We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balinese Pork.....MMMMMMMMM!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ripples

Ripples
Ranked #22 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ripples on the Bay, Vanuatu, is a small, four room resort and restaurant, located on beautiful Teouma Bay, a twenty five minute drive out of Vanuatu's capital, Port Vila. Our restaurant has a small but varied menu. We're known for our Asian dishes, but also serve great fish and chips, burgers and chips, and steaks. Bring your swimming gear and enjoy a dip in our pool after lunch, or contact us about staying over in one of our spacious, waterfront rooms. Contact details are on our website and Facebook page. A complimentary breakfast is included in our room rate. Restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday from 12 noon. (Open to in house guests every day.)
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Balinese Pork.....MMMMMMMMM!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What great little gem out of town! Lovely spot for lunch or dinner. The service was spot on & we found Sally, the owner, really welcoming & friendly. The food was absolutely perfect. The flavours were amazing & we all loved it. I would thoroughly recommend the balinese pork, even our kids were raving about it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AWTYblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
So, you enjoyed the Balinese Pork, did you Danielle? Well, you're not the first. One customer who was ordering it for the 5th or 6th time commented that it was more like an addictive drug, than a foodstuff. I've also been ordered never, ever to take it off the menu.

So it will undoubtedly be here for you when you come back to Vanuatu.

Please say hi to Mullumbimby for us.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    20
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

if you want to get away from it all, eat great food meet fantastic people you MUST visit ripples
all you hear is the sound of the sea, soo lovely, spent a week at ripples and would definately recommend this place to anyone travelling in Vanuatu! The accomodation is first class ( have hot showers ) which i believe is a luxury, food is first class, but the best is the owners Sally and Damien are so accomadating..... its worth the trip there for at least ameal let alone overnight stay. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ALL YOU TRAVELLERS!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this terrific review, Marina.

We really enjoyed the week you, Pen and your friends spent here at Ripples, and are glad you found the kick back relaxation that you needed.

Very much hoping to welcome you here again, some time.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freshlocal food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everything is cook on the premises, freshly purchased goods from the local Port Vila market and local fisherman's daily catches...

Large selection of interesting spicy food to suite all taste.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laszlo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for the terrific reviews of Ripples, Laszlo.

Feeding you, I would have to say, was a great pleasure. Enthusiasm such as yours makes it all worth while.

All the best,

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Ripples as a family..During the 2 week stay on the island we dinned there 3 times which was great for adults and kids alike. The kids learnt to snorkel in the rock pool of the restaurant whilst the parents kicked back for a lazy cocktail or 2. The owners are great and I highly recommend the chicken curry

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Charles,

We're delighted that you enjoyed our little restaurant as much as you did. Relaxed customers with robust appetites make our work a pleasure. We look forward to seeing you all, again, next time you visit Vanuatu.

Regards,

Sally & Damien
Ripples on the Bay
Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice setting expected more for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

ate at ripples last wk staying close by at private vila , location lovely and casual feel to place sevice very good but feel food didn't deliver for price and review i had read,except for hamburgers which my husband when back next day for takeaway burger .maybe made bad choices with curry ,had fish very dry style spices also skewer bbq local prawn , 6 small prawns with tomato at about $28 .
price from $25-$30 dollars for mains /also wine prices high $45 for bottle nz sparking wine . a casual bistro style outdoor restuarant by prices more in line with other 5star dining in port vila ( except the burgers ).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nerida h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Nerida H,

We found your review a little difficult to decipher due to your lack of punctuation, but it seems that your main objection was that you found us to be overpriced. That’s a shame. While we do our best to keep prices down, we’re not a budget restaurant. That said, your recall of our prices, and your conversions from Vanuatu Vatu to AUD are a little inaccurate.

Our light meals and mains start at around 1400vt. Most of our curries are 2300vt. Our most expensive mains, of which there are two, the duck curry and the large prawn skewers, are 2500vt. That is, respectively, around $16, $26 and $28 AUD on the current conversion rate. If you received 6 prawns on your prawn skewer dish, then you ordered the small prawn skewers (we do a small, and a large), which is priced at 1400vt, or $16 AUD. We’re also a little unclear as to what you mean by “fish very dry style spices.” Do you mean that your fish curry, inexplicably, contained spices, or do you mean that the fish was dry? If so, you should have said something at the time. If your fish was, by some chance, overcooked, we would happily have replaced it for you, or adjusted your bill.

Our wine prices are very much standard for Vanuatu, where import duties on alcohol are astronomical. We do stock a cheaper, Australian sparkling than the NZ sparkling that you chose to drink.

We make no claims to be 5 star dining. We simply are, what we are. Having said all that, we’re delighted that your husband enjoyed his hamburger so much that he returned for another, the next day.

Regards,
Sally & Damien
Ripples on the Bay
Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripples also viewed

 

Been to Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing