We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dining experience in Vanuatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: $9 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Vanuatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The food is outstanding, friendly owners, beautiful views - a great place to visit while in Vanuatu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    52
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food a bit Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The setting is delightful however the quality of the food was a bit inconsistent. The entree's of the duck and the fish cakes were very nice. My better half enjoyed the seafood linguine as a main, however the steak was well done instead of medium-rare (maybe the waitress did not hear the rare) which was disappointing considering that the sauce which came with it was very tasty. Yes, I know I could have asked to have another cooked but that really does stuff up the night when one has had there main and is waiting for the other main to be recooked. Deserts were the lemon and lime tart which was very good but once again the other desert of the mousse let the show down by being frozen. There is a good selection of wine, the staff is friendly and the overall price is on a par to other places.
A little bit more care and attention to the cooking would make all the difference.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcadd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
In response to your review.
Not sure of your use of the word ‘inconsistent’, you have only visited our restaurant once so to use this word as a general for our restaurant is incorrect. You gave us a rating of three because your steak was overcooked and you gave the same rating to another restaurant who it appears you had many things to complain about...this is ‘inconsistent’. My apologies if your steak was not cooked to your liking, I would not make excuses ever as mistakes do happen in everything in life, however, we do have a new waitress, so perhaps she did not note the correct cooking...we do have to train staff as every restaurant does.
PS. Your entree was crab cake not fish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The food was excellent (best fish I've ever had), the view was absolutely stunning and the service (particularly Maria) was exemplary. If you are going to Port Vila you can't miss this place. Definitely go early enough to see the sunset, which was beautiful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice food. Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Elan is on the waterfront at Paradise Point. We'd heard quite a lot about this restaurant and were staying a short walk away so wanted to try it. The people who run the restaurant are absolutely lovely. The food is well prepared and tasty. Whilst I enjoy the food at Eratap more this is a very nice place for a relaxed evening meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pussintaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a beautiful dinner at Élan recently. Darryl and Linda are the hosts with the most, made us feel very welcome. The place is beautiful, right on the water! Lovely romantic atmosphere.
The food was amazing, we were lucky to try fresh local lobster.. Delivered that day... Beautiful succulent steak and a delicious lemon tart! Great wine list that won't break the bank.
Not my first visit and certainly won't be the last! Don't miss it!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing