We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, yummy food, great for kids”
Review of Ripples

Ripples
Ranked #26 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ripples on the Bay, Vanuatu, is a small, four room resort and restaurant, located on beautiful Teouma Bay, a twenty five minute drive out of Vanuatu's capital, Port Vila. Our restaurant has a small but varied menu. We're known for our Asian dishes, but also serve great fish and chips, burgers and chips, and steaks. Bring your swimming gear and enjoy a dip in our pool after lunch, or contact us about staying over in one of our spacious, waterfront rooms. Contact details are on our website and Facebook page. A complimentary breakfast is included in our room rate. Restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday from 12 noon. (Open to in house guests every day.)
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, yummy food, great for kids”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had lunch here with our toddler. The location was amazing, lots of space, and a beautiful rock pool looking out to the ocean. The food was very yummy, with plenty of options for vegetarians. This place is perfect for those with children, situated outdoors and also under cover options. Great to stop at when returning from Blue Lagoon etc, just near the giant baryon tree.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank whitefox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Whitefox1,

Thank you for your review of Ripples, and we're glad that you enjoyed your experience here. It's always a pleasure to surprise our vegetarian guests with something other than the standard, green salad.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sally & Damien
Ripples on the Bay
Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    20
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch,beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had read reviews about Ripples and the place did not disappoint. We went mid week so we were the only people there most of our visit. The lunch was superb, we had the coconut prawns and duck curry which were both very memorable.
The owner also did take the time to have a chat with us which always makes you feel valued.
The surroundings are so lovely, I loved swimming in the natural lagoon.
Should not be missed!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vandra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Vandra12,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review of Ripples. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. It's always a pleasure to have a chat with our customers. After all, you're what we're all about. We look forward to seeing you again, next time you're in Vanuatu.

Sally and Damien,
Ripples Cafe
Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic spot”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only came here by chance as we were driving by, not hungry, so we just had a couple of beers. It was well worth the stop - beautiful setting, very romantic, friendly staff, just lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Rommykins,

Thanks for stopping in, and thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Vanuatu.

Sally & Damien
Ripples Cafe
Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Relaxed, friendly and amazing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a resident of Port Vila I always love taking visiting friends to meet Damian, Sally and the dogs. The food is always amazing, the staff are just fantastic and the views and atmosphere are some of the best in Port Vila. I have lived here for many years and this is a Vanuatu gem....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfsideVanuatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you, Surfside Vanuatu,

We love that you love bringing your visitors out to spend time at Ripples, and it's always a pleasure to see and catch up with our regular customers. Stay in touch via Facebook to see which of your favourite dishes are on the menu, or what we have that's new.

Sally and Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great curries hidden away outside Vila”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were staying up the road from Ripples and went down for dinner one evening. It's a little unexpected to find a place doing South-East Asian curries on an out of the way road in Vanuatu, but they do them well!

It's a lovely little place, right on the water and a great place to enjoy the sunset. The range of curries was good, and we really enjoyed our meals.

Serving sizes were just right and the service was great. The waitresses were attentive without being intrusive, the fact that we were the only diners probably didn't hurt.
It might be a bit of an ask to drive out from Vila just for a meal, but if you're staying close by its a great option.

We'd be happy to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheehy_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi D Sheehy,

We're so glad that you found us near-by to your lodgings, and that you enjoyed both our curries and our ambience, as well as our lovely and very competent staff.. We'd just like to point out that, firstly, we don't only do south east asian curries, but also Indian, Sri Lankan, and a few other creations that originated right here at Ripples; secondly, that we don't only do curries. Our cheese burgers, and our fish and chips, are pretty popular too. Though it was quiet on the night that you were here, we do have a lot of visitors from Port Vila (and beyond), as it's only a 20 minute drive out, and we're more than happy for people to bring their cozzies and towels and make a long afternoon of it. We look forward to seeing you again when next you visit this beautiful island.

Sally & Damien
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripples also viewed

 

Been to Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing