We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Escape”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Where to start!

Upon entering we were greeted with a warm welcome from the staff at the Holiday Inn, one of which was in traditional dress of the land. We were then promptly checked in to our Lagoon View Room. The room itself was small-mid size but was comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, with a good shower, well lit basin and modern finishing’s. The view from the balcony was excellent and the air conditioning worked a treat. A small fridge was supplied but with only a kettle (no toaster or microwave) the chance for any type of cooking in the room was low.

The restaurant was modern with a beautiful view down to the pool and lagoon. The food was priced similarly to Australia and was of a decent quality, although something’s were slightly overcooked. The highlight of the food was the buffet breakfast of which there was everything you could imagine!

The facilities such as the pool were fantastic with 2 pools to choose from both set in beautiful surroundings. You could take out a kayak anytime and paddle around the safe lagoon at your leisure or have a hit of tennis. The only let down was the "gym" facility, which was very limited with only a single rower, bike and elliptical with weight stack up to 10kg. If you like to work out all year round (as I do) this was disappointing.

All in all the Holiday Inn typified what Vanuatu was for me-a relaxing beautiful place filled with many smiling faces. Definitely worth a trip!

P.S. If you go in the wet season be prepared for some rain but it is almost a constant 30 deg so it is never much of a worry!

Room Tip: If you choose the Vila although they are bigger, they are on the other side of the resort and are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rhys K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Good Afternoon Rhys K

Thank you for the Review.

Great to see you enjoyed not only the Resort but also the destination!

Appreciate the feedback on the gym and something for us to look to expand on the in the future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas Tait
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    234
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
314
195
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times in the past and so we have seen the old and the new. The recent renovation has been very successful and we loved our time here. The Family Suite rooms are awesome and our daughter loved her room !!

The whole resort has been lifted to a true international standard and we were very impressed. The food is very good and well priced when you consider that the kids eat free. The service was great and the staff are second to none in terms of friendliness and you are made to feel very welcome and special the whole time.

Special thanks goes to Florence who made our daughter's time there extra special with the little arrangements and special greetings they had for each other etc. And to all the pool bar staff who ensured I was suitably topped up at happy hour !!!

We were in Vila partly for business but mainly for holiday and the resort and all the staff certainly didn't disappoint.

Tank yu tumas blong olgeta long Holiday Inn, ples blong yufala hemi nambawan, lukim yu olgeta bak again long nekis yia !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L0vattFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Good Morning LOvattFamily

Tankiu tumas from comment blong yu!

We have certainly made some changes over the past 12 months and may need to build some more family suites!

Mifala ie luk forward blong welkamem yufala bak long Resort nekis yia bakegen!

Tankiu tumas

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We originally looked at another property, but were extremely happy with our choice, has recently has alot of work done it, the staff were very friendly & cheerful. The rooms were clean, and in good repair. Breakfast was very good, lots of things to choose from and staff also cook in front of you which my kids loved.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Good Morning Claire W

Thank you for your AWESOME review!

The team enjoy cooking on the live action station as much as the guests enjoy watching them!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We just arrived after a 7 day stay at Port Vila ,Holiday inn.We loved it ,it was the best place for kids and we were upgraded to a Family suite which had Play station 3 (inclisive of my sons favorite game,cars 2!!!).The lagoon and the Pool side is their biggest assest and also the great Customer service provided by the staff. We found Port Vila to be a very friendly and genuine place, compared to some destinations that tries to rip off their tourists.The weather was not the best but The hotel stay was!!!
PS : Food at the resort was was excellent!!!

Nuwan (Sam) Samarasinghe and family

Room Tip: If not sure !!! ask the staff ,they are very helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NuwanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Good Afternoon NuwanSam

Thank you for the GREAT review.

The family Suites themes around a Banyan tree have certainly been a hit since we introduced them late last year in fact I think we may to look at creating some more!

I look forward to sharing your review with the kitchen brigade as they take a lot of pride in what they produce.

I look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

.....That hasnt already been said in recent reviews, the Holiday Inn Vanuatu is a beautiful resort. To the management and staff congratulations on a job well done, we had a wonderful week with you recently. The resort is spotless and oozes tranquility. Surely there is no better place to have such a fantastic breakfast than in the beautiful open restaurant overlooking Erakor Lagoon, this was a wonderful start to everyday. We holidayed with our two teenagers (17 & 13) and found the interconnecting garden view rooms very spacious and well serviced. The kids were never bored as the activities/beach hut team were always doing something and with the kayaks and catamarans, chess and table tennis there was sometimes not enough hours in the day! Buffet dinners and breakfast were first class and the nightly happy hours enjoyed by all. The string band, local young firedancers and other evening entertainment in the lobby bar was very good perhaps the only thing missing was a cultural/kustom dance night? We already miss all the smiling faces,and hope to return very soon - Justine, Dunedin NZ

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pommiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Good Afternoon Justine

Thanks for the review!

Appreciate the reminder on the cultural night as it's an important part of visiting Vanuatu. We are in the final stages of creating a cultural experience incorporating traditional cooking methods, dancing and story time.

I'm sure the team are missing your New Zealand smiles and we hope to see you and the family back soon.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW,
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My family (2 adults, a 17 and 14 year old) have just returned from 8 nights at this resort. We stayed in interconnecting Lagoon View rooms. These rooms had a fantastic view and were in a great location for accessing all areas of the resort.

The staff were wonderful - very helpful, friendly and good at remembering guest names. Management staff were also great (special thanks to Teneale for her advice about nightclubbing!)

The happy hour from 5-7pm at the pool bar made drinks very affordable and we also often ordered food and ate dinner in this area. Food was reasonably priced and good quality. We also enjoyed the ice creams in the pool area.

A second happy hour in the lobby bar from 8-9pm was a bonus and some good local bands were playing when we went.

Late January was a great time to visit as it was fairly quiet with plenty of pool chairs and no wait for the catamarans or kayaks.

Totally enjoyed the complimentary fireshow on Wednesday night.

Must do sightseeing for Vanuatu includes the Scrub Run buggy tour (if you like mud!), a day trip to Pele island and a trip to Blue Lagoon. A night visit to the Voodoo Bar is also good if you like a disco with 80's music!

Everything was great - can't wait to come back and do it all again one day. Thanks!

Room Tip: Lagoon View Rooms in a great position
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeenOzTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Good Afternoon KeenOzTravellers

Thank you for the fantastic review!

Some great examples of the many activities you can do here on Efate especially the scrub run I know you would have come back just a little dirty. Great to see the team shared ALL their local tips to make it a wonderful stay!

The team would LOVE to see you all back in Vanuatu soon.

Takiu tumas

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have recently returned back from Vanuatu, staying there for 8 nights in a overwater villa. These were lovely, nice views, well fitted out villas, they were however a fair distance from everything on the up side we had a buggy to take us around however I would have rathered it be a little closer to the hotel its self. The resort was nice since they have had the upgrades, the breakfast was very nice, however my husband got very sick the second night we were there from eating the seafood, not a good start to our holiday. The managers were very good about it and took the dinner off our bill at the end, still not the best thing to have on holidays. The service was ok a bit slow however the staff were friendly. All in all it was a nice place and the management were very good.

Room Tip: Villas were very nice well worth spending the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Good Afternoon NicolePeter

Thank you for the review.

The Villa's are certainly looking good after the refurbishment and offer that little extra seclusion over on Erongo island. As you said the the short buggy ride can mean a little more time towards planning the day.

Its a unique location with some unique experiences and challenges but one thing that is consistent is the warm and genuinely friendly people of Vanuatu!

Hope to welcome you back to Vanuatu in the near future.

Tankiu tumas

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing