We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Port Vila Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: $9 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Port Vila Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a wonderful meal and a memorable evening out at Elan on 13th August 2014. Try
The crab cakes were define and the setting was fantastic. We would recommend this Restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacific_tourist999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    52
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a dining experience on 15/8/14. The restaurant ambiance just what we needed- quite, lovely background music and the sunset view to die for. Our meals were amazing - Peking duck and prawns for entree, lobster stack and Rib eye then to top it lemon and Lime tart and chocolate mouse. The food and atmosphere were perfect. Fine dining. The staff were very attentive but not bothersome. Very discrete while also being approachable. All in all we would go back tomorrow if we could. Tips for new comers - the restaurant is way down the end of
wharf streets so keep going even if you feel lost.

Would recommend this restaurant to everyone. A1 class.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Vanuatu favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant was our favourite during our recent week on Vanuatu. We ate somewhere different each night and had read some good reviews about Élan, and we were not disappointed. It was tricky to find, our bus driver did not know of it and it was a wet cold night so it took a couple of drives up and down the road to find it. Once inside the staff were very warm and friendly and the decor was beautifully out together. We sat right at the edge of the water just inside the restaurant and despite the rain were nicely undercover. The only issue with the menu was choosing from such an enticing selection. I had crab cakes as an entree, the serving was very generous and they were nicely complimented with a beautiful sauce. The beef curry I chose for a main was equally delicious, and the meal was nicely complimented with the wine. My husband enjoyed he duck for an entree and garlic prawns for the main, Throughout the evening the music, beautiful decor and atmosphere combined with the smiling, attentive staff made this an enjoyable was to spend a gloomy, rainy night. We had a great chat with the owner at the end of the evening and left having enjoyed the night and the meal immensely. A great restaurant tucked away in Port Vila and a must to anyone visiting the area who enjoys fine dining.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot for a romantic dinner for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here on a romantic night out without the kids and it was everything it promised to be. Food, wine, service, and location were wonderful. We were initially concerned that the crabcakes may have been endangered coconut crab but linda immediately put our concerns at ease - they arent! The lobster was truly special; we wouldn't normally order that as we catch our own back in Oz but this was a real treat! Go to elan for a really special occasion - you'll love it.
My big tip: go during the late afternoon before the sun sets so you can enjoy the stunning setting. We arrived just after so missed that. From what we could see it is in a really special spot. Also if you take a local bus get their number so the restaurant can call them back; elan is a little out of the way.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING SUNSET!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a fantastic restaurant great atmosphere coupled with awesome food and service! Go early to catch the amazing sunset it is to die for!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing