We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
24
33
12
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
33
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom apartment street noise night security own meals bring earplugs business trip walking distance elliot supermarket vila town channels vanuatu port units australia
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Mariner Apartments for 2 nights at the end of our week in Vanuatu. Being so close to the markets and shops meant we could easily walk to everything, which was the purpose in staying there. Good view of the harbour and passing parade from the balcony too.

Our studio apartment was pleasant. A couple of maintenance issues were quickly dealt with and staff are helpful. Traffic noise was an issue but we had the option of closing the sliders and turning on the air conditioning if we wanted quiet.

It was great having a pool there to cool off in - we usually had it to ourselves.

I wouldn't choose these apartments for a complete Vanuatu holiday, but they are a good option if you want a couple of days in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights staying at these apartments - comfortable, roomy, fully serviced, excellent and helpful staff. We only had to walk down the small hill to be in the middle of town but we were out of the actual centre enough not to be bothered by traffic. Outlook over the bay to Iririki is beautiful. Fully self-catering if that's what you wish though we were in full holiday mode and only did some of our own breakfasts. (It was such a short walk to cafes and restaurants!). Supermarket and fruit and veg market - only 5 minute walk away. Easy walk or bus ride to beaches and buses always at hand to take you anywhere (150V - $1.50 pp within the city and 300V -$3 beyond- but make sure you establish price before you get on for beyond the city). The bed was a little firm for older bones but was kingsized. Air conditioned and balcony. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foodieTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Mariners apartments in a two bedroom room studio, accompanied by our two teenage boys for four nights. The apartment was lovely, decorated beautifully, had two huge four posted beds and a well appointed kitchen. The view was beautiful looking over the harbour too. There were a couple of draw backs for us in regards to the location, as the apartments are right on the road and the traffic was very noisy during the night. Also, this being our first time to Port Vila, there was very little information in the rooms and although the staff were very friendly, they were not always clear on their information. When waiting for tours we had to wait outside the front near the road as there is no lobby. We didn't realize that the small vans going back and forward were buses that could have taken us to a beach. It is however very close to the shops and markets and the bonus of having a kitchen is that we could save money by preparing some meals ( very handy with teenage boys ).

Although the apartments were lovely as were the staff if we came back we probably wouldn't stay at Mariners apartments simply because there was no beach we could sit on and swim at.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Gorgeous views over the harbour, real quality furnishings and a lovely little kitchen even in the studios you can whip up a storm in the kitchen. It's my second trip staying here and previously was staying elsewhere and so glad I found this as I can cook for myself when I don't want to eat out. Lovely deck outside with lovely furniture and plants etc to sit outside in the evening with a glass of wine. It's a home away from home. It's close to either the big Bon Marche (about ten mins walk left out of the building) or a few minutes to the smaller one in the middle of Port Vila (worth the walk up to the big one, or hop onto one of the many minibuses that cost you about $1.50 Aussie to drop you there, or anywhere in Port Vila). Beds are super comfy and huge and absolutely gorgeous, whoever styled them has a great sense of style and I love the furniture. DVD player, LCD tv of a decent size and a stocked kitchen and a lovely shower (for me thats important). Definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Port Vila.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a studio apartment for eleven nights.As we like to walk we wanted somewhere close to town and close to the Bon Marche Supermarket.It was only a few minutes walk for each.We love to self cater and and the beef here is sensational and cheap.Our apartment was clean,spacious with a very comfy large bed.The biggest bonus was it also had a large deck out the front with a garden and picnic table,which had views overlooking beautiful Irrikki Island and the harbour.Also a great spot to get the washing dry.The lovely Leanora serviced our room daily which was a very pleasant surprise.
I would like to reccommend to Elliott,that a larger skillet or frypan for cooking that sensational beef and a pair of tongs to turn it with.What I did think was desperately missing was any type of tourist information,maps,phone numbers or helpful advice.This was our second visit to this city,but for some this is their first overseas trip.And there is so many great tours and things to experience.Also I think a coin operated laundrette on site would be helpful,especially for people on a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank louflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews