We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here twice while we were staying in Vanuatu. The first time it was recommended to us by Kris at Villa 25, not far from the restaurant. I had the steak and I can honestly say it was one of the best I have ever eaten - cooked perfectly. The lemon and lime tart for dessert was delicious. Everyone in our group was thoroughly impressed with the food and presentation. The service was great and timing of service was perfect. The portion sizes were spot on. We were never rushed or felt that we had been forgotten.

We dined in some other very good restaurants while we were holidaying in Vanuatu but we chose to go back to Elan for our last night's meal to celebrate my birthday. Second time around I had the slow cooked pork belly. It was so good I would go back to Vanuatu just to have it again. Of course I had to have the lemon and lime tart again for dessert. Very light and packed full of flavour.

Thank you to the chef for the magnificent food and especially to Maree for your wonderful waitressing, beautiful smile and fascinating conversation. Sorry if we kept you back late.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John and Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    52
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Dinned here last month - is meant to be the #1 in Vanuatu. We had the Lobster Stack - that was nice had good flavour. But also got the seafood pasta - had no taste not even seasoned. Waitress was rude. Would not eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
In response to your review.
Am very surprised by your harsh rating. The lobster stack is one of our most popular dishes which everyone raves about, even you said you liked it. The seafood linguine is made with fresh seafood and cooked in homemade fish stock, white wine, garlic and onions. If It is wasn't to your liking you could have mentioned this and we could have given you chilli, or whatever it is you call 'seasoning',
There is salt and pepper on every table.
I have never had any complaints about our waitress before, quite the opposite she is always complimented on her friendly and efficient service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing view, service and food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

we had an amazing dinner on two occasions of our 6 night stay in Port Vila. Firstly, make sure your driver knows where the restaurant is as it is past the passenger ship terminal on an unsealed road. Not all of the taxi drivers or bus drivers know where it is. The first driver took us back to the resort where they called one of their trusted drivers and he was excellent (Zachary 7772384 - write this umber down if you are going and he will become your best friend- honest, knows the island and will give you triple AAA service). Back to the food - super fresh, showcasing local produce and styles of cooking. Over the course of the two meals we had risotto, pork, poulet fish cooked in banana leaves, crab cakes haloumi and chocolate mouse. Very well priced,fresh and the service was friendly and prompt. Go a little early to watch the sun set as it is magical. If I could have gone another night for dinner I would have! WE went as a family with adult child, but it is equally suitable for couple or family with young children - seating is not cramped so there is not a sense that you are overhearing another table's conversation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris60V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location and staff, all the meals were great, however the seafood paella is done with the rice separate, which I found strange and I make my seafood one with the rice in it, its just cooked differently then usual paella, so that was a let down, however the way the owners delt with it was great and to fix the problem straight away with no drama. Overall it was a really enjoyable, we sat for quiet a few hours, but I had better meals elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
In response to your review.
It clearly states on the menu that the Paella is a Seafood Paella not a Spanish Paella. It also states on the menu that it is served with bread and optional rice. These are both served as side dishes as most of our diners enjoy using the bread to soak up the sauce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Ate at Elan tonight, most fabulous meal, beautiful wine, and the hosts are the best, tuna carpaccio bu

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing