We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have just returned from a holiday here and i cannot wait to go back.
You are in the middle of town with the feeling of seclusion.
Everyone there is so helpful and friendly
My friends and I would have cocktails next to the lagoon, dinner on the verandah.
Food was amazing. So easy to get into town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Good Afternoon lakeman77

Thank you for the review.

Looks like you had a great time and discovered that Port Vila is very accessible from the resort. With Happy hour (or should I say hours) running from 4-6pm at the pool bar it is certainly a great way to end another relaxing day in Vanuatu.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 681 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

When checking out, make sure your bond is refunded. Ours was not, and after promising to refund it i am still waiting(over a month), Now my emails are ignored, so i guess you could say they are dishonest. The resort was fine, meals average. Service generally was good, Holiday Inn has put a real dampner on our trip by not returning our money

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Good Morning Megan N

Thank you for the review and feedback on the refund delay.

Looks like we may have a procedural issue rather than any dishonesty. The delay is unacceptable though and the team has reviewed the process for returning deposits left to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

Please accept my apologies for the delay and I hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly on thomas.tait@ihg.com

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort last February for eleven nights. Our room overlooked the lagoon and larger pool which was just lovely after a day of sightseeing to come back and sit on the balcony with a favourive beverage and watch the changing colours of the lagoon as the sun set. The room itself was beautifully clean and comfortable, I especially appreciated the choice of firm or soft pillows and the room safe was just so convenient. We both loved the pools and especially 'cocktail hour' at the pool bar. The grounds are wonderfully kept and very attractive (loved the giant chess set) and both appreciated and enjoyed the night time entertainment (top marks to the fire dancers). Heaps of praise also for the restaurant, yes it was somewhat expensive but we thought, well worth it! And I would defy anyone to find fault with what was on offer for breakfast, truly excellent. OK so I have used heaps of superlatives so far, but haven't mentioned staff yet. Polite, friendly, reactive and proactive. The attitude of staff can make or break a holiday and these guys were among the best we have ever experienced. Well done, and we will be breaking one of our own rules and will be having our next holiday in the same place we had the last one!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank annie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Good Afternoon annie c

Thank for your review!

Some great feedback for the entire team which I know they will be very proud of when I share your review with them.

Look forward to helping you break your holiday rule!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed there whilst doing some volunteer work. In general the staff were delightful with beautiful smiles. Nothing was too much trouble. Internet access is appallingly expensive which if I was there for a holiday I would not have needed. Would easily return!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank annieofnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Good Afternoon annieofnfa

Thank you for your review and also for coming to Vanuatu as a volunteer!

Appreciatte the feedback on the interent and we are currently working on some solutions to reduce the cost moving forward.

Hope to see you back in Vanuatu soon.

Tankiu Tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our party was a family of four plus one family friend. We were assigned two adjoining rooms on the ground floor facing the pool/lagoon. This turned out really well because our two boys had quick access to the pool but the rooms were far enough to be quiet. The newly refurbished rooms were well appointed, chic, crisp and clean with all the mod cons. Port Vila was the second leg of our visit to Vanuatu. After Espiritus Santos, where we had gone off road, trekked through treacherous jungles, climbed through caves and swam in river canyons, and Port Vila seemed very civilised. The resort is beautiful and the staff were really lovely. Most days, the kids were happy to get checked into the kids club after breakfast, while the grown-ups went traipsing off into the city. The ladies at the kids club were lovely and acommodating. The resort had lots to offer in terms of recreation. The surroundings was lush and relaxing. We had a fabulous time sailing on the catamaran and kayaking. Hubby and friend spent one night away visiting the active volcano on Tanna Island, and this trip apparently is highly recommended. I opted to stay behind with the kids and it turned out to be a wise move. Breakfast buffets and dinners were fabulous. We knew everyone's names by the end of our stay. Most nights, after dinner, we were treated to different types entertainment including a fire dance. For lunch, we mostly ate in the city,which was good fun. Getting around was easy via taxi but do your research and don't overpay. Overall, Holiday Inn gets the thumbs up from us. Our little party of five had a blast. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: The pool/lagoon facing rooms were lovely. We were a little disappointed that the bungalows on the la...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Good Afternoon JTindale

Thank you for the review and comments regarding Vanuatu as a destination.

We are very lucky to have some unique experiences in Vanuatu and it sounds like you and the family discovered them!

Hope to see you back soon so you can try one of the refurbished Overwater Vila's.

Tankiu Tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great hotel, staff were very friendly and accommodating, even after we did the buggy tour and were covered in mud it wasn't an issue to clean our muddy clothes.

From the minute we arrived they were giving us advice on where to go and what the best places around town were. The hotel is a little bit out from the middle of town but the taxi's/buses were only a few dollars and were always waiting out the front anyway.

Food at the hotel was a little pricey compared to going into Port Villa but was quite nice so we didn't mind paying more for it.

Heaps to do within the resort, the pool bar was great to have a few drinks and relax.

Kava ceremony was great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KurtRooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Good Morning KurtRooke

Thank you for the review.

Vanuatu is well known for the best Kava in the Pacific and it seems you may found that out.

Hopefully we will see you back in Vanuatu for more Kava soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Holiday Inn. The staff are really friendly and hotel is clean. There are lots to do in the resort. My room over looked the lagoon and it is such a relaxing sight every morning and every night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49ENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Good Afternoon 49ENT

Thank you for the review.

We are very lucky to have the Lagoon at our doorstep that is safe for all forms of water sports but also to help you fall into relaxing mode of a holiday.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $185 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing