pm is that you can enjoy the meal together then drop the kids off and finish dinner with a little adult time!

Hope to welcome you all back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Have just returned from Vanuatu & stayed in room 165. This resort did not impress us. Being a well traveled person & staying at the Holiday Inn in Phuket. This place was a huge let down. Would rate this a three star resort not a four star.

The staff were all exceptional. Could not fault the service location or the food. This is only a poor rating towards the poor sound proof rooms, bathroom & disrespectful guests.

The bathroom small with no ventilation made the room smell musty. Air Conditioner struggled to keep up even in the cool conditions with our stay from the 21 to the 27 June 2012. We had disrespectful guests in room 267 who made our last three nights hell. Moving furniture and suitcases which would resinate down into our room. Hope you guys read this we still struggle to know what goes through your minds & why you did this three nights in a row.

Front desk was informed immediately by phone & on the third night i even walked to front desk after 45 minutes it appeared they did nothing to stop this noise. Hoping a note to tell them from staff was placed at there door. Thanks for ruining our stay guests 267.

The holiday was shortened initially with our flight with Virgin not being able to land due to wet weather, only to fly to Fiji for a 3 hour stopover, refuel disembark a passenger wait for confirmation from Vanuatu Air Traffic Controllers. The cloud cover remained in Vanuatu & we returned to Brisbane later that night.

If its a quite room at a resort that you want and are a light sleeper think of staying somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the third level if you are a light sleeper.And preferably at the end of the wing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitesurf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Good Afternoon kitesurf62

Thank you for the review and your positive comments regarding the team and food.

A delayed flight is not the best way to start a holiday but a tropical destination can at times certainly deliver some extremes in weather.

We have spent sometime looking at how we minimise the noise from floor to floor and I can only apologise for the interrupted nights you had during your stay with us.

I have also sent you a separate email regarding your review and look forward to hearing from you.

Hopefully we will see you back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were three couples that stayed at the Resort. We had such a wonderful time, the staff were friendly, helpful and very polite. Exceptional service from all but an extra thank you to Phoeppy & Reuben. Food was fantastic. We will recommend Holiday Inn to all our friends and we would not hesitate to return. R351

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelpoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Good Afternoon MelpoC

Thank you for your 'AMAZING' review.

Great to here that the team made a lasting impression on you especially Pheppy and Reuben!

Look forward welcoming you back to Vanuatu.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently stayed at this Resort and because I am a coeliac and therefore eat a gluten free diet, I emailed beforehand to the Chef, to check that the restaurant would be able to accommodate my diet. The Executive Chef, Matthew, was most helpful and told me that I need not bring anything with me as bread, pasta, pizza bases and biscuits were on hand. When packing the suitcase, this is very handy to know. I met Matthew on arrival and was assured that I would be shown what I could and could not eat at the extensive buffet each time. They would also make anything I needed e.g. banana pancakes, fresh pizza base etc. They could not have been more helpful and I could not have had a more stress-free holiday. Thank you, Matthew and team.

Room Tip: We had a garden suite - 2 rooms joined with a door. One room bedroom and ensuite, the other living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Good Afternoon Dianne R

Thank you for the review.

We are indeed lucky to have Matt and the team understanding the different dietary requests that guests have and in most cases can cater to them quite easily. Of course being in a remote location this can be a challenge for them at times!

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tanklu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights with our 5 year old son after spending 4 nights on Tanna Island seeing Mt Yasur. We had a family suite with treehouse bunk beds and playstation and our son absolutely loved it! There are only 3 of these rooms so you need to get in quick to book one. Worth the extra $ (I think) if you have young children.

Buffet breakfast was great (and free each day, even better!). The food in general was of an excellent standard and couldn't be faulted. We didn't venture out of the resort to dine elsewhere at all. Kids eat free so long as adults are eating also.

Kids pool area lots of fun, would have been nice to have a slightly warmer pool but our son didn't seem to mind too much, and stayed in so long he had blue lips! Lots of activities on offer and the fire show on the Wed night was great.

Tour booking desk very efficient. Husband and son did the buggy riding twice and I visited The Summit which is a privately owned tropical garden with stunning views.

Great kids club, well set up and the ladies there seemed lovely and very accommodating.

The only thing I could fault is the day spa, which is a bit of a let down. More like a little shop that has been quickly turned into a day spa on the cheap. Wouldn't be quite so bad if the price reflected this but it was still reasonably expensive. We did have a chance to chat with the Management while there though, and they advised that there are plans in the coming 18 months for a new extensive day spa to be built. If this is done this property will well exceed it's four star rating.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalows are a long way away from the main pool/restaurant areas. Family suites recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coleenaperi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear coleenaperi1

Thank you for the review and it would seem we need to build more kid suites very quickly!

The buggy tours certainly are a lot of fun and good way to experience some places you don't normally see. The newly opened Summit has become very popular with a new Zipline experience added in for those that are looking for a little adventure.

A timely reminder that we have a lot of work to do around the spa experience and the new facility will certainly help.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing